We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,480)
Filter reviews
1,480 results
Traveller rating
385
422
363
182
128
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
385
422
363
182
128
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa treatmentsleisure facilitiesthe pubswimming poolleisure clubsteam roompublic housewould stay againrestaurant staffbar areacourse mealmanchesterfridayskycarvery
Filter
Updating list...
1,235 - 1,240 of 1,480 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed here for two nights while visiting family the hotel is nice room was clean but maybe it could do with a bit of updating saying that it was clean and comfy breakfast was self service plenty there but it did get busy but that was due to weddings on the Saturday and Sunday our room was on the ground floor at the far end of the hotel nice and quiet the bar seems quite expensive for food and drink for a out of town hotel there is a train station about 5 min walk away and a very regular bus service so it's no problem to go into Manchester it was perfect for what we wanted.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank mcjimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Good hotel. Though breakfast mediocre only warm needs more attention the breakfast as not changed since our previous visits needs to be hotter and fresher. Bit of a let down over breakfast. Also the cook had to down the veggie sausage.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomdogCotswolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily O, Guest Relations Manager at Village Manchester Hyde, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Thank you for your recent review regarding your recent stay.
I can confirm that since this review we have a brand new breakfast chef which has improved our breakfast service and quality. We hope you do visit us again in the future so you can sample our improvements first hand.
Again thank you for your feedback - without customers like you we cant improve our services.

Kind Regards

Emily O'Hara
emily.ohara@village-hotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed over the Christmas period and have stayed here many times over the years as it's close to family, I really noticed how tired the place looked especially the bar area, it needs completely refurbishing. Aside from that the staff were friendly, check in was quick and easy, the room was very spacious and clean, we had a family room and it had a separate bedroom with a bed settee in the living area. Breakfast is included and is ok, again the standard of this has dropped over the years. The swimming pool is great, it's large and clean and has family changing rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed for one night as a treat for the kids before the end of the school holidays.
The hotel location is quite unusual in that its kind between a housing estate & an industrial park, its nice & quiet though.
Check in was quick & easy, we went upto our room & were pleased with our room. It was a corner room meaning that we had two windows. It was clean & tidy, although the bathroom wasn't "sparkling clean".
The kids went in the swimming pool & reported that this was one of the best hotel pools they've been in so it got a big thumbs up.
Had a good nights sleep, breakfast was nice in the morning.
Looking at some of the other reviews regarding a refurbishment been required, I can see their point abit. Most of the village hotels are very model, glass fronted buildings. This one is alot older & the interior more dated.
To be honest, it didn't bother us & if anything, added to the experience rather than feeling that you are in a very sterile enviorment.
Enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: We had room 119, it was a corner room with two windows & plenty of light
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThePottersYrok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I stayed there with my partner in December as we wanted to do Christmas shopping in Manchester. We were really pleased to have found a room for only £54 (£108 for Fri and Sat). We paid £20 for a taxi to get to the city centre however in total it was less than paying for pricey hotels in Manchester.
Our room 105 had everything we needed (we were out most of the time) however it was pretty small. Bathroom with a bath was good as well. All clean and tidy.
I was pleased to be able to use their swimming pool - they offer great facilities.
Breakfast was included in the price of our stay and it was pretty good as well (carvery style breakfast, fruits, muesli, juices etc).

We had a meal in their bar and I need to admit we didn't expect it to be so good! VIVA super food salad was very tasty and we even make a similar one at home :)

They had an organised party on both nights and the music was pretty loud. We struggled to fall asleep as our room was pretty much above their restaurant. If I need to stay again in De Vere Village Hotel, I would make sure I ask for a room in a different part of the hotel so noise doesn't disturb me.

Big thank you to a lovely receptionist who checked us in and he was very helpful whenever we needed any help.

Room Tip: Rooms situated on higher floor should have less noise (they had quite a few parties in December)
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bogusza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews