We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,184)
Filter reviews
1,184 results
Traveller rating
395
525
188
39
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
395
525
188
39
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold traffordbeansmedia cityhi expressthe sofa bedice machinefree breakfastcity centreself servicethe lowry outlet malltram stopminute walkcar parkthe imperial war museumhotel is situatedyogurtman utd
Filter
Updating list...
720 - 725 of 1,184 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Let's start with the good news: the beds are good quality and decent size, the rooms are a fairly decent size and the staff was friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, that's where it ends. The hotel advertises 'free hot breakfast', in which the 'hot' is scrambled eggs and sausages, both of extremely poor quality. Fruit was not ripe, the only bread available was toast, and the sliced fruit was so obviously canned, it had no flavour at all. The shower was a miserable trickle of water, half the time it was cold in the morning. For most of my stay, one of the two elevators was out of order, without any clear notice. The hotel is located in a quiet region of Salford Quays, which makes the middle-of-the-night garbage truck extremely audible, even with the window closed. The AC-unit had a life of its own, switching on at sub-tropical temperatures at random times.
In summary: for a single night, it is not a bad deal and everything you can expect from a budget hotel. For longer stays I would definitely not recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IlseAstro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Salford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear IlseAstro,
Thank you for taking the time to review us, we take all comments on board and value the chance to make improvements where possible. Any feedback is welcome whether it be good or bad, as it assists us in our never-ending task to better ourselves and improve the service that we provide to our customers.

I am disappointed to read some of the points that you had raised, regarding breakfast, your shower and the early morning bin collection. I would like to reassure you that I will be investigating all the issues that you raised, and I will personally speak with the necessary departments to ensure that we improve our service for all our guests.

Many Thanks

David
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Clean and Tidy. Quiet. Wifi worked well and although breakfast did not have a wide range what was there was good. Good coffee out of the machines as well which was a surprise as it can be a little hit and miss. Bar a little expensive but where else will you get a beer at 2am. Staff very polite and helpful too. Will stay again

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank ak433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This is a standard Holiday Inn Express so you know what you are going to get: good value; reasonably sized but basis room; limited amenities and limited meal options. However, what sets this apart are the staff and the location at Salford Quays. The Check In staff give a warm welcome and good advice on where to eat outside the hotel. The location is great for Media City, Old Trafford the Lowry Centre and easy access the tram network. Many of the rooms give a great view over the quays.
Only downsides were a charge for parking and signs of wear and tear.
Overall a good value hotel if you need to be in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Clean, convenient for the Lowry Centre and for trams in to Manchester. Air conditioning, free Wifi & basic breakfast appreciated, free parking would have been a bonus but it's not all that much compared to other hotels. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank frotterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed here at the end of September, great location and close to the tram station. There is a Frankie and Bennys close by with a Mexican restaurant and hungry horse pub too.

The room was comfortable and I had a lovely view. There is ample parking as well and the staff were very helpful with a few issues I had.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews