We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Both good and bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Both good and bad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

I've stayed here twice now, and would stay again, because of the convenience of the location if you're working in MediaCity.

On both occasions, the staff were friendly and courteous, and the food excellent. The restaurant in the evening was way better than anything I'd normally associated with a chain like Holiday Inn.

The rooms are neat and modern, but had some downsides:

On the first trip, the mattress managed to be both uncomfortably hard, and yet sagging in the middle. We clung to our respective sides of the bed to stop ourselves from rolling into the void...

In addition, I hate hotels where you can't open the windows at all, and this room (905) was blessed with an aircon system that cycled between too hot and too cold throughout the night.

The second room had neither of these problems and we slept fine, but, like the first one, it had a shower that had to be held within inches of your body if the water drops were to make it across the gap.

Overall, I would have given it three stars, but the Green Room restaurant certainly merited an extra one.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quentinsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Quentinsf,

Reference: Holiday Inn Manchester-MediaCityUK

I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the inconvenience that you encountered at the Holiday Inn Manchester-MediaCityUK. It is our intention at all times to ensure that our guests are made to feel welcome whilst staying with us; therefore I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel.

I hope this will not dissuade you from staying with us in the future.

With Kind Regards

Teresa

Teresa Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    535
    387
    95
    32
    25
See reviews for
103
376
39
385
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

This was a very reasonably priced stay at the Holiday Inn MediaCity. Ideally I had wanted a city centre stay for two nights but the cost was high at almost all hotels, it was cheaper going out to Salford and not too much of an inconvenience as the tram stop is just outside the hotel and it takes about 20 minutes into the centre. MediaCity was quiet at the weekend but hotel was busy although not overly so. The Reception staff were friendly and welcoming, the room was spotlessly clean and the shower great. I love a hotel where I cannot hear other guests to -ing and fro-ing and I didnt hear a soul along the executive corridor (think we must have had an upgrade) at any time during the stay. No complaints at all and would stay again. I wasn't caught out touching anything in the minibar as the reception staff give you a sheet of paper to sign at check-in stating that you will be billed for moving anything in the minibar and that it is not to be used a fridge, so the policy is clear.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldmanHarding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Thank You for your recent feedback regarding your stay here with us at the Holiday Inn Manchester-MediaCityUK.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Teresa

Teresa Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Have stayed in a couple of hotels in Salford Quays and this is by far the nicest. Extremely clean. Right next the Media City tram stop. Breakfast is what you'd expect. The floor levels are a bit confusing.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Emma T,

Many thanks for your recent feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Manchester-MediaCityUK.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Teresa

Teresa Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

I was charged 13 and more pounds by touching the bottles in minibar fridge. The amount of money was not that much but the experience with Holiday Inn and my academic visit of MediaCity have been stained.

The microcomputer was so great to monitor the numbers of bottles you have touched. You can not complain without praising how they spend their genius on the ways in which the money is earned.

The duty manager firmly told me that I won't get any refund since I have singed an agreement which I did not have enough time to thoroughly read. They have no intention to give me the bottles that I have been charged for, neither.

When I arrived, the reception was extremely busy and short of stuff. I was given a statement to sign but no one has explained the policy for me. After more than 24 hours flight, I just need a bed to lie and can not be bothered therefor I signed something I didn't fully aware the sequences.

I won't recommend the hotel to anyone. But if you got the chance to stay, be aware of the dodgy mini bar. And the window is not allowed to open so there is no fresh air at all. That's my advice.

This experience has changed my impression about Holiday Inn, My comment is that they are not decent or hospitable as they used to be. If spending similar amount of money, I will definitely avoid staying in Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Yi L,

Many thanks for your recent feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Manchester-MediaCityUK. I am sorry to hear that you feel the minibar policy is not to your liking, however all guests are advised on check in and sign confirmation that they agree to the terms of the minibar policy which are:
"Dear Guest

For your added convenience, we are delighted to provide you with your own minibar service.

Kindly note that the system is computerised and that your account will be automatically charged without refund once a product is moved and or taken.

We would like to inform you that this fridge is set to cool at 8ºC and therefore, due to Health & Safety Regulations, cannot be used to store food or medicines."

I hope this will not dissuade you from staying with us in the future.

With Kind Regards

Teresa

Teresa Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

The main reason for using this hotel is to be on site for a morning meeting at the BBC or or other MediaCity businesses. The rooms are pretty much up to the standard of any other Holiday Inn, and the views across the quays are quite impressive.
The breakfast room is a bit utilitarian, and the bar has nothing really to write home about. The only reason it's busy is that it's the only real drinking spot in the whole complex unless you brave the cold and sit out at the Dock Bar.
Fine for a comfortable bed but don't expect to be blown away.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
MarcG,

Many thanks for your recent feedback regarding your stay here with us at the Holiday Inn Manchester-MediaCityUK. Sorry we did not blow you away by our friendly staff and the hearthy food on offer.

Hope this will not dissuade you from staying with us in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Teresa

Teresa Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Cumbria
Level Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

I don't usually stay at Holiday Inns as they tend to be well used and look it, however this one at Media City was lovely. It was all very new and well kept. the bedroom on the 16th Floor was very spacious, clean and comfortable. I can honestly say if every Holiday Inn was as good as this id stay more often!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestCumbriaClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
WestCumbriaClaire,

Many Thanks for your recent feedback regarding your stay here with us at the Holiday Inn Manchester-MediaCityUK.

I look forward to your returning to stay with us in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Teresa

Teresa Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evrehailles, Belgium
Level Contributor
156 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

This is a typical Holiday Inn in style and quality, fine for business, nothing special, modern decor, but the front desk were rather overwhelmed by the incoming guests, so the queue was rather long at times. The rooms were quite spacious though, with tea/coffee making equipment. Basically standard soulless hotel. The area is an interesting oasis of modern architecture, shopping, and dining near the Manchester United stadium, but otherwise isolated and surrounded by bleakness.
You need to park in the structure next door, across the street, so you must walk outside from parking to the hotel.
Breakfast was adequate but nothing more.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Christopher,

Reference: Holiday Inn Manchester-MediaCityUK

Many Thanks for your constructive feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at the hotel.

With Kind Regards

Teresa

Teresa Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salford
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Salford Quays Hotel
0.7 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Football Old Trafford
0.7 mi away
AC Hotel Manchester Salford Quays
2.1 mi away
The Lowry Hotel
The Lowry Hotel
#3 of 20 in Salford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK

Property: Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK
Address: Media City, Salford M50 2EQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salford
#3 Business Hotel in Salford
#4 Luxury Hotel in Salford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Manchester - Mediacityuk Hotel Salford
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK Salford, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing