We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location and even better room!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great location and even better room!”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I was given this room as we had a company conference in the area and i usually think chain hotels could do with doing more of an effort as they are turning into fast food chains whereby everywhere is identical, but i was pleasantly surprised by the quality and luxury of this one.

i was on the 12th floor so the view over salford quays and more importantly mediacityuk was amazing! you looked over the BBC building and over towards the lowry so the view in the evening was great!

the room was very clean and the bed was lovely! the bathroom was also well laid out with interesting green uplighting (in keeping with the company brand logo), an added and welcome bit of security is that you couldnt go in the lift unless you had your door pass so passers by couldnt walk into and go up the floors!

i didnt have food here but i have spoken to others who said the breakfast was very good as well. (i wasn't feeling too good so avoided food ;) )

the downside parking is in the nearby multi storey and it cost 7 pounds to get out after an overnight stay.

there is a tram stop within 2 mins walk of the front door so you can get a tram ride into the city.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chefshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
tomosbowen,

Reference: Holiday Inn Manchester-MediaCityUK

Thank You for your great feedback and glad to hear we are somewhat individual in our hotel approach to our guests.

Hope that you will return to stay with us in the near future.

We appreciate you have a choice, therefore are delighted you have chosen us.

With Kind Regards

Louise

Louise Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    562
    399
    99
    37
    25
See reviews for
112
384
40
408
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Booked this through the top secret hotels on last minute.com. I have to say I was extremely happy with the value, comfort, location and service. We only stayed for 1 night as we were going to the comedy store in the town centre. It was easy and quick for us to check in and we were able to catch the metro less than a 2 minute walk away. Really convenient and would stay again if going into town.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank claireo503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
ClaireO,

Thank You for your recent review and glad you enjoyed your stay with us here, on your recent date night. The hotel is convenient for getting into Manchester City Centre via tram and taxi.
Look forward to seeing you in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Louise

Louise Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

First time visiting the holiday inn at media city, location perfect for the Lowry and lovely views at night. Booked an executive room which was quite disappointing for the money. Room quite basic. Bed and room temperature comfy though. Bath very small and shower flooded the room when we used it.
However the check out was a poor experience. I had booked the night away for me and my partner for his birthday which I paid for as a surprise. When checking out the woman at the desk said aloud the price of room bill rather than discreetly passing the bill over. At other hotels they would normally pass the bill to you, ask you to check amount and sign however this did not happen. I found this to be quite a poor service and embarrassing as it was meant to be a birthday present.
The location is the best thing about the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1cheekymonkey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
1 cheekymonkey 1,

Reference: Holiday Inn Manchester-MediaCityUK

I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the inconvenience that you encountered at the Holiday Inn Manchester-MediaCityUK.

It is our intention at all times to ensure that our guests are made to feel welcome whilst staying with us, therefore I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay. The details within your review have been investigated and I thank you for bringing this matter to my attention.

With Kind Regards

Louise

Louise Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Despite my room, breakfast and evening meal £154, being paid by my company I was refused a room because I wouldn't provide a swipe of my card for "extras". I have stayed at this hotel at least 20 times and never provided a swipe of my card. The attitude of the staff was rude and unco-operative. Despite being a priority club platinum member which one of the benefits of this level is not to have to provide card details, the staff refused to accept this and even stated " you are only a basic member". When I complained a few days later I was told that the staff acted professionally and a lack of evidence meant it would not be taken further. Needless to say I will not stay at this hotel again and my company will not use this chain again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank You for your feedback which has been detailed in great length in previous correspondences.

Yours Sincerely,

Teresa Hatton
Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
451 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed here one night when we were visiting for one night prior to the filming of a TV show.

If you're there for a TV show or visiting BBC/ITV etc then you can't get any closer - the hotel is actually on top of Dock10 which is where the studios are located. it is also a short walk (<5 mins) from The Lowry and the Imperial War Museum North. Plus there is a tramstop into the centre of the city. Very well located.

It is a new and modern 16 storey tower. The lobby and bar area on the ground is modern, clean and welcoming. The restaurant on the 1st floor is good but we only ate breakfast there, which was a good buffet.

The staff were perfectly efficient however they were a bit stiff and starchy.

The room was very good and spacious with quality furnishings (including desk), an excellent full-height window providing excellent views out across the city. The bathroom was clean and well equipped. The bed was comfortable.

+ve points:
1. location
2. excellent lighting
3. good blackout curtains (but see below)
4. excellent views
5. spacious and comfortable

-ve points
1. weird green LED under sink in the bathroom which (due to glass bathroom door window) bathed the whole room in a green glow - with no apparent switch to turn it off
2. awful wifi service - ALL IHG hotels I've stayed in have dreadful wifi (restricted to max 1mb even with the pay-for premium service) - as usual I was able to ignore the wifi and use 4g instead (50mb)

Room Tip: Great view from higher up
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAR-AM-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
MAR-AM-UK,

Reference: Holiday Inn Manchester-MediaCityUK

Thank you for your recent review of the Holiday Inn Manchester-MediaCityUK. Thank You for all the points you mention which are great for all future guests to view and assist them in their stay.

Hope that you can return to stay with us in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Louise

Louise Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydney, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Salford Quays and Media City have developed from a wreck of an old quarter - and are fantastic. The Holiday Inn is tall, slim and slick - 50 metres from a multistorey carpark - for which you get a price reduction at the hotel. Round the corner from BBC and ITV studios - with a tram link to Manchester. Reception were quick and polite, the room looks sparse, but is actually well equipped with modern fittings and loads of plugs - so you can charge the iPhone at the bedside. Everything worked, the bathroom was tiny but fully kitted out - could have done with a smaller shower head - not too much pressure on tap (maybe because I was on the 10th floor) - but that is a tiny comment. WiFi was a bit slow. Tea facilities excellent, aircon efficient, solid walls so not too noisy - lovely big bed. Food was good in the evening, but slightly disappointing scrambled egg in the morning. The waitress takes an order, making you feel it is prepared fresh - bit it was rather stiff and almost crispy - I felt it had been reheated. Surely a chef is there to make it freshly for you.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoySharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Roy Sharma,

Reference: Holiday Inn Manchester-MediaCityUK

Thank you for your recent review of the Holiday Inn Manchester-MediaCityUK. Hope that you can return to stay with us in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Louise

Louise Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here to go to the radio 6 music festival this weekend and I was pleasantly surprised by how nice it was! We arrived around 4pm and was greeted by a lovely gent on the desk who kindly asked where we were going and showed a real interest in our trip. We were also asked if we would like to book a taxi for our journey to Victoria warehouse later. Really nice touch.

Once in the room we were on the 16th floor and it had fantastic views to itv and bbc which again, was fab! Even better when it got darker later on we could see all of the lights which was great.

The room was spotless I could not fault how clean and well presented it was. The only thing I could pick up on as an extreaaaaaamly petty comment would be the checking out as it got really busy come 11am. Needless to say another guy was on the desk at this point and again was lovely! Asked it there was anything he could help with. So so nice! I will be back!!!

The tram station is close and worth a little browse on the water front. The breeze should be bottled as a hangover cure aha!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Alex T,

Reference: Holiday Inn Manchester-MediaCityUK

Thank you for your recent review of the Holiday Inn Manchester-MediaCityUK. Hope that you can return to stay with us in the near future. Oh Yes when there is a breeze it will blow the cobwebs away!!

With Kind Regards

Louise

Louise Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salford
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
0.7 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
0.7 mi away
Hotel Football Old Trafford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Salford Quays
2.1 mi away
The Lowry Hotel
The Lowry Hotel
#3 of 20 in Salford
2,539 reviews
0.7 mi away
AC Hotel Manchester Salford Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK

Property: Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK
Address: Media City, Salford M50 2EQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salford
#3 Business Hotel in Salford
#3 Luxury Hotel in Salford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Odigeo, Lastminute, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Manchester - Mediacityuk Hotel Salford
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK Salford, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing