We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but that's about it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good location but that's about it”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Good location right on Quays. Free parking. Free breakfast (which was pretty poor, but can't grumble really)
Hotel is 10 mins walk from Imperial War Museum North which is a fantastic place for a trip. Hotel convenient for Lowry centre too, which is a kind of outlet centre with a few chain restaurants. Close to Old Trafford and short drive into city centre. I paid under £55 for double room which was reasonable, but room was close to lifts and there was constant noise from loud drunken groups of revellers coming and going. This may just have been bad luck but as it was a weekend outside of football season and a non city centre location I wouldn't have expected this kind of problem and it would put me off returning.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yeslin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edwarddavies, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, 4 August 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,
We would like to thank you for your above posted review.

We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay here.
There are extremely rare occasions when guests do come back to the hotel and make noise, we do regular floor walks to keep this problem to a minimum, unfortunately as our staff can not be upstairs all the time like on this occasion the noise was obviously missed.

We apologise for any inconvenience this made on your stay and would like to guarantee that this is an extremely rare occurrence.

Kind Regards

Edward Davies
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    473
    172
    38
    33
See reviews for
247
322
58
244
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

The visit started badly as the adjoining multistorey car park is badly signed. Once I managed to work out how to get to the hotel however, things picked up.
Reception was clean and the staff were geniunely friendly and efficient.
The room was immaculate with a stunning bathroom, quiet (buf efficient) air conditioning, a flat screen TV with built in digital recorder (think Sky+) and a mini-bar.
The shower was phenomenal and the room was quiet.
I had dinner in the restaurant and the food and wine were both outstanding. Service was helpful but unfussy and the staff knew the menu well.
Breakfast the following morning was a huge, well stocked buffet affair with top quality produce.
Easily the best Holiday Inn I have stayed at and indeed, one of the very best hotels that I've stayed in for a long time. Recommended!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank latchy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, West Midlands
Level Contributor
75 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We got a great deal for our stay.
Metrolink station right by hotel and short walk to Salford Quays and bars/shops/Media City

Continental breakfast great value

Our first room reaked of cigarettes (whole hotel non-smoking) the Receptionist was very apologetic and switched us to another room straight away.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chessykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edwarddavies, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, 4 August 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,

we thank you for your above posted review. We are pleased to hear that everything was ok with your stay and that our team were helpful in dissolving the first situation you had.
We do operate a fully non smoking hotel, and guests who do smoke within their rooms do receive a fine.

We are proud of our location and closeness to local tourist attractions

Once again thank you for your above posted review.

Kind Regards

Edward Davies
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2011

I travelled with my husband and 17 year old daughter as we had a couple of days off work and fancied a trip away somewhere. I had read other reviews on tripadvisor and room 207 did not get a good review, we had room 209 which was tiny you could hardly walk round the room especially with the sofa bed set up. I dread to think what the CSI team would have made of the stains on the floor and the chair. However the bathroom was clean and the bedlinen appeared to be (although I didn't really want to investigate that closely). We have stayed at other holiday inns and the rooms have been of a much better standard with a bit more space. On the plus side the location is good, nice and quite and a short metro ride to the city centre, there was free parking and the breakfast was nice considering it was free.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMcQ77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edwarddavies, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, 4 August 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay here, and that your room was not to an acceptable standard.
Our rooms are cleaned every day and we do have a regular carpet cleaning schedule throughout the entire hotel to keep our carpets to an acceptable standard.
We hope that you may consider using us again so we can show you that we do consistently try to achieve high standards.

Kind Regards

Edward Davies
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2011

My husband booked this as a last minute break for us & our 2 kids (boy 8, girl 13) as I had a spare saturday off work. The location was perfect within easy walking distance of the Imperial War Museum (for boy) & Salford Quays outlet ( for girl).

The room wasn't overly big but was clean and the beds were comfortable.

An added bonus was the breakfast that is included in the Holiday Inn Express

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moomin72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edwarddavies, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, 24 July 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,

We would like to thank you for your review posted above.

We are pleased that you found our location really useful in regards to visiting some of the local tourist attractions.

As mentioned our complimentary express buffet breakfast is a great way to start the day at no extra cost.

Kind Regards

Edward Davies
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Stayed here with my husband and 2 children 10 and 13. Great location for Old trafford, Imperial War Museum and Lowry Gallery all within walking distance. Lovely location on waterfront so nice to sit outside for a drink and watch the local watersports activities in the canal.
Room was great big flatscreen TV and comfortable pull out bed for the kids - very clean and tidy ( well done to the housekeeping for making such a great job around all our luggage!).

Staff were very friendly despite being under a lot of pressure at the breakfast rush!
Breakfast was very good with a good variety of foods and the staff were good at keeping things moving ( including some Chinese students who had taken camp in the breakfast room).

Definately be back and would recommend to others

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HAHA-TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edwarddavies, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, 24 July 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,


We are pleased to hear that everything during your stay met with your expectations, your feedback has been fed back to both our reception and housekeeping teams.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Edward Davies
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Not only in a perfect location but in a nice setting too - right at the heart of the quays which is a lovely area within walking distance of The Lowry, Imperial War Museum and BBC plus shops and restaurants. Enjoyed our breakfasts on the hotel terrace right next to the water and watersports centre and our room had a stunning view over the quays.

Room itself was comfy and nicely designed (loved the clever loo door) except for the lack of plug sockets! It meant we had to put the kettle on the floor to use it.

Really friendly and approachable blokes on reception and reassuring to know that they were there 24 hrs. Our keys didn't work several times but the fact that they were so helpful didn't make it that much of a hassle - likewise providing ice from the bar because the ice machine had broken. Generally information provided everywhere and in the room made staying there very easy.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riponrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edwarddavies, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, 17 July 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,

We would like to thank you for your above posted review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Edward Davies
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salford
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK
0.3 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Salford Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Football Old Trafford
0.2 mi away
AC Hotel Manchester Salford Quays
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays

Property: Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
Address: Waterfront Quay | Salford Quays, Salford M50 3XW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Manchester Salford Quays hotel. This Manchester hotel is located in thriving Salford Quays, surrounded by the water & history of the Manchester Ship Canal & within 1 mile of Manchester United Football Club (Old Trafford), the Lowry Theatre & the Imperial War Museum. This superb location ensures that Holiday Inn Express Manchester Salford Quays is the perfect choice whether travelling on business or pleasure. Manchester city centre is easily accessible and offers a wealth of entertainment venues and shopping including the MEN Arena and Printworks. Our hotel in Manchester is designed to provide consistent value for money & our rates are inclusive of free continental and hot breakfast which is served in the comfort of our Great Room lounge where you can also enjoy free WiFi. In addition, guests also benefit from secure car parking (local charge applies £4.00 per night/per car). Our newly refurbished, air conditioned guestrooms can accommodate up to 2 adults & 2 children & feature en suite power shower, satellite TV, free Wi-Fi, & tea/coffee facilities. Additional facilities include a fully licensed bar, meeting facilities & a 24-hour reception. Wi-Fi is free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays Hotel Manchester
Holiday Inn Manchester
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing