We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Most informative

The tour is excellent value and the tour guides entertaining and well informed. Each tour is... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Venice2005
,
Wrexham
BBC tour

Really enjoyed this tour around the BBC Studios. You need to book in advance. It was great to see... read more

Reviewed 5 January 2019
Cecil H
,
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Read all 108 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Salford
from US$45.93
More Info
from US$18.37
More Info
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
56
37
8
1
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
37
8
1
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blue peter studio media city tv studios radio drama airport style security sound effects fascinating tour jeremy kyle free tickets purpose built security staff lowry centre excellent tour take photos recording audience mastermind
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 108 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2015

Went with my 14 year old son. We both thoroughly enjoyed and found the tour very informative. Staff very good and well informed which made the tour enjoyabale

Date of experience: March 2015
2  Thank stejeppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2015

Completed the tour of Media City which is around one and half hours. Tour provided lots of information including how Breakfast and Weather put together. Blue Peter studio much smaller than expected. Each tour will vary depending on what is set up for recording.

Date of experience: February 2015
Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2015

The staff were so helpful by showing us where to go for our recording, I will be definite visiting again

Date of experience: February 2015
Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2015

I took my daughter and her friend (both 11) on this tour in recent weeks. This is an up and coming area for both tourists and locals with easy access by tram as well as carparking at the nearby Lowry Centre. You can get to the Imperial War Museum over a bridge, so a whole day's worth of entertainment is there at your fingertips as well as shopping and eating. The tour lasts 90 minutes and I paid just over £20 for the three of us-great value! We started in the mock up of the Newsround studios where the girls tried presenting & I had the far harder task of doing the weather. They then did a little quiz on CBBC. It was interesting to visit a radio studio where we were shown the sound effects possible in what looks at first glance like a very sterile environment. At all times our guides Julia and Sarah were providing us with information and they were involving as many of the children as were willing to participate. The Blue Peter studio was also fun to visit, although the programme is now a lot less popular now it has so much competition from other telly. Not so in the days of John Noakes and Peter Purves...I think I was more excited in there than the girls! The CBBC studio provided them with a chance to try some dressing up effects and a bit more presenting. This was an excellent introduction to the world of media in an appropriate and child friendly way. I can't wait to do the adult version of the tour in May now! Julia and Sarah were just lovely with the children and worked together brilliantly. What a nice job they have! Afterwards we strode over to the Lowry where the auditions for BGT were taking place. I don't think the girls could have had a nicer time. Book well in advance as this is popular and the touring groups are quite small.

Date of experience: February 2015
2  Thank lottie03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2015

Take tram/train to it and spend time at the mall. Very beautiful at night. Good restaurant in the area.

Date of experience: August 2014
Thank AnnKS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews