We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bland, expensive... ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bland, expensive... ”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Perfect example of an hotel as a soulless money making machine. Not so much as a wardrobe or picture in the room, cheap bedding, barest drizzle of water from the shower nozzle. I stayed here because I had to be at the BBC studios very early, but if that's not the case, there are far better options in Central Manchester

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Good Afternoon

I am sorry to read you were unhappy with your recent stay if you are returning to the hotel in the future please do not hesitate to contact the team and we will talk you through the amenties available in the rooms.

With thanks and kind regards

Clare Price
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    562
    399
    99
    37
    25
See reviews for
112
384
40
408
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We have stayed in this hotel four times now since it opened and its definitely keeping up with staying new and fresh. We stayed in the Hilton in manchester a few months ago and the rooms in the holiday in are on par with them, i just wouldn't pay the triple money to stay there when this place is here.
The room was nice and clean as always, everything worked. The hotel is quite a way from the town but dosent take long on the tram or in a taxi. We had a few drinks in the bar, reasonable prices and the bar staff were all very polite.
The breakfast in the morning was lovely, had everything i could of asked for plus more.

The only two downsides to this hotel are -
- We couldn't get the wifi to work throughout the stay
- The price of the carpark is ridiculous

All in all yes we will stay again as its very handy for us.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nichola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Good Afternoon

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to see that you have returned to the hotel for a fouth visit! We hope to see you again soon for a fifth!

When you return as the team to assist you with connecting to the Wifi we would be only too happy to help

With thanks

Clare Price
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chehster-leStreet
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We stay in IHG hotels on regular occasions but keep coming back to this one

Tastefully decorated, good food, comfortable, friendly staff, nice atmosphere and brilliant location are a few things that immediately spring to mind

We will be back

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank adrian-c15ccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Good Evening

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us some feedback. It is always good to read that our guests are enjoying the services we provide.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future

With thanks

Clare Price
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

wifi seems not 'working' properly even stated 'FREE' wifi.Cannot excess during my stay there.
the rest was good and excellent.
breakfast was good..my wife and i enjoy during our stay there.
quite far from city centre but there's Metrolink station (Media City) just 5 miniutes walk distance.
overall was good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muhamad N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Good Evening

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.

I was sorry to read you had some issue with our WIFI service, this is free to use by all our guests. If you do return to stay with us please ask one of the team who will be happy to assist you in making a connection.

I can see that the rest of your stay was very enjoyable and we look forward to seeing you again soon

With thanks

Clare Price
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights (Sat 17th to Mon 19th May) with my Mum for a girly weekend away to Manchester from Essex.

The hotel was easy to find and with an adjacent multi-story car park, it was perfect. Only a 2 minute walk from the car park was the entrance to the hotel. Spotlessly clean and fresh smelling, it was designed very modern and I was impressed.

Check in was quick and effiencent. The staff were fantastic and very helpful when it came to where to eat/visit etc. Our room was on the 8th floor, but the hotel has 3 lifts so you never have to wait for long.

The room was spacious, and perfect for our needs. Bed was comfortable and the decor and facilities were top notch. I have nothing bad to say about the room what so ever.

Breakfast was amazing. Didn't have to wait for breakfast, plenty of tables to choose from and a variety of foods to eat (Full Breakfast to continental) it was fantastic! Staff were constantly cleaning tables and plates and keeping the place neat and tidy.

Location was fantastic. Directly next door to the BBC and 5 minutes from ITV, as well as being just 2 minutes from the Tram station (£3 return per person from MediaCity to the city centre). Trams run every 12 minutes and are a great way to travel when in Manchester. There is a shopping centre, the Lowry theatre and bars/restaurants in the local area if you don't want to travel far.

Car parking in the multi-story next door cost us £14.00 for 48 hours when you get your car park ticket validated (much better than the £30 it did say to start with!)

Otherall, I have nothing bad to say about the hotel. We visited the Coronation Street Set on Monday 10 minutes drive away, but be careful when visiting, the NCP opposite the set is £12 for 4 hours! Ludicrus!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linzi03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Good Evening

Thank you so much for your kind review!

It is always great to hear from our guests and to see that each element of your stay not only met your expectations but exceeded them. I will certainly ensure that all the team see your comments.

We do hope that we will see you back again soon

With thanks

Clare Price
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, UK
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed here recently and have to say it is in a fantastic location! Me and my husband stayed over night as we were going to watch a concert in the nearby Lowry and have to say everything we wanted to do was in walking distance....including Old Trafford!

Lovely reception staff very friendly and helpful as were the bar staff. We didn't choose to eat in the note as their is plenty of choice on the Quays.

The room was clean, spacious and had everything we needed for a night away. Will definitely stay again in the future. There was quite a lot of building work going on at the site of the hotel which faced our room so it was a little noisy but nothing major.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Good Evening

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback

It is always nice to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us.

We do hope we will see you back soon and you can try out our new menu in the restaurant

With thanks and kind regards

Clare Price
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Colwyn, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Good quality Holiday Inn. Very clean fresh spacious rooms. Breakfast is good but very limited evening menu - fear not there is a Wagamama round the corner and a supermarket next door. Good place to celeb spot as frequented by BBC and ITV personalities - met many there over the last couple of years. However it's a way out of Manchester City Centre so best avoid for that purpose - it's a good £10 taxi fare each way.

Room Tip: Best rooms on top floor. But you don't book this hotel for its views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dylan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Good evening

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at Mediacity.

I will certainly pass your comments on to the team and we hope that we will see you again soon

With thanks and kind regards

Clare Price
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salford
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
0.7 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
0.7 mi away
Hotel Football Old Trafford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Salford Quays
2.1 mi away
The Lowry Hotel
The Lowry Hotel
#3 of 20 in Salford
2,527 reviews
0.7 mi away
AC Hotel Manchester Salford Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK

Property: Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK
Address: Media City, Salford M50 2EQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salford
#3 Business Hotel in Salford
#4 Luxury Hotel in Salford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Odigeo, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Manchester - Mediacityuk Hotel Salford
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK Salford, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing