We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Budget isn't the best word to describe this Hotel.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Salford
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Budget isn't the best word to describe this Hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Hi,

We've been using this Hotel for nearly a year now. Some weeks we've had up to four rooms with two guys sharing and our experience has been consistently good. Please don't be put off by the "budget" name; this hotel is very good!

We are a firm of contractors who work all over Europe and indeed the rest of the world. Having stayed in Ibis budget hotels in Belgium, France and many other places we can confirm that the specification of these and layout of the rooms is fairly consistent and identical in all refitted properties, post Etap re-brand. I seriously challenge anyone to comfortably put up 4 guys in a capital city for sub £275 per week.

We use the business membership scheme which costs sub Euro 90 per annum, but has shown us the following benefits:

1) 10% discount on room fees.
2) 10% off anything purchased whilst in the Hotel (Snacks, Beers, Wines etc.)
3) Guaranteed accomodation, even during busy periods, provided you book 48hours in advance. (This has proven to be the most valuable aspect of the membership and has ensured that, if we book at the weekend, we always have rooms, even during match days at Old Trafford and other such events).

We have *never* paid more than £32 per night, even when others have reported paying up to £120 per night, subject to demand. We believe this represents fantastic value as there are no hotels in the vicinity which even have rooms when Manchester United are playing, let alone offering them at sub £32. On several occasions I've arrived late night, to join the guys and although full, I've left my bag, gone to the pub and had a phone call to say they've *created* a room, at around the same rate... Fantastic!

The Staff:

Sergio and his team including Imran, who is usually on night / early morning duty, Susie who does mornings and also the delightful Eastern European girls who form the hotel's reception team are a credit to the Hotel and the brand. Check in is always smooth and very fast, they are cheerful and very polite and last but not least, have a laugh and a joke with the guests who are more regular at the Hotel. Sergio himself has had me us all in stitches on many occasions with his dry sense of humour!

The Facilities:

Parking is available on a first come, first served basis in a secure car park shared with the Ramada. Staff always do their utmost to let us fit in our vehicles and even when the car park is showing full, will come outside and visually check if we have spotted a free space and let us in. It's best to get in the car park before 6pm and you'll usually get a space, expect for on Match days when it's every man for himself. There is a large NCP style car park opposite which is never full and is £5 per night as opposed to the £3 charged by the Ibis and still very reasonable.

The Hotel reception is modern and has tables, chairs, coffee machine (good coffee, just had one) and serves a continental style breakfast which I've yet to try, but having just gone to reception and seen the fresh breads and croissants being taken out of the oven, appears to be cooked fresh on site!

There is a wide selection of Ginsters pies, pasties and sandwiches, Pot Noodles, Porridges / Cereals etc. as well as things like tooth paste, shaving cream and shower gels available 24/7 in reception at very reasonable rates. There is a small but well stocked mini bar with a selection of beers, wines in glass sized bottles, waters, spirit & mixer cans also available 24 hours. You are free to use the microwave also provided for food purchased in the hotel, or bought at one of the Express Supermarkets within walking distance. We have on occasion bought a takeaway in for the lads and the staff have been more than happy to let us sit in reception using the hotel's plates and cutlery to eat as a group.

I would personally like to see a couple of sofas and coffee tables, which would encourage me to work in the hotel reception of an evening, rather than spend my night at the pub opposite!

The Rooms:

The rooms are always spotlessly clean, with a small WC, (I don't know how much time the negative reviewers actually spend on the can, or why it matters that you can touch both walls of it with your shoulders, but I've found it fine) a shower which is one of the most powerful and best I've had in ANY Hotel, a small desk and seat, a TV, several touch button lighting levels which are accessible from the bed also. Housekeeping always provide fresh towels every day, make the bed and change it every 2 (I think) days. The Air Conditioning in the room is perfect if you want to close the window and sleep in the cool. If you *must* have the window open, you may wish to ask to sleep at the rear of the hotel, as the traffic may keep you awake in the early hours between 5-7am. I've regularly slept all night even as a light sleeper, with the window open. The beds on the lower floors seem to be slightly more comfortable than the upper floors, which in my opinion is the only thing about this place which makes deserves the name *budget*, as everything else is 5 star!

Location:

Easy to find, and it doesn't take a genius to work out you have to turn right at the lights just after the Hotel, then follow your nose. Perhaps for the benefit of less sensible guests a couple of laminated signs on the lamp posts directing them to the car park? There are a couple of restaurants, a pub and a particularly good takeaway called Aadams which serves Indian, Chinese, Italian, as well as burgers and kebabs, next door but one. You are also welcome in the Ramada Hotel's bar, also next door. There is a tram station opposite the pub and you can be in town within 10 minutes, at the Lowry or anywhere else which takes your fancy, without hassle.

To sum up:

Friendly and polite staff, immaculately clean rooms and dining area, snacks, drinks and everything local to you. sub £30 a night if you book in advance and the best value Hotel offering anywhere.

Budget needn't mean service or cleanliness is sacrificed - Sergio and his team are proof. A job very well done guys and girls!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H6003, RECEPTION TEAM at ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your more than positive review about our hotel in TripAdvisor.

At the Ibis Budget Manchester Salford Quays hotel, all our teams and departments work very hard to provide the maximum quality on the stays of our guests. It is comments like yours which make us proud of our work and encourage us to continue improving our services and standards for the future.

On behalf of all the Reception Staff members, Management team, Maintenance and Housekeeping departments, once again, thank you very much for your words. We are thrilled by them.

We are looking forward to seeing you again with us.

Best regards,

Sergio Rojo
Reception Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    665
    423
    147
    157
See reviews for
314
495
196
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We paid for basic and boy did we egg what we paid for. Room was clean, shower good, but no frills, no tea/coffee, no hair dryer, awful breakfast facilities. Good location for quays though and staff friendly.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shazcoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H6003, RECEPTION TEAM at ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking your time and sharing your comments about your recent stay at the Ibis Budget Manchester Salford Quays hotel in TripAdvisor.

We are glad to read that our location and staff met your expectations, as well as the room facilities.

In regards to the breakfast display, we are sorry to read that it was not attractive to you. For future stays in case of being more interested in a British breakfast, the restaurants on the other side of the road (The Matchstick Man and Frankie & Benny's) offer a very attractive British breakfast from very early in the morning.

Best regards,

Sergio Rojo
Reception Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swansea
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

£26 !!!! per night for a very comfortable CLEAN double room in Manchester with parking at £3 per night.
We stayed here for 3 nights and it did what it said on the tin! I stay in Manchester on a regular basis staying in the city centre in top hotels £100 + per night !!!! for business purposes then I found this little gem , it ticks all the boxes no it has not got a pool, gym spa etc but has AIR con & SUPERB value for money.
Great location near the city tram stop and right on the Quays plenty of food outlets shopping.
I will be returning next week.

The staff very attentive and friendly you could not wish for more if it's coming out of your hard earned money

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carpo2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H6003, RECEPTION TEAM at ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your more than positive comments regarding your recent stay in our hotel.

Both the Management and Reception teams are really happy to know that our location, services and facilities matched your needs.

We are looking forward to seeing you again very soon with us.

Best regards,

Sergio Rojo
Reception Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Love this hotel for the location to Old trafford.Have been here before and was fine,but this time the room was very noisey due to traffic and buzzing noise in room.I didnt complain due to being only £39 .The time before I paid £70 and was ok.Breakfast is only £4.95 so no complaints.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swills503903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H6003, RECEPTION TEAM at ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time and sharing your comments about your recent stay in our hotel in TripAdvisor.

We are sorry to read that the noise from the outside prevented you from having a good sleep. We note your comments so that we can improve the quality of the sound-proofing in our rooms.

For future stays, please, request a room facing our car park, as it is normally quieter than the rooms facing the main road or the tram, always bearing in mind our limited number of rooms available.

Best regards,

Sergio Rojo
Reception Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Staying with my partner for a couple of days while he was working in Manchester. Good reception experience - Sergio knew my partner and there was a friendly exchange before we made our way to the seventh floor. Okay well the facilities aren't great, but we paid £28 a night and realistically all you need is a bed, a shower and a toilet, so that was the checklist complete. Nearby facilities and transport links excellent.

Can't say anything was bad at all. We got what we paid for, and the staff were all friendly, so no complaints. People make these places and I think they've got that aspect sorted.

Room Tip: It's a cheap hotel near Old Trafford so nights before and after MUFC home games can be a bit noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BillyMcIlroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H6003, RECEPTION TEAM at ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive comments regarding your recent stay in our hotel.

We are glad to read that our staff, location and facilities made a difference and gave you a good impression.

We would like to see you again very soon with us for another great stay in our hotel.

Best regards,

Sergio Rojo
Reception Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

It is a budget hotel so you know it has no frills, for the price paid (£30) we have no complaints.
The free wifi seems to work slow yet a good signal, don't understand that but hey.
Good secure parking costs £3 but worth it. Shared with the Ramada.
We would use it again. Air con in room.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackfrostsfinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H6003, RECEPTION TEAM at ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive comments about your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to know that our facilities and services met your needs and we would like to have you again with us very soon.

Best regards,

Sergio Rojo
Reception Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salford hotels
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Salford Quays
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Salford Quays Hotel
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK
0.0 mi away
AC Hotel Manchester Salford Quays
0.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays

Property: ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
Address: 19 Trafford Road, Salford M5 3AW, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Manchester Salford Quays)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Salford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays 2*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays is situated in close proximity to central Manchester by either car or public transport. The hotel is 100% non-smoking and all 210 bedrooms are en-suite with central air-control system and a flat screen TV. Enjoy the large selection of drinks and snacks available 24/7 from our grab & go section, displayed in our modern and welcoming public areas. Free WIFI throughout. A great continental buffet breakfast is served daily. IMPORTANT: Extremely limited amount of outdoor parking is available and chargeable at £7 per night - Please contact the hotel directly for additional information on car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Manchester
Ibis Budget Manchester Salford Quays Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing