We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please hurry the re-furb...for the sake of future guests, not me.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Village Hotel Manchester Hyde
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hyde
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Please hurry the re-furb...for the sake of future guests, not me.”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I've stayed here a few times over the last couple of years and just watched the whole place deteriorate...
The parking has never been easy but while the upgrade work has been going on, frankly it's ridiculous. I had to park in a street nearby because half of the car park is fenced off for contractors use. Of course I appreciate that this is a fitness centre, and is obviously quite popular judging by the number of members blocking the reception entrance every time I try to get in and out of the place, but there hasn't been a single time I've stayed when I've parked easily, yet once the gym members have gone home, there's plenty of room...So my car is now two streets away and the car park is half empty. The last time was the last straw...I had to stay at the last minute and was offered a room on the second floor, right by the stairwell...I must have been tired because it never occurred to me that this fire door would be banging for most of the night...
The room was worse than tatty, there were chips in the plaster, the furniture was scuffed and scratched, the mirror was badly marked, and even items in the bathroom were either hanging off or missing completely. This was clearly one of the rooms awaiting re-furb.

The telly didn't work properly and the wi-fi was slower than my 3G signal on my phone, so pretty much useless.

Still, last minute, and during a re-furb? what did I expect? I'll tell you what I expected...a little warning that things weren't as they would have liked....a sort of forward thinking apology about the dust and poor state of the room, maybe even just a little concession on the room rate so that at least I could prepare myself for a less than perfect stay...

Ah well... although I politely mentioned a few things at check-out the following morning, and received a very polite and apologetic e-mail from the Manageress offering a reduced rate stay next time, I just can't see there being a next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean B, Manager at Village Hotel Manchester Hyde, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel on line and my apologies that the hotel did not meet your expectations on your stay.

As mentioned in your review we are undergoing works in our leisure club changing rooms at present to improve the facilities we offer to our members and to our hotel guests and due to these works have had to take a section of the car park off in order to service these works. We do have a large over flow car park at the side of the hotel, but it seems on your visit the hotel was very busy.

We are currently going through an upgrade on our bedrooms too which is proving a welcome refresh to our guests.

My apologies that you also had issues regarding WIFI, this was upgraded at the begining of the year so i will check and ensure that the room you occupied was not in a dark spot area and get this rectified as soon as possible.

Should you wish to re visit the hotel in the future please do not hesitate to contact me prior to booking on emma.raybould@village-hotels.com

I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    296
    252
    142
    84
See reviews for
200
367
30
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Refurbished changing rooms and showers are a great improvement - staff are lovely. There a great variety of classes and no limit to how many classes you can use each week,
The trainers are a
Ways on hand and ready to help - I love it,

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janetaylor22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean B, Manager at Village Hotel Manchester Hyde, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Jane,

Thank you so much for your review, so pleased that you are happy with the new Wet areas in the chaging area, all should be back up and running as normal by the end of next week.

I must say i am personally very pleased with the works they look fantastic!

Thanks and see you very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Currently staying here and frankly chuffed as nuts. Staying here on business travel on own away from home for 2 nights and I couldn't be happier with location, staff, food and room.

The staff gave made this stay lovely. Friendly and helpful. Check in easy, the bar is really relaxed and not stuffy like other hotels and the food is awesome. Had burger last night and scampi tonight - both presented beautifully and tasted lovely.

Will recommend to others within my company for sure.

Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenjyLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean B, Manager at Village Hotel Manchester Hyde, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you so much for your review so great to hear you are enjoying your time with us i hope that this continued with your stay.

We pride ourselves on being a home away from Home to our long stay guests and it seems this has worked well with yourself.

We look forward to seeing you again Soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We have stayed in other Village hotels but this one doesn't live up to the high standards of the others. The reception area and restaurant were really nice but the rooms are a huge let down. The bed was very uncomfortable, the room was incredibly hot but with no air con and there was a lot of dust. The rooms need updating to the same standard as the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KateV90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean B, Manager at Village Hotel Manchester Hyde, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for your review of the hotel we hope that you enjoyed your stay,

The hotel is currently undergoing an upgrade of all of the bedrooms and should hopefully be completed by 2015.

We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon to see the improvements that have been made.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I stayed in this hotel on business in July and it was perfectly fine. To be honest I'm probably being a little harsh in my rating but it's a little above average and a little below very good.

The large pool in the leisure centre (visible through massive windows from reception) did seem to make it feel a little humid, and the leisure centre aspect of the place does seem to be the main thrust of the business with an endless stream of locals coming in to use the facility.

The restaurant meal we had on evening one was above expectation, although to be fair the breakfasts were a little below so they kind of cancel out :-)

Room was clean, tidy and well appointed. No complaints there. The rest of the hotel? Perhaps a little in need of a re-fresh, but again nothing that would grate on your nerves.

Overall, fine to be honest - just wouldn't set anyone's hair on fire.

Free wifi available, but didn't work in my room so I had to open the laptop in reception to run emails - that was a niggle.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean B, Manager at Village Hotel Manchester Hyde, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thanks for the detailed feedback i will be passing this on to all the teams.
Im glad you liked our hotel and enjoyed your stay, if you do stay with us again please request on reception to allocate you a bedroom with stronger WIFI signal so you dont come across any problems.

Kind Regards
Emma Raybould
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Just had a 1 night stay here as a couple and found the staff very helpfull the standard room was ok clean n tidy, had a gud meal in the victory pub, used the pool which was ok.
Overall our stay was fine and wud return again

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank andy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean B, Manager at Village Hotel Manchester Hyde, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback, we will hopefully see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Emma Raybould
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We've stayed at quite a few Village Urban Hotels, this one seemed a lot smaller than the others. But the building has a lot of character and is warmly decorated.
The room we stayed in was nice, the bathroom was slightly small. The shower was easy to use.
The bed was so comfy.
The bar was spacious and food was served after a short wait.
All the staff we encountered were polite and helpful.

We unfortunately didn't have time to use the pool.

All-in-all it was an enjoyable stay and we would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean B, Manager at Village Hotel Manchester Hyde, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Great to see you enjoyed your stay, hopefully you will have time to enjoy the pool next time.

Kind Regards
Emma Raybould
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyde
1.8 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton
#1 of 3 in Ashton-under-Lyne
1,575 reviews
7.4 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Cheadle
11.6 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Bury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Barton Villa
Barton Villa
#1 of 1 in Dukinfield
102 reviews
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Ashton Under Lyne
Travelodge Ashton Under Lyne
#2 of 3 in Ashton-under-Lyne
245 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Smokies Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Manchester Hyde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Manchester Hyde

Property: Village Hotel Manchester Hyde
Address: Hotel Manchester Hyde Captain Clarke Road, Hyde SK14 4QG, England (Formerly De Vere Village Hotel Manchester Hyde)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Hyde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hyde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Manchester Hyde 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Manchester Hyde is well positioned for both exploring and shopping and just 7 miles from Manchester City Centre. The picturesque Peak District is close by, as is the shopaholic's dream location. With Manchester United (25 minute drive) and Manchester City Centre (15 minute drive) Football Clubs not far away, why not combine a visit to one of these sporting giant or visit Europe's biggest indoor shopping mall at the Trafford Centre. Village Hotel Manchester Hyde has 89 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 25 metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Village Hotel Manchester Hyde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel Leisure East Manchester
Village Hotel Manchester Hyde Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing