We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed stay, both good and slightly less good experiences”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Village Manchester Hyde Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hyde
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This was a very mixed stay at the hotel. There are excellent aspects of this hotel, but also we had some poor experiences too.
Our experiences of the different aspects of the hotel:
Victory bar staff - excellent, very helpful (particularly Josh) and delicious food.
Leisure facilities - very relaxing, helpful staff, clean. Best time to go is after 7pm! Could do with a lick of paint above the Jacuzzi and a fair few light bulbs needed changing but overall, lovely facilities
Room - bed very comfortable and black out curtains in standard room. Upperdeck room bed even better - fantastic nights sleep!! Clean but walls / floor a little tired in both rooms.
Claire the reception desk manager - very helpful and friendly. Also the Scottish receptionist was brilliant, unfortunately we didn't catch her name.
Breakfast - good selection and tasted lovely (especially the Danish pastries!) Although make sure the staff hear you ask for coffee / tea as a few occasions they forgot to bring it! Very apologetic when reminded though.
Stairwells - need a lick of paint and new carpet!
Noise levels - staying on a Friday and Saturday night is not the best idea unless your room is miles away from the function room. We were two floors up and could hear music through the floor until 1am both nights. When I went down to reception at ten to one in the morning on the second night to ask what time it was finishing, a member of staff said "it's what we do here" with a very dismissive attitude - he clearly wasn't bothered! HOWEVER - the next morning when explaining this to Claire (manager), she was very apologetic and did compensate us to make up for the noise and the rude staff member, so all was not lost.
The location is good for reaching Manchester, Sheffield and the Peaks.
Car park can get busy when lots using the gym / leisure facilities but has overflow car park.
Overall, the friendly staff, comfy beds and leisure facilities made the trip enjoyable, just a shame a little tainted by noise and one rude staff member!

Room Tip: Don't stay when they have a function in the function room. Upperdeck rooms are further away so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Joanna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean B, Manager at Village Manchester Hyde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Village Hyde.
Im glad you have let us know your views and i have passed all the feedback on (negative and positive) to the relevant staff members, this has been taken on board or actioned where appropriate.
If you do stay with us again and there is a function on please do request a quieter bedroom in the hotel, we do our best to allocate the bedrooms in appropriate areas of the hotel to suit all our guests needs and will try our best next time to allocate yours in a more quiet area, please do advise if you stay with us again.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Emma Raybould

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

934 - 940 of 1,220 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

Please ignore all the 'not so good' comments that have been made by other people! This hotel is well worth the money! Have just arrived back from staying a long weekend here with a group of girls for a 21st birthday, and cannot fault the stay at all! Hotel is situated in the quiet parts, but is only a short drive away into the town centre, the reception staff was lovely and always helped when we forgot certain things, (we ending up locking ourselves out the room!) the food was lovely, cannot fault any staff! The facilities of the pool, sauna, steam room, and spa, all was fab! Rooms were simple but tasteful, had everything we needed, including iron an board etc, overall a fab weekend away at the village! Will without a doubt be returning! Thankyou to all the staff! If you are looking for a lovely weekend away, book! :)

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 21stbadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean B, Manager at Village Manchester Hyde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you for your great feedback so pleased to see you enjoyed your girly weekend away with us. Its a perfect location for a group stay with easy access to the city then somewhere to relax and unwind with our choice of food and beverages.
We do hope to see you all again soon, maybe you could try one of our party nights during your stay next time?
Kind Regards
Emma Raybould

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Visited for one night thinking it was slightly better than other local hotels.
Disappointed with service as was not told necessary for residents to book
restaurant so had an hours wait for a table.
Breakfast was average in that items not replenished very quickly.
Décor was shabby . Did not use keep fit facilities
Bar was not attractive as used as family area
Unlikely to re visit this hotel

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean B, Manager at Village Manchester Hyde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Sorry to read you won't be visiting us again, it would be a shame for you not to do so.
If you did visit us again i would recommend booking a table in our restaurant due to its popularity and high demand we do get booked up quickly.
If you are in the area again and didn't want to use the Hyde property please consider our Ashton property it may suit your needs more.

Kind Regards
Emma Raybould

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I booked a deal which included 3 course dinner, bed and breakfast and a 25 minute treatment at the spa. The hotel itself is nice and pleasant. Our room was downstairs and unfortunately all we could smell was chlorine from the pool and hear constant noises, the rooms are very dated and need updating but had a nice little touch of a jacuzzi bath with sparkling lights in the roof. TV had about 5 channels all of which were fuzzy, WIFI is slow in the room. We had our spa treatments which were lovely and then went to the jacuzzi/sauna/steam room which isn't the best. Then went for dinner in the Verve Bar and Grill restaurant which was very well run, food was delicious - could not fault the restaurant for their service and food. Buffet breakfast good. Overall enjoyable stay but would of preferred an Upper Deck room- the upgraded room that i was not offered when booking, which i found out about myself and then it was too late. 3* hotel, get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLAB22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean B, Manager at Village Manchester Hyde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Im glad your enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Village Hyde, i hope you will be staying with us again soon and i would recommend one our newly refurbished upper deck bedrooms.
We are in the process of updating some of our bedrooms at the moment.
Thank you for letting us know about the TV, this has been passed on to maintanence and they are looking into this right away.
Kind Regards

Emma Raybould

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

It really failed to live up to my expectations - maybe they are set too high, maybe I thought Village was a little upmarket, maybe I thought the facilities would be better that they are - don't get me wrong,it's not a disaster,just not as good as I thought and expected.
I'm normally a Travelodge/Easy Hotel type of person as I stay away a reasonable amount on business and as it's my company, it's also my money, and I've not yet found a hotel that increases the value of my company! It also means I'm easy to please.
But on this occasion I knew I would be there reasonable early, and I just fancied a gym session and swim so a hotels.com search gave me this one and I thought Village Hotels were supposed to be really nice with great facilities and at £69, I went for it.
Tough to park, reception a seething mass of people surrounding one poor girl who knew the script and spoke to every guest in front of me without listening. The guy in front had his two lads with him, but alas due to "health and safety" they can't go in the pool after 5pm or before 9am or over lunchtime, tip - don't bring kids. I went in the pool at 9pm - empty - totally!
So after a good 10 minute wait, nice touch key but to get to my room it was over the worn carpets, past the youth football team, the running club who had taken over starbucks and then into a slightly tatty room, very uninspiring - serviceable but nowhere near what the new travelodge rooms are like!
Wifi needs a password but the receptionist who speaks but does not listen did not tell me. So dial 0 on the phone and wait, and wait, and wait and give up and go downstairs to find the one poor girl inundated, not wishing to wait there, back upstairs to phone again and after about 10 minutes, got it - should have guessed it, it would have been quicker!
Gym very busy with the regulars, staff not that interested in a one day person, not that helpful, machines full but then at about 8.30 it empities - almost like magic and we're left with lots of technogym machines, again a bit old and worn but OK.
Pool nice though, big, no kids surprisingly, a pool needs kids - kids needs pools too!
Restaurant too pricey for me, the burger was £14.50 (it said it was 8oz though) room service attracts an extra tray charge of £3.50, glass of cheapish Chenin Blanc or Sangiovese wine is £6 so they price at a premium level.
So all in all, apart from the excellent pool, and OK gym, there's not a lot here apart from a busy and rather tired hotel complete with worn carpets and run down paintwork in the room.
So two stars and not three - it would be three if the price had been £50-£55 which is where I would expect it to be. But even at the special rate of £69, it's just a bit much for this standard.

I suggest arriving when it's quiet, don't bring any kids, go to the gym late, bring your own food and drink and if you get a parking spot, don't move the car again!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean B, Manager at Village Manchester Hyde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the Village Hyde.

Im sorry that the hotel didn't live up to your expectations, i have passed your feedback on to the relevant teams and it is being actioned.

As you can see we are a very busy property with all our activities taking place, i have spoken to the leisure manager as we are looking for a new place for the running club to meet.

We are the oldest of all the Village properties and are fully aware some of the bedrooms need some TLC which is a working progress at the moment.
Regarding the swimming times we have set these for health and safety reasons and to accommodate all our various guests staying with us over the week and weekends.

We were very busy this day hence our car park being so busy - sorry you found it a struggle where you were.

If you could possibly email our guest relations manager if your in the area again we can ensure you have a more pleasant stay with us at the hotel i would also be interested to know what your reservation was booked under so i can prioritise the work needed to be done in your bedroom.

Again thank you for giving us feedback and i can ensure you its being actioned right away.

Kind Regards

Emma Raybould

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed her last weekend for an evening with my friend, with the intention of having a girly chill out and heading to Manchester at the nighttime. We went for the dinner, bed & breakfast package, with one treatment and full use of the facilities. We arrived and the massage & salon staff were amazing, they had amazing pool/ jacuzzi/ sauna/ steam room facilities. The room was nice, if a little old fashioned. But very clean, with a modern bathroom, and a very comfy bed. The tv & wifi signal weren't the best, but we were there for a sociable weekend so it didn't affect us too much. The set menu was excellent, with great choice, and when the food came it passed expectations. Breakfast was also similar, a buffet style with all the usual options, cooked well. When heading out, we got a taxi to deansgate for only £14, and even coming back at 4am the reception staff were still friendly!
Overall, we had a great stay at this hotel, and would definitely come back!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank asally429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean B, Manager at Village Manchester Hyde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your review of the hotel, it is pleasing to hear that our new Verve menu is being well recieved by our guests, i recall the chicken spring rolls were a win with yourselves!

I will be sure to pass on all of the positive feedback to the team in the kitchen and to our nights team.

I hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Had a great stay, the pool was large, nice spa and sauna.
We had a nice breakfast and went in at 9am like the hotel suggests so it wasn't busy and got sited straight away.
The lady at reception was very good, let us know about the retail park 5 mins down the road for somewhere to eat.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank lianne01527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean B, Manager at Village Manchester Hyde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your review of the hotel, so pleased to see that you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us.

I hope that we see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyde
1.8 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton
#1 of 3 in Ashton-under-Lyne
1,805 reviews
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Ashton Under Lyne
Travelodge Ashton Under Lyne
#3 of 3 in Ashton-under-Lyne
264 reviews
1.1 mi away
Barton Villa
Barton Villa
#1 of 1 in Dukinfield
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Bury
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
3.8 mi away
Bredbury Hall Hotel
Bredbury Hall Hotel
#9 of 15 in Stockport
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Manchester Hyde Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Manchester Hyde Hotel

Address: Manchester Hyde Hotel Captain Clarke Road, Hyde SK14 4QG, England (Formerly De Vere Village Hotel Manchester Hyde)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Hyde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hyde
Price Range: £39 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Manchester Hyde Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Manchester Hyde is well positioned for both exploring and shopping and just 7 miles from Manchester City Centre. The picturesque Peak District is close by, as is the shopaholic's dream location. With Manchester United (25 minute drive) and Manchester City Centre (15 minute drive) Football Clubs not far away, why not combine a visit to one of these sporting giant or visit Europe's biggest indoor shopping mall at the Trafford Centre. Village Hotel Manchester Hyde has 89 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 25 metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Village Manchester Hyde Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel Leisure East Manchester
Village Manchester Hyde Hotel Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing