We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely a budget hotel - but no complaints”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Definitely a budget hotel - but no complaints”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

My friend and I booked the cheapest hotel room that we could find for a lesiurely trip to Manchester, and this hotel was the result of that search.

From our initial observations, not being familiar with the local area, we missed the turning to the car park and couldn't really see any decent signage. In the end, we had to call reception to get directions where we later found out that the hotel shared it's parking facilites with the Ramada hotel which was next door. Parking was £3 per day, which we were informed of when we arrived - I did not spot any information about parking charges beforehand.

Next, we made our way to the reception area where the memeber of staff was really friendly, efficient, and smartly dressed. The friendly gentleman on reception proceeded to check us into our (first) room, where our keys were issued and we made our way up to the 6th floor to find that the keys didn't work with the door - It looked like there was a problem with the lock, and not our keys. The member of staff we saw earlier swapped our keys and we moved to the next (second!) room, which was a relatively easy process.

Our first thoughts on the room; it was very bright, welcoming, and fresh - however, it had a slight clinical vibe. There was a lack of facilities which, to be fair, you'd expect from a budget hotel but it's worth mentioning anyway:

- no safe/place to store valuables
- only two plug sockets
- no shampoo/shower gel/anything for the shower
- no hair dryer
- only 1 pillow per person
- no kettle or mini-fridge (however, there were food facilities downstaris)

There were also some good points about our expereince:

- friendly staff (very attentive, answered phone quickly, ect.)
- nice (in our opinion, of course!) view from the side of the building
- value for money
- good basic facilites
- super clean room on arrival

The sleeping arrangements were okay - we stayed in a standard double room fit for two. The bed was very hard, and there was only one pillow each, but it was relatively comfortable considering we just needed somewhere to sleep at the end of the day!

In the morning, we bought the breakfast option for £5. Initially, we thought it would be a standard fry-up, but soon realised that it was just cereal, toast, yogurt and pastries. We had built our appetite up for a greasy fry-up so we were slightly disappointed when it came around to getting our food. But, aside from that it was well stocked, and the lady running the breakfast was absolutely lovely.

At the end of the day, I would reccommend this room to anyone who simply needs somewhere to stay, and who doesnt really need the extras, or is on a budget! We had a pleasant experience overall, and feel like we have in fact got value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordi_Pena, General Manager at ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your extensive and detailed feedback following your recent stay at the hotel.

We look forward to welcome you again at ibis Budget Manchester Salford Quays in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Jordi Pena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,878 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    704
    445
    161
    170
See reviews for
341
529
204
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

decided for this hotel after reading the good reviews and I haven't been disappointed.
What I liked about this hotel is that it is clean and fully refurbished all brand new.
The only dislike was the location

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank marta c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordi_Pena, General Manager at ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Guest,

The team and I are very proud that you have enjoyed the hotel and our facilities.

We are hoping to have the pleasure to welcome you again at the hotel and that our location at Salford Quays, within short walking distance to Media City UK will not affect your future travel plans.

Kind Regards,

Jordi Pena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 February 2014

It was only £35 for a lovley clean double room, has a modern Phillips flat screen tv, a bunk bed over the double which looks funky, a small toilet space and a nice shower, great location right near media city really happy with quick check in and clean room! :)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurenx92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordi_Pena, General Manager at ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for posting your comments and extremely positive feedback in TripAdvisor following your recent stay at ibis Budget Manchester Salford Quays.

The team and I are glad that we could deliver a superior experience and look forward to welcome you again at the hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards,

Jordi Pena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Floor and bed sheets were covered in hair. Child pulled the alarm chain once but a member of staff came to the room 4 times and was ignorant, felt like leaving there and then. Couldn't sleep due to train going right past the room window all night.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annekaaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordi_Pena, Reception Department at ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you very much for sharing your comment about your experience at the Ibis Budget Manchester Salford Quays Hotel in TripAdvisor.

I am really sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that you found our services unsatisfactory. Please, make sure we take note of your comments and we will investigate the circumstances with the Management team.

We would love to have you again in our hotel and show you why we are recipient of a high score in both customer service and accommodation.

Best regards,

Sergio Rojo
Reception Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Salford hotels

Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here when the WWE Raw came to the UK, decided to make a weekend of it and chose this hotel. When i arrived i was shocked to see how amazing this hotel is for the price i paid. It was our first time in Manchester so on the first day we were getting taxis without realising there is a tram station right across the road but the receptionist let us know about this and it saved us tonnes of money. Will deffinetly be staying here again. Ive even gone ahead and booked the ibis budget in Birmingham in a months time! Great hotel.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank thisisspartar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordi_Pena, General Manager at ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for reviewing your last stay at the hotel in November 2013.

We cannot express how thankful we are to be the recipient of a 5 out of 5 score. The team are extremely pleased that we were able to provide a superior experience and look forward to welcome you again at the hotel in your next trip to Manchester.

Kind Regards,

Jordi Pena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Usually use this hotel if we going to Manu match as it is close by. Easy to book online and very good for the price paid. The hotel is right at the Salford Quays stop. The rooms are simple and clean and the cont. breakfast is very good.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bhutchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordi_Pena, General Manager at ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you have awarded to ibis Budget Manchester Salford Quays a 5 out 5 score.

We are proud that we could make your stay enjoyable and that our location was beneficial to your travel needs.

Kind Regards,

Jordi Pena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salford hotels
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Salford Quays
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
0.0 mi away
AC Hotel Manchester Salford Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Salford Media City
4.8 mi away
Novotel Manchester West
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Salford Quays Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays

Property: ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
Address: 19 Trafford Road, Salford M5 3AW, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Manchester Salford Quays)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Salford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays 2*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays is situated in close proximity to central Manchester by either car or public transport. The hotel is 100% non-smoking and all 210 bedrooms are en-suite with central air-control system and a flat screen TV. Enjoy the large selection of drinks and snacks available 24/7 from our grab & go section, displayed in our modern and welcoming public areas. Free WIFI throughout. A great continental buffet breakfast is served daily. IMPORTANT: Extremely limited amount of outdoor parking is available and chargeable at £7 per night - Please contact the hotel directly for additional information on car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Manchester
Ibis Budget Manchester Salford Quays Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing