We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK
Nearby Hotels
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$381
US$353
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$190
US$182
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Novotel Manchester West(Worsley)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Manchester Salford Quays(Salford)(Great Value!)
US$72
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$96
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,196)
Filter reviews
1,196 results
Traveller rating
594
425
106
42
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
594
425
106
42
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmedia citythe marco pierre white restaurantold traffordbooths supermarketcity centremezzanine floormulti storeybbc studiosexecutive roomcar parkthe imperial war museumtram stoplowry theatremini barreduced ratemodern hotelbusiness trip
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
653 - 658 of 1,196 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed here for three nights on business, then extended my stay for an extra night so I could see friends in Manchester the next day. In doing that, discovered room only is great value, but breakfast costs the best part of £15. If you're spending your own money, you don't need to pay that - there are several food places seconds away which will give you an almost identical breakfast for about half the price.

Room itself was great, big and well-equipped with a good desk. One of the best Holiday Inns I've stayed in. All the staff were brilliant - friendly and helpful. I walk with a stick and they all spontaneously offered to help without being patronising, a combination which is very rare.

My complaint is that the bath was really short. I always use a bath rather than a shower and am used to them being quite small in hotel rooms. But I am 5'6 and was struggling to lie flat, which is a bit silly. I had a twin room for single occupancy and, for the first two nights, thought I only had one big bath towel and a tiny hand towel. Subsequently find another big towel in the wardrobe.

I used the laundry service, it was great. I ate in the bar a couple of times when I had been working late and the food was pretty average and pretty expensive for what you got. Service was great though. £3 for a small bottle of sparkling water from the minibar does seem quite excessive, even at hotel prices. There is a deli type place next door which sells sparkling water for 60p. I recommend stocking up!

But overall the rooms were lovely, the staff were lovely, and the service was great.

Room Tip: If you think you're short of towels, look in the wardrobe: the spare ones are in there...!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wilma1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Wilma1977,

Thank you for the positive feedback regarding the staff and service you received following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK.

I will investigate the points you have made regarding both the bath in your room and food service.

Once again thank you for the comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future

Kind regards

Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

What a great hotel... Staff members were very friendly, we had a clean and quiet room with a beautiful view, beds were comfortable, the hotel is in a great location, and they serve a brilliant breakfast... What else do you need?
For £95 a night you get a lot more than what you paid for!
Can't wait to come back here.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank TravelReviewer1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Eladamir1984,

Thank you for your great comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind regards

Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Very nice hotel, good location, all staff incredibly friendly and polite. Rooms spacious, lovely big bed and very very clean and well equipped. Little bit disappointed that we had booked an executive room that was meant to be equipped with Robes and slippers, which were not supplied and we had to ask for them, only to find they did not have any slippers.

Food in the bar expensive and only average, but don't worry, head right when out of the hotel and on the quays there are a few pubs and restaurant to choose from.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Stephen C,

Thank you for your great comments.

Apologises about the executive rooms, I will pass your comments onto our housekeeping department.

Kind regards

Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

After reading the reviews i decided to stay here.

Parking is easy and next door and £7.50 per 24 hours which is half price. Check in was quick. Had a room on the top floor (16th) which had a nice view. All modern and tea/coffee facilities. Used the bar with had tv's. Booths is next door which is like a waitrose for snacks etc. Breakfast on the Mezz floor was excellent and ordered scrammed eggs.

Was a 15 min drive from Manchester city centre. All in All 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Foxholes26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Foxholes26,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind regards

Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We booked this hotel last minute having been extremely disappointed with The Palace in the city centre. As it was a late booking (6pm), we had to have a disabled access room but apart from the bathroom, this was fine. The bathroom was completely fine, the shower was low down, but we managed. The room was very clean and fresh, decor was not shabby or worn and the option of firm or soft pillows was great for us. The children had to sleep on a folded out sofa bed and to nbe honest this was poor, it sagged in the middle so the children spent the night niggling at each other about the 'roll together' but the main double bed was perfectly fine. Breakfast was very good, staff were pleasant and friendly and it seemed very well organised, the variety was very good. The food in the restaurant at night was not good in our opinion, everything was extremely salty, so, if you do stay here, maybe go out to the Lowry Outlet to eat instead.
Overall, a very good substitute for the four star in the city centre and definitely much cleaner and more modern.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2bigunsplus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

2bigunsplus2,

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay.

I will pass your comments onto housekeeping with reference to the sofa bed and ensure this is checked.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind regards

Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews