We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel for a short business trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good hotel for a short business trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

Exactly what you would expect, only negatives were a scarily noisy lift and no on site evening food service

The Lowry Centre is a short walk and there are restaurants there though

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobWhitney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edwarddavies, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, 11 September 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,

we thank you for your feedback and hope the following will advise you that we do take customer feedback on board to help improve our service to yourself.

Our maintenance department is currently looking into options to try and lessen the sound of the lifts.
In regards to the restaurants, even though we do not have one on site, as mentioned there is a wide variety all within a couple minutes walk of the hotel. As a guest at our hotel some of the local restaurants do offer a discount on your final bill.

Kind Regards

Edward Davies
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    464
    171
    38
    32
See reviews for
240
312
58
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights and found the staff very pleasant, the rooms great and had everything i needed.
No room service but its an express so to be expected.
Free wifi in the room downstairs, but chargeable in the rooms at £9.95 for 24 hours.
I dont understand this as some holiday inn expresses have free wifi and others dont?
Overall a good stay in a great location and would definately return.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppy2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edwarddavies, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, 11 September 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,

We would like to thank you for your above posted review.
We are pleased to hear everythign was ok with your stay, as mentioned even though we charge for our WiFi services in the bedrooms you can get free access in our bar and Great Room.

Kind Regards

Edward Davies
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
253 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

First impression upon entering the hotel was clean modern and fresh. Check in even though it was busy was quick and friendly.
The room was very clean and had everything you could want.
The setting of the hotel in the Quays was great , you could sit on the terrace having a drink watching all the water sports going on.
Breakafast had plenty of choice and tasty aswell.
We arrived on the tram which is only a five minute walk to the hotel, plenty of parking though if you were to drive here

Room Tip: If possible ask for a high room to the rear facing the Quays so you can view the water activities
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KEVCO36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edwarddavies, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, 7 September 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,

We would like to thank you for your above posted review, we are pleased to hear that everything was ok with your stay and that all areas met with your satisfaction.

Kind Regards

Edward Davies
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ballyclare
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

friendly staff clean rooms good location free car parking

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cathy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edwarddavies, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, 31 August 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,

We would like to thank you for your above posted review, we are pleased to hear that everything was ok with your stay.

Kind Regards

Edward Davies
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
381 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

I stayed here to catch a football (soccer) match at Old Trafford. The stadium is a 15-20 minute, fairly pleasant walk round the quay and can be seen from part of the hotel.

I have stayed here before but not for some years. My room (no. 105) had the air conditioning equipment for the hotel immediately outside my window and it made for a fairly noisy night. To be fair, on reporting this the next morning the receptionist immediately moved me to a room on the 6th floor where noise was no longer an issue.

The amenities in the room were fine and breakfast was very pleasant looking out over the Quayside. As well as Old Trafford, the Lowry Arts Centre, Lowry Outlet Mall and Imperial War Museum North are all within walking distance. The hotel is on a quiet street of offices with Salford Quays tram station plus several restaurants and a convenience store are at the top of the road.

Recommended overall.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor with odd numbers are likely to suffer most with noise from the air conditio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelfromessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edwarddavies, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,

We would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your stay, we are sorry to hear that your first night was disturbed, but as mentioned if you do contact the front desk team they will try all in their power to make your stay more enjoyable.

Kind Regards

Edward Davies
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

We always use holiday inn express where possible for our one night trips away (2 adults and 2 kids). This one is up to usual high standard and free parking a bonus. Easy travel into the centre on the metro.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank timbonew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edwarddavies, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,

We would like to thank you for your review posted above.

We are pleased to hear that everything met with your expectations during your stay, As mentioned we do have a complimentary car park, and are one of the few hotels remaining in Salford Quays to offer this.

Kind Regards

Edward Davies
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Good location right on Quays. Free parking. Free breakfast (which was pretty poor, but can't grumble really)
Hotel is 10 mins walk from Imperial War Museum North which is a fantastic place for a trip. Hotel convenient for Lowry centre too, which is a kind of outlet centre with a few chain restaurants. Close to Old Trafford and short drive into city centre. I paid under £55 for double room which was reasonable, but room was close to lifts and there was constant noise from loud drunken groups of revellers coming and going. This may just have been bad luck but as it was a weekend outside of football season and a non city centre location I wouldn't have expected this kind of problem and it would put me off returning.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yeslin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edwarddavies, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, 4 August 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,
We would like to thank you for your above posted review.

We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay here.
There are extremely rare occasions when guests do come back to the hotel and make noise, we do regular floor walks to keep this problem to a minimum, unfortunately as our staff can not be upstairs all the time like on this occasion the noise was obviously missed.

We apologise for any inconvenience this made on your stay and would like to guarantee that this is an extremely rare occurrence.

Kind Regards

Edward Davies
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salford
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Salford Quays Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK
0.2 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
AC Hotel Manchester Salford Quays
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Manchester
0.4 mi away
Hotel Football Old Trafford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays

Property: Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
Address: Waterfront Quay | Salford Quays, Salford M50 3XW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Manchester Salford Quays hotel. This Manchester hotel is located in thriving Salford Quays, surrounded by the water & history of the Manchester Ship Canal & within 1 mile of Manchester United Football Club (Old Trafford), the Lowry Theatre & the Imperial War Museum. This superb location ensures that Holiday Inn Express Manchester Salford Quays is the perfect choice whether travelling on business or pleasure. Manchester city centre is easily accessible and offers a wealth of entertainment venues and shopping including the MEN Arena and Printworks. Our hotel in Manchester is designed to provide consistent value for money & our rates are inclusive of free continental and hot breakfast which is served in the comfort of our Great Room lounge where you can also enjoy free WiFi. In addition, guests also benefit from secure car parking (local charge applies £4.00 per night/per car). Our newly refurbished, air conditioned guestrooms can accommodate up to 2 adults & 2 children & feature en suite power shower, satellite TV, free Wi-Fi, & tea/coffee facilities. Additional facilities include a fully licensed bar, meeting facilities & a 24-hour reception. Wi-Fi is free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays Hotel Manchester
Holiday Inn Manchester
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing