We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay”
Review of Quay Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quay Apartments
Reviewed 17 December 2012 via mobile

After staying here I find it hard to understand why anyone would choose a hotel over this? It was absolutely superb, very modern and clean and for the price it was simply fantastic! Considering that most hotels in Manchester were double the price and that travel lodge was actually the same price, the choice was simple! Excellent secure parking, friendly staff and a great location, what more could you want?

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hdunne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2012

The Quay Apartments comprise 2 towers about 2 minutes walk from Anchorage metrolink station with very frequent trams into Manchester City Centre - a 15-20 minute ride away.

I have stayed in a variety of apartments from the Studio (the best in my opinion) to the 2 bed apartment. All are comfortably furnished and provide a real home from home and a great alternative to a hotel. There is a fully fitted kitchen, good bathroom lounge/dining area and beds according to the size of apartment. The apartments in my experience are always clean. Furnishings vary by apartment. The studio is very good, a one bed apartment is rather spartan in the lounge. All apartments have a good plasma TV and wireless router. FREE wifi - excellent for business and other guests. Booking is easy. As the apartments are privately owned without a 24 hour reception, the procedure for checking in is to be met at the entrance and then shown to the apartment. Always best to call or text an hour or so prior to arrival and then when 5-10 minutes away. In this way, when you arrive there is absolutely minimal wait to be met. Check out is 11am - leave the keys on the table and depart. Simple.

There is always room for improvement. At these apartments little touches could make the experience even better; small UHT milk sticks; more coat hangers ; better quality pillows; dishwasher tablets; Other reviews have said the same and I agree.

All in all a very good package.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gr7base
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We booked a 2 bedroom apartment for a Saturday night. The apartment was large enough for the 4 of us with 2 bedrooms but the beds were tiny doubles which were not big enough for 2 adults. The beds also squeaked terribly whenever we rolled over and the pillows were hard and lumpy cheap things. Definitley not what we expected for the money we paid. The blinds in the bedroom didnt keep the light out so after looking forward to a lie in we were awake at 7am when the sun came up. One of the worst nights sleep ever!
The general state of the apartment was good but the kitchen was ill-equipped with not enough glasses for the 4 of us. The apartment also had an appalling smell of fried food which never left even with some windows open. The shower in the main bathroom didnt work properly either. The girl that met us outside the apartment was very offhand and didnt make any conversation, making us feel pretty uncomfortable as she marched us up to the apartment. She did tell us about the keys and how to get in and out in detail but failed to tell us anything about the apartment and the heating system. On the plus side however, it was very quiet, apart from the beds, and the view from the balcony was lovely.
On the whole the place was ok but for £245 for the Saturday night it was very very over priced. I wouldn't recommend it and we won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We booked 2 nights at the start of June, although we booked a studio we got a large 2 bedroom apartment which was a definite bonus. The room was very large and good value for the money payed, however it was very rough around the edges, the carpets were pretty shabby the walls were scuffed and marked, a lamp in the living room wasn't plugged in and had only a European plug, the shower screen in one of the bathrooms was hanging off and 2 large tiles were coming away from the wall in the same bathroom.

My biggest problem however comes with the service, we were met by a very rude lady who let us in without a smile or even a friendly hello. We were then told that parking would be 12 pounds per day to park even though there had been no mention of this on the website and indeed on trip advisor it says it's free!

She then showed us to our room (not once making conversation and making us feel very uncomfortable). We then proceeded to sign the relevant paperwork and she left, without giving us any info on the apartment i.e how to work the complicated heating system. The dishwasher had not been emptied and there were no glasses other than wine glasses. Again they didn't provide any dishwasher tablets so all washing up was done by hand.

Overall despite these minor problems we enjoyed our stay, however a few hours after checking out we recieved a call from a member of staff accusing us of breaking 2 tiles in the bathroom (the 2 I previously mentioned as broken) and asked as to how we had broken them. Obviously I denied this allegation and was unhappy at the problem been there in the first place, and for them to then have the cheek to accuse us of it. They said the flat had been checked previous to us checking in and no problems had been found, which it obviously hadn't as they would have seen the damage. He said he would double check with the cleaning team to ensure the damage definitely wasn't there before we checked in, that was 2 weeks ago and we haven't heard since I assume they realised their mistake but don't have the decency to inform me or apologise.

Overall the apartments have the potential to be excellent but hampered by poor staff and rough around the edges rooms. Not the worst serviced apartment but wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Have a good look around for any damage and take note
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sim0njs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Stayed here for one night. I booked two one bed apartments but was given two, two bed apartments which were HUGE. The apartments were clean, spacious, extremely well equipped with great decor. I wished that we had been staying longer.

There was one hiccup - a broken lock on one of the aprtments meaning that it could only be locked from the inside. They couldn't fix it before we left as we arrived late at night. It was no real bother though as we just locked everything in the other apartment.

Overall a lovely experience and much better than the rubbish hotels that my company usually gets for me - a bargain at £59 a night. Everyone should stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Stayed here for four nights and it was lovely. I had a few technical issues but the staff were at assistance instantly. I had no issus while staying here and The Trafford center is about a ten minute drive away. I would defiantly recommend it. Customer service is great too very polite and helpful. Well worth the money.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isha1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

The apartment is located in the north part of Salford Quay beside the Anchorage metrolink tram stop 15 minutes away from central Manchester. The accomodation is well maintained to a high standard. I found it difficult in finding the apartment when I arrived but was directed by a member of staff and met by a member of staff at the enterance. My apartment was number 503 which was modernly furnished with IKEA furniture. Spacious living room / dining area, well equiped kitchen. Spacious bedrooms and heated flooring in the master bedroom. Balcony overlooking the quay. Would have been nice to have had some balcony furniture. I initially booked a studio apartment but was given a two bedroom apartment. Room facalities were sparse but well maintained. Heated flooring in the master bathroom. Great facalities in the kitchen.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seat_1A_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salford hotels
1.6 mi away
The Lowry Hotel
The Lowry Hotel
#4 of 20 in Salford
2,719 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
0.4 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Salford Quays
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK
4.4 mi away
Novotel Manchester West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quay Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay Apartments

Address: The Quays | Salford Quays, Salford M50 3SB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Salford
Price Range: £74 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quay Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serviced apartments are fast becoming the preferred alternative to hotels. We have some of the most luxurious serviced apartments perfect for short term stay, for business or pleasure. We can facilitate our clients to achieve the perfect serviced accommodation solutions.Whether you are travelling on business or to just relax, our serviced apartments are perfect for your requirements. We can provide you with the perfect solution for your corporate or leisure short stay accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quay Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay Apartments Salford, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing