We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“terrible!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Garlic Indian Cuisine - CLOSED

Garlic Indian Cuisine
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“terrible!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

the food came out late and it tasted watery, but the waiters was excellent as they seated us immediately and took care of us but the food was poor also i keep hearing noises from the back its like the kitchen staff going start a fight.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank angela m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    12
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Top place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Excellent food in a friendly place. Been going there since the opening night. Also went to the previous premises and cannot fault the food, even better than the curry mile!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bob315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Our second home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

After seeing some negative reviews about Garlic, I wanted to set the record straight. My family and I dined there last night, and just as it has always been, it was a thoroughly enjoyable experience. We were promptly seated at a table of our choosing and offered drinks, a chutney tray and popadoms. The service is always excellent, you are never rushed to make your order and the owner is more than happy to recommend dishes dependent on your tastes and also tailor them to your specification eg; variations in spice and ingredients. Some of our personal favourites are fish rezela, chicken tikka samber and the south indian garlic are a must! Our starters arrived shortly after we had finished our popadoms and were excellent, perfect portions and Garlic's exclusive indian salad to accompany it. When the mains arrived we had been given a perfect amount of time to digest our previous course, the chips were piping hot and the garlic naan lovely and soft with burnt edges! Afterwards coffee with cream and ice cream, all part of the deal (around £8 per head), the perfect end to a lovely dining experience. To conclude, the prices are extremely reasonable, the service is amazing very attentive and not pushy and the food is what keeps us coming back after over 8 years. You must try this restaurant!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BOS85L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

If its ambiance and hustle & bustle your after, maybe try 1 of the bigger places around. If its a great curry then its your place. Food is brilliant, cant fault it, its a great local curry restaurant. The staff are friendly but not over-baring and the prices are good. We went on a rainy monday in Jan so we were the only ones in. We had the ghost jipuree and Chicken Razala both were excellent. Value for money I say.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank adele b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gt.Manchester,England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely food , laid back staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Just finished another great meal at the Garlic. Never fails to deliver on taste and quality . I can understand previous comments regarding staff , but they do not hustle , assuming that diners have come for a relaxing meal , not to dine and dash . They always offer to seat us immediately , and offer menus.I dislike staff hovering around , so I am quite happy to have to attract their attention if I require anything from that point onwards .
We are visited frequently enough during the meal , and often asked if we prefer to wait between courses , and this is from all the staff , young and not so young.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kayandpee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Garlic Indian Cuisine also viewed

Hyde, Greater Manchester
Hyde, Greater Manchester
 
Hyde, Greater Manchester
Hyde, Greater Manchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing