We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

If you pay £21 for a room, you don't expect too much.

My friends and I all agreed our rooms resembled very small prison cells. But we also agreed they were clean, and the rooms served the purpose as somewhere to leave our stuff while we were out (we'd come to Salford for an evening event), and somewhere to sleep before getting up and going home again.

The walls aren't the best (I was woken by other guests getting up early and banging about in the corridor), and the mattress is the hardest, thinnest and least comfortable I have even slept on. The room was boiling hot, and the air con was impossible to make work. The toilet is in a tiny cubicle barely larger than the toilet itself (those with claustrophobia will need to leave the door open). There was also a fair bit of noise from the traffic outside, as the hotel overlooks a main road.

Car parking is expensive (£3 a night - and be sure to check out before noon, as if you leave even a second after, you will be charged another £3), in comparison to the cost of the room (£21). We did not sample the breakfast, but there is a kiosk where you can buy snacks at any time.

You get what you pay for. Nobody who pays £21 for a hotel room expects great service, luxury or much comfort. And you don't get any of those here. But for somewhere affordable and clean to sleep for one night, this hotel was perfectly functional. I wouldn't have wanted to stay a second night, though!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel (ie, overlooking the carpark), to avoid the noise from the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueFrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordi_Pena, General Manager at ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your various comments and remarks about ibis Budget Manchester Salford Quays.

Guest feedback is always invaluable to improve the services we offer.

Kind Regards,

Jordi Pena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    700
    443
    160
    169
See reviews for
338
528
203
269
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Just got back from the ibis 6/10.Really pleased with the room. Both myself and wife found it clean,basic, comfortable. Staff were efficient and helpful from check in to check out. £3 for parking an ideal location for old trafford stadium and the Quays.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank rhinoguyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordi_Pena, General Manager at ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Guest,

The team and I are very proud to receive such a positive feedback and very much look forward to welcome you back at the hotel in your next trip to the area.

Kind Regards,

Jordi Pena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

There is a saying" he who pays the piper calls the tune". Well my tune in August was " it's getting hot......" And that's an understatement. But when someone else pays then you have to grin and bear it.

We all know budget hotels serve a purpose and do a job, so to carp on about air conditioning and all the luxury extras the budget brigade go on about, would at first reading seem unfair and stuck up.

Common decency, safety and comfort should however be included at budget prices. I had an ironing board to sleep on in what was referred to as a single bed, the after dark temperatures hit 29 degrees and I was, for four successive nights hotter, than a glassblowers gusset. Many of the operators of these budget places employ people to make their room designs different to the others, especially in the bathroom areas and this spot is no different. Some may like the arrangements but not me. For a start, I have never had to reverse into a WC to perch, perhaps the designer was Jonathan Swift. Modesty and good manners prevents me sharing any more detail here.

Catering arrangements were curious to say the least, that is to say, almost non existent. Local management were amenable towards those of us inclined to picnic in their public areas and that on the face of it may sound fun. Fun if you are happy to break bread next to a group on one side, heavily disguised as Somalian pirates and on the other side several females who made 'The only way is Essex' look like Downton Abbey.

I have waited this long to reflect on the balance between budget and personal values and in the end I did not pay a penny to stay - someone else did. So calm down I hear you say and I may do in time, but at a good value rate of something beginning with £2, I will, at a rate of something beginning with £3, I may but the rate was .................Now I'm getting upset again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkshireluddite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordi_Pena, General Manager at ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your thoughts and impressions about ibis Budget Manchester Salford Quays in TripAdvisor.

Kind Regards,

Jordi Pena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Salford hotels

Luton UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Ibis Budget (formerly Etap) have recently been rebranded with modern & airy décor throughout,
I guess they perceive their market as the one night customer. For this reason don’t expect – sizeable rooms - safe – fridge – tea/coffee making tray – wardrobe – drawer space – or bedside cabinets. Most rooms have a large double bed with a bunk bed mounted 180° above. Mattresses are rock hard & pillows (you only get one) are paper thin. So watch out back & neck sufferers. We rolled up the duvet from the bunk bed to make a bolster. Watch out for banging your head on the bunk bed in the dark - ouch! There is an open unit with 5 hangers for your coats & a little shelf presumably for your clothes plus a tv (100% English channels). The loo is separate (as with all Accor Hotels) plus a really good shower wet-room (oh the joys of soft water). The hand basin is in the bedroom. As usual in many hotels there is a powerful return spring on the door which slams loudly and resonates down the corridor. Rooms have air con but no instructions as to how it is operated (had a good go at making it work but failed miserably). The touch-light controls are very up market & located in the centre of the headboard.
A limited continental breakfast is available at a very reasonable cost but there are no cooked dishes & they do not serve any other meals. Limited car parking is at the rear shared with the Ramada next door.
The hotel is adjacent to a number of restaurants, pub etc and the excellent Salford Quays Metrolink tram stop.

Room Tip: Floors 6 & 7 are doubles rather than triples (I think)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MuchtravelledOAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordi_Pena, General Manager at ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for reviewing the hotel following your recent stay with us.

We have noted your various comments and look forward to welcome you in ibis Budget Manchester Salford Quays in the future.

Kind Regards,

Jordi Pena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We found this place nice, clean, modern and although basic, offered great value. Unless you're planning on spending all your time in the hotel, it's pretty good. Especially if you pre-book for a bargain price. Much better than the more expensive Ibis on Pollard St. Walking distance too from Manchester Picaddilly. Don't order the pizzas though, poor.

Room Tip: High up, opposite side to the busy ring road should offer a quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redripper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordi_Pena, General Manager at ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments.

The team and I are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay at the hotel.

I do apologize that you did not enjoy the pizza that you purchased and will look into your comments.

Kind Regards,

Jordi Pena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed there for 4 days this September and overall the experience was OK. I paid $210 for 4 nights so its roughly 52 per night, so not really a budget price but the facilities were far below the budget hotel.
1) To start with the hotel has no front parking, just a drop off area at the back, but it was never informed to us, and on top of that there is no luggage trolley, I repeat no luggage trolley. I had to carry my bags and my family stuff one by one across the road while it was raining. Initial shock.
2) Just one lift working and it was too moody to stop at our floor. It needs serious re programming.
3) The room walls were so thin that I could here my neighbors enjoying their stay.
4) The shower cabin is semi transparent so if you are traveling with non family members, watch it out
5) No bath mats, when i asked for one, they gave me a towel, so gracious
6) You can only have maximum 2 towels per room per day, although my room was Triple room, but still 2 towels. So if you are thinking to take shower more than once, bring your own.

It is next to tram station, though we didnt use it, and spent most of our time walking which we really enjoyed since weather was great. It is walking distance from the BBC building, Lowry mall and Imperial War Museum which is a positive point. There is a small park nearby and kids would love it. Tesco Express & gas station is nearby so you can get lots of eatable stuff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdysWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordi_Pena, General Manager at ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your feedback in TripAdvisor.

I have noted your various comments and remarks. Please rest assured that these will be addresed as applicable.

Kind Regards,

Jordi Pena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salford hotels
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Salford Quays
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
0.0 mi away
AC Hotel Manchester Salford Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Novotel Manchester West
0.9 mi away
Campanile Manchester
Campanile Manchester
#18 of 20 in Salford
632 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays

Property: ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
Address: 19 Trafford Road, Salford M5 3AW, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Manchester Salford Quays)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Salford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays 2*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays is situated in close proximity to central Manchester by either car or public transport. The hotel is 100% non-smoking and all 210 bedrooms are en-suite with central air-control system and a flat screen TV. Enjoy the large selection of drinks and snacks available 24/7 from our grab & go section, displayed in our modern and welcoming public areas. Free WIFI throughout. A great continental buffet breakfast is served daily. IMPORTANT: Extremely limited amount of outdoor parking is available and chargeable at £7 per night - Please contact the hotel directly for additional information on car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Manchester
Ibis Budget Manchester Salford Quays Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing