We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for visiting the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great base for visiting the city”
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Stayed as we were at the MEN arena for a concert, found it excellent, we had a twin room, the beds were a great size, good, filling, lovely breakfast, staff were all friendly and helpful. Easy & cheap to get into the city using the tram.

Far nicer than staying in the city centre. Was lovely to eat breakfast looking over the quays and walk around watching the water sports.

My only criticism has been mentioned by others, I felt that there was a shortage of plug sockets and especially surprising that there was no plug socket by the mirror so you could not use your straighteners and the mirror together. I found this unusual we stayed in HIExpress in Stoke this week too and the twin room there had 3/4 more sockets and one of these was by the mirror, which every girl knows is essential!

That aside I really enjoyed the hotel and will stay again next time I am in Manchester.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tenerife106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edwarddavies, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, 9 July 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,

we would like to thank you for your review and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here.
In regards to the plug sockets, this is something we are looking into at the moment, meanwhile if you do ask at reception a member of staff will be happy to provide you with an extension lead.

Once again we would like to thank you for your review.

Kind Regards

Edward Davies
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    473
    172
    38
    33
See reviews for
247
322
58
244
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
213 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

First time in Manchester, so no real idea of how it was laid out. I wanted to see Old Trafford and the Lowry, so this hotel made the most sense, but it turned out was far away from any of the other 'chester sights. As I only had 1 full day, I pretty much stayed local to the hotel and had myself a time.

Local area was quiet enough at night and there's a nice little restaurant across the way. The pub in the hotel seemed like a bit of a rip off, but I have nothing else in Manchester to compare it to, so I can't say for sure.

If your target is Old Trafford or the Lowry or you're looking for somewhere quieter than the city centre, I'd recommend it, but it's quite dull around the area, particularly after around 7pm at night.

Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank psychokilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edwarddavies, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, 9 July 2011
Dear Sir/madam,

we would like to thank you for your above posted review,
as mentioned we are close to Old Trafford and the Lowry Theatre and Art galleries, although if you do want to go into manchester it is about 15 minutes away either by taxi or using the local metrolink service which runs regularly throughout the day.
In regards to our bar prices these are quite cometitive against local hotels in the area.

Kind Regards

Edward Davies
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Stayed on a Saturday night with my partner. Good location about 5 mins walk from The Lowry. Check in no problem, nice clean, simple but reasonably spacious room. Didn't spend much time in the room as we were out in Manchester centre that evening (about £10 in a cab).

Helpful staff, quiet location and we had good views over the quays with people doing various sports on the Sunday morning. Breakfast simple but nice. They could do with reorganising the layout though as plates, butter, knives, toast etc seemed to be in the wrong place and I kept falling over other people! Simple but tasty and included in price. We got a non-refundable rate booked about 6 weeks ahead so worth every penny at £52!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannahcem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edwarddavies, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, 4 July 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,

We would like to thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here.

In regards to the breakfast, there has been a few amendments to our breakfast offering to now include extra items, and we are still working on finding the perfect flow.

Thank you for feeding this back to us as only with your feedback can we strive to make things better.

Kind Regards

Edward Davies
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2011

We stayed for 1 night in June when we saw Kings of Leon at Old Trafford cricket ground.The hotel staff were friendly on arrival and a detailed map to the ground was offered to us which was helpful.The map stated that the walk would take us 26minutes and it was spot on! Our room was ideal for the amount of time we stayed,big tv with ample channels and as clean as you expect. After reading other reviews we chose to eat at the Beefeater next to the hotel which was a mistake.The food was basic to say the least,i had sirloin steak with chips and coleslaw,nothing more! Back to the hotel.If you are going to the cricket or football ground i would recommend this place,however we booked months in advance and paid £69 for our room which was about right.

Room Tip: Our room was 615 overlooking part of the quays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bowsti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edwarddavies, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, 27 June 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,

We would like to thank you for your review posted above.

As mentioned we are conveniently located for accessing Old Trafford and Lancashire County Cricket Club.

We are pleased to hear that everything was ok with you stay here.

Kind Regards


Edward Davies
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Chose this hotel because of its close proximity to Old Trafford (15-20 mins walk). Plus I'm always confident of HIE.

Hotel is close to Metrolink which is just 5-7 mins by feet. Lowry outlet mall which is just opposite the Quay offers good shopping opportunity to pick up good buys from Marks & Spencer.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dragco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edwarddavies, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, 27 June 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,

we would like to thank you for your comments posted above, and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here.
We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime.

Kind Regards

Edward Davies
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed here for one night to attend a music event in Manchester. We regularly stay in Holiday Inns, Premier Inns, etc so have experiences to which we can fairly compare our stay at the Holiday Inn Express, Salford Quays.

Overall we were pretty disappointed with our stay. The bed was tiny (we're not big people!), as was the quilt. It was also very uncomfortable. There was no socket anywhere near the mirror for my girlfriend's hair dryer/straightners. The prices in the bar were very expensive and the beer was horrible.

The only plus point about this hotel is the free onsite parking. I wouldn't stay here again. I'd stay in one of the many competitor hotels that are nearby.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P0rl_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edwarddavies, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, 27 June 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,

we would like to thank you for your review of your stay here, and are sorry to hear that not everything met with your expectations.
In Regards to our beds these are standard double beds, which are a company standard for Holiday Inn Express Hotels.
Our bar prices are quite competitive in regards to some of the other hotels in a local area, and as in any other hotel our prices do seem a little more expensive than you would spend at the local pub.
Once again i would like to thank you for your feedback and to let you know that this information has been taken on board.

Kind Regards

Edward Davies
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Stayed for 2 nights to go and see Take That. Room was clean and the beds comfy. Breakfast was ok rather than fantastic, we got a good room rate so overall very good value for money - would not have thought so if had to pay over £100 a night,
Will keep it in mind for future visits to Manchester, and will no doubt stay again if the price is right.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lancashirelass012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edwarddavies, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, 27 June 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,

we would like to thank you for your review of our hotel, as only with your feedback can we strive for improvements.
You will always find the best rates available by booking direct, with us offering advance purchase rates which you wont find anywhere else.

Kind Regards

Edward Davies
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salford
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK
0.3 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Salford Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Football Old Trafford
0.2 mi away
AC Hotel Manchester Salford Quays
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays

Property: Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
Address: Waterfront Quay | Salford Quays, Salford M50 3XW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Manchester Salford Quays hotel. This Manchester hotel is located in thriving Salford Quays, surrounded by the water & history of the Manchester Ship Canal & within 1 mile of Manchester United Football Club (Old Trafford), the Lowry Theatre & the Imperial War Museum. This superb location ensures that Holiday Inn Express Manchester Salford Quays is the perfect choice whether travelling on business or pleasure. Manchester city centre is easily accessible and offers a wealth of entertainment venues and shopping including the MEN Arena and Printworks. Our hotel in Manchester is designed to provide consistent value for money & our rates are inclusive of free continental and hot breakfast which is served in the comfort of our Great Room lounge where you can also enjoy free WiFi. In addition, guests also benefit from secure car parking (local charge applies £4.00 per night/per car). Our newly refurbished, air conditioned guestrooms can accommodate up to 2 adults & 2 children & feature en suite power shower, satellite TV, free Wi-Fi, & tea/coffee facilities. Additional facilities include a fully licensed bar, meeting facilities & a 24-hour reception. Wi-Fi is free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays Hotel Manchester
Holiday Inn Manchester
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing