We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is better than I want it to be”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Certificate of Excellence
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“It is better than I want it to be”
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

I don't like big hotels, especially not chains, but this is fine. Somehow the friendly staff manage to deliver a more personal service than you usually get. Nick in the bar cured my hiccups with his mother's remedy, eating a freshly cut slice of lemon! Breakfast here is superb too and the rooms have kettles, mugs and decent tea bags!

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Barwickgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Barwickgreen,

Reference: Holiday Inn Manchester-MediaCityUK

Many thanks for your recent feedback regarding your stay here with us and hope to see you return in the near future. Glad to hear the lemon cured the hiccups - trade secret - don't be telling everyone!

With Kind Regards

Teresa

Teresa Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    395
    98
    37
    25
See reviews for
109
383
40
401
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wootton Bassett
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I stayed for two nights in November. The Hotel is in a great position for the Salford Quays area, which has some lovely restaurants and of course the Lowry Centre. The whole area has been beautifully developed, and in easy access to Manchester city centre. I was impressed by my double room, which was lovely. I had a meal in the hotel on my second night and as I ate early in the evening, I was the only person in the restaurant. I was treated extremely well, and had great service from Fabio the waiter. He was attentive, without being annoying, and he couldn't have been more helpful. The food was good, and I would definitely eat there if I stayed again. The reduction in parking fees is very good, and also great for access. I was staying for business, so can't comment on value, as the company were paying!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WBCofC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
WBCofC,

Reference: Holiday Inn Manchester-MediaCityUK

Many thanks for your recent feedback regarding your stay here with us and hope to see you return in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Teresa

Teresa Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Stayed one night at this hotel. couldn't fault it at all. Spotless,staff so helpful too, was greeted by the manager, she was so welcoming and friendly, checked us in booked us a table for meal, . Had meal in restaurant lovely food, again staff were great.
Lovely twin room view of city, breakfast was very good. couldn't have had better service. would definately stay again. good value too.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beverley m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
beverley m,

Reference: Holiday Inn Manchester-MediaCityUK

Great to see you last week and many thanks for your recent feedback regarding your stay here with us and hope to see you return in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Teresa

Teresa Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We came here on the 15th November as we were going to a concert at the Phones 4 U arena. The whole area of Media City is really nice, and very modern. First impression of the Hotel was good, the lady on the reception who checked us in was very enthusiastic and very helpful. We were in a room on the 8th floor overlooking the city area. The view wasn't the best, a lot of building work going on but we weren't really there for the view! The room was nice and warm, VERY clean, it had a comfy chair and what looked like an office desk and chair in the room, mini bar, safe, tea making facilities and even an iron and ironing board!! The bathroom was lovely and lit with green ambient lighting, and there was a nice big bath. If i was going to pick any fault it would be the bed! It seemed to sink in the middle, we spent most of the night trying to not roll into each other at every opportunity, also the pillows could have been a bit better. The hotel is in a great location, very easy to get to the tram stop which takes you all over the city. You can also park in the multi story car park over the supermarket and if you validate your ticket it's £7 for 24 hours instead of £15. I still gave this place an excellent rating, even though the bed was a bit naff and there was a fair bit of noise coming from certain areas, you can't control what other people do and it didn't ruin my stay.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DMFAN2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
DMFAN2,

Reference: Holiday Inn Manchester-MediaCityUK

Many thanks for your recent constructive feedback regarding your stay here with us and hope to see you return in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Teresa

Teresa Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on wed 13/11/13 cannot fault this hotel at all, the reception staff very friendly and helpful, the room number1031 was excellent very large with a wonderful view over the city, the room was spotless and the bathroom was the best we have had in any hotel we have stayed in. We did not eat in the hotel except for the breakfast which was worth having a good choice of cooked or cereal and fresh fruit, again the staff very welcoming. We would recomend this hotel and would certainly stay there again

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rodney H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
RodneyH,

Reference: Holiday Inn Manchester-MediaCityUK

Many thanks for your recent feedback regarding your stay here with us and hope to see you return in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Teresa

Teresa Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We booked here just because it was the nearest one to the Lowry Centre (where we were going) and Olga Polizzi had recommended Holiday Inn and I like her forthrightness. As we were only there one night we thought we might as well just go to the nearest but what a pleasant surprise! It was just like being in an intimate privately owned hotel not a large chain. The hotel is large, modern and right next to the BBC so the decor was TV themed but tastefully - black and white blown up, cropped in pictures etc. The views are amazing for a city site as it's on the Salford Quays complex (a mixture of Canary Wharf and Venice) and we could see Manchester United's Old Trafford ground from the corridor window (Apparently guests ask for a view of this but it can only be seen from the side not the rooms themseves and shouldn't it be called Salford United!!!!!!!). We were on the 15th floor in an odd numbered room so had a good view, our friends were on the even side and their view was not quite as good so bear that in mind. Rooms really clean (hoorah) AND COMFY. Only thing missing was hair conditioner but that seems to be common now and that's a shame. OOh yes, the safe was at a decent height too (I have been in hotels where one needed to be on tiptoe to see in and I'm not short). The staff were so knowledgeable and friendly and very welcome. As we were due at the Lowry for 7pm and hadn't arrived til 6 as the traffic up was so bad, we were hungry after the show but the jolly bar staff were very accommodating despite the late hour we returned and made us up fresh sandwiches.
We decided to have the additional £10 breakast and that was well worth the money with everything one could ask for in a beautifully decorated mezzanine room. Parking was just off site and was ok-ish pricewise (the days of free hotel parking seem to have long gone now). We are thinking of returning to see more of the area and use this hotel again as it was such a good experience.We have even joined their Loyalty Club. Well done Holiday Inn **********

Room Tip: Ask for a high room viewing the BBC for a citywide view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 666Bunty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Bunty666,

Reference: Holiday Inn Manchester-MediaCityUK

Many thanks for your review. Looking forward to your return to us int he near future.

With Kind Regards

Teresa

Teresa Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

While out of the city center, the location is pleasant, situated as it is along the quays, canals and bridges of Salford. There are a handful of restaurants among the office towers in the newly developed area. Tram service into the city center begins a block away from the hotel.

For what is, I presume, a new building, the modern rooms are oddly creaky and squeaky. Our 16th floor room had a safe, one robe, kettle, modern bath and BIG, fluffy towels. Wifi is included with a fast connection. The mini bar cannot be used as a mini fridge, however, and the bed was too hard for both our backs (though I was able to upgrade the pillow situation). The room was of average size with a reading chair, desk, and no drawers into which a traveller might unpack.

While service was sincere and friendly, the staff could easily up their game. The only tourist info offered at the front desk is a photocopied Google map to Old Trafford stadium, so bring your own city/tourist map. The waitstaff advised us at 10:15 the restaurant was closed but not that we could eat in the bar, so we found dinner nearby. Maintenance issues went slowly or simply unresolved.

Of course, none of these seriously impacted our stay, but they made us wish for more attention to detail. Perhaps typical of a large business hotel.

Room Tip: Upper-floor rooms have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thrall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Reference: Holiday Inn Manchester-MediaCityUK

I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the inconvenience that you encountered at the Holiday Inn Manchester-MediaCityUK. It is our intention at all times to ensure that our guests are made to feel welcome whilst staying with us; therefore I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel.

With Kind Regards

Teresa

Teresa Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salford
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Salford Media City
0.7 mi away
Hotel Football Old Trafford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Salford Quays Hotel
2.1 mi away
The Lowry Hotel
The Lowry Hotel
#3 of 20 in Salford
2,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK

Property: Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK
Address: Media City, Salford M50 2EQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Salford
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salford
#4 Luxury Hotel in Salford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Lastminute, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Manchester - Mediacityuk Hotel Salford
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK Salford, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing