We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent sleep, but breakfast quality has declined”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Certificate of Excellence
Barnstoneworth
Level Contributor
99 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent sleep, but breakfast quality has declined”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

For the price and location you can't really complain, but, since our last visit, the quality of the scrambled egg available at breakfast has deteriorated from pleasantly moist and mobile to dry and solid. They also need to look at the juice machine, as the liquid coming out of it was undrinkable. However, all staff we encountered - front desk, breakfast team & room maids - were more than helpful, friendly and polite.
I also had one of the best sleeps I have ever experienced in a Holiday Inn Express - excellent mattress and comfortable sheets.
Will no doubt return, and hope breakfast quality has improved.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricOttershaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    470
    172
    38
    33
See reviews for
244
320
58
244
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

If you've ever been to a Holiday Inn Express before - you'll know exactly what to expect here! As much scrambled egg and sausage as you can stomach and a delightfully clean en-suite room to boot. We used it mainly as a base to visit the Old Trafford Museum, as well as the Lowry and Velodrome for the Track Cycling World Cup.

Reception staff were always helpful and polite. Bar tariff reasonable for a hotel!

Tip: Make sure you check the Metrolink before you go - we didn't and there was engineering works all weekend so we had to work around that!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We recently stayed at this Holiday Inn for one night with my U.S. in-laws whom we had brought over to get a taste of the atmosphere at Old Trafford.

The only hiccup was when we arrived at 8 am after having taken the overnight ferry from Belfast to Liverpool and had to wait over five hours before we could check in. I completely understand that check-in is not normally until 2pm but I had called the hotel beforehand and they had promised they would do their best to accommodate us and hopefully provide us with at least one room so we could all take a shower and get a little bit of rest after spending the night on a rough ferry crossing. In the event, no room appeared to be available until after 1 pm.

In the hotel's defence, however, I must state that staff tried to be as accommodating as possible allowing us to help ourselves at the breakfast buffet and providing us with a free Wifi password while we were waiting. Once we got our room keys we were delighted to find that we had been put into adjacent rooms on the top floor with lovely views of Old Trafford. The rooms were perfectly adequate and clean and once we had had the badly craved shower, life was a better place again! We did not hear any other guests during our stay and got a good night's sleep.

The hotel is in a great location and in walking distance to the Lowry theatre, outlet mall, Media City and, of course, the "Theatre of Dreams"! The breakfast buffet was fine and well stocked. When checking out the next day, I wanted to pay for our parking space but was told that the fee would be waived as we had been so patient waiting for our rooms when we arrived. The gesture was appreciated and I would certainly consider staying at this hotel again when making our next match trip.

Room Tip: Even-numbered rooms look out onto Old Trafford, odd ones look over the Quays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2013

stopped at this hotel for work. initially, i did have a nightmare booking the room as it was to be paid via bacs and not credit card. rang COUNTLESS times regarding this, only to be told i hadnt paid for the room via my credit card. i knew this, thats why i was requesting a pro forma invoice. MANY TIMES!!! eventually, i spoke to samantha who was fantastic and sorted it all out in a matter of seconds! it just seemed hard at times to get through to someone that knew what they were doing,despite leaving messages with a promise of "they will get back to you" anyhow.....arrived there, a TOP TOP area. on the quays with some fantastic views. was on a business type park, so i could have parked my car anywhere along there without charge but decided id better put it on the hotel car park. AT THREE POUNDS PER NIGHT!!!!!! this was ridiculous. the middle of a business park,a resident at the hotel........i would expect arnold shwarzenegger to be protecting my car at night for that AND de-icing it in the morning before i got in it. room was the same as any holiday inn express........clever toilet door, signs on the pillows telling you which is which (although i have always thought..........if there needs to be a little tag telling one which is the firm pillow and which is the soft pillow, then there isnt that much difference clearly in the first place is there) air con was noisy, had a room that had an interesting lockable door, i presume made for families needing a link room. this door however, had a breeze blowing under it that was at a temperature that was unimaginable for the time of year. i can only assume that the room next door had been set up for a family of polar bears or they were using it to cryodessicate food because it cut me off at the legs. mains socket in the room was cracked and did not work. some kind of air con fan outside my window which was noisy.........BUT, had two single beds in room which was unusual as i normally end up with a double which-------I HAD THE BEST FEW NIGHTS SLEEP I HAVE EVER HAD IN!!!!! unreal how comfortable i was, superb. the girl that checked me in was superb,hotel was clean as a whistle. had dinner in nearby beefeater which was also top.

Room Tip: first floor i had air con noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noddex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear noddex,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. Your comments are highly valuable and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Rest assured, your comments will be used for review and actions will be taken accordingly to ensure similar incidents could be avoided.

Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel at the last minute for a trip to Old Trafford,check-in was fast our room on the fourth floor was nice and clean especially the bathroom the room was adequate for the three of us my son is 14 and taller than me so was happy that the sofa bed was bigger than a single bed plenty of room.The staff at reception were very friendly and also we were in the lift with a maid and she told us to have a nice day which was nice.It makes such a difference going to a place that has good customer service.The hotel was in easy walking distance to watch the Man u match its a nice walk around the quays.The beds were comfortable and it was very quiet in the hotel through the night so we had a decent sleep.The breakfast was good and there was plenty choice of things to eat.I would definitely stop here again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ctmod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here at the beginning of November , used this as a base to go to the football, also go to Trafford centre and war museum . Rooms, breakfast and service all of a very good standard. The room was small but did it's job and was always very clean. The breakfast was good and there was plenty of it. Overall a good stay and would return.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidayjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The overall impression here is missed opportunity. The hotel is in an ideal location and the rooms themselves are clean, well equipped and have great views across Salford Quays.

There are though a few problems that move the rating down from the 'very good' to 'average'.

Check in was smooth but the receptionist was not exactly welcoming, mumbling and looking less than happy to be there. The room was, as stated, well maintained and furnished but on returning in the evening the key had stopped working in the room. On returning to reception was informed there is an ongoing issue.
Breakfast on the first morning was pleasant, with a good choice of items. The second morning though, and two hours later it was the polar opposite - a filthy dining room and the buffet looking like a war zone. One member of staff was running round manically trying to restock items and plates but there were beans, egg and hot chocolate covering every surface. The food was running out and what was there was of poor quality. When mentioned at check out was given a cursory apology that the normal assistant wasn't available.
The hotel offers complimentary WiFi but the speed is dependent on the number of guests logged in and was consequently often unusable during the stay.
Minor points but this isn't the cheapest of the Holiday Inn Express estate and these issues could easily be addressed,

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear have a view over Salford Quays
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Skywalker3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Salford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Skywalker3
I would like to thank you for bringing to my attention your feedback from your recent stay with us.

I was disappointed to read that you found the check in unwelcoming and that our Breakfast service on the second morning was of a poor standard.

I will certainly share your feedback with the rest of the team as we always look to improve the level of service that we provide.

Many Thanks
David
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salford
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK
0.3 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Salford Quays Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
AC Hotel Manchester Salford Quays
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Manchester
0.4 mi away
Hotel Football Old Trafford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays

Property: Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
Address: Waterfront Quay | Salford Quays, Salford M50 3XW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Manchester Salford Quays hotel. This Manchester hotel is located in thriving Salford Quays, surrounded by the water & history of the Manchester Ship Canal & within 1 mile of Manchester United Football Club (Old Trafford), the Lowry Theatre & the Imperial War Museum. This superb location ensures that Holiday Inn Express Manchester Salford Quays is the perfect choice whether travelling on business or pleasure. Manchester city centre is easily accessible and offers a wealth of entertainment venues and shopping including the MEN Arena and Printworks. Our hotel in Manchester is designed to provide consistent value for money & our rates are inclusive of free continental and hot breakfast which is served in the comfort of our Great Room lounge where you can also enjoy free WiFi. In addition, guests also benefit from secure car parking (local charge applies £4.00 per night/per car). Our newly refurbished, air conditioned guestrooms can accommodate up to 2 adults & 2 children & feature en suite power shower, satellite TV, free Wi-Fi, & tea/coffee facilities. Additional facilities include a fully licensed bar, meeting facilities & a 24-hour reception. Wi-Fi is free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays Hotel Manchester
Holiday Inn Manchester
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing