We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
229 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Holiday Bin”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I really hate leaving bad reviews but on this occasion, I can't leave one that's other than bad.

I stayed checked in last Thursday for 3 nights, the Holiday Inn at MediaCityUK was fully booked and work booked me the next best thing. Unfortunately, it fell far short of what I expected of other HIE hotels.

The room was nice enough, very basic but I was happy with that. I was disappointed with the bathroom as it felt dirty but I didn't grumble and just cleaned it up a bit and it was ok. The bed however felt old and lumpy and had unsettled sleep on it and also the air con unit was noisy and emanated a very dry heat and air which blew down as I slept.

The breakfast itself was an absolute joke, the Friday morning was ok as I was running late and I just grabbed a slice of toast and left, but the Saturday was an absolute debacle. I have never seen so much orange juice spilt on the floor in my life, the floor was also sticky and it was a scene of chaos. There were no plates, so another customer asked for more plates. There were no glasses so I used a mug for juice as the one girl that was on duty was away looking for plates. When I went back to get a cup of tea, there were no mugs, so I had to ask the girl to get me a mug. When I went to get some breakfast, there was only bread left but no pastries like croissants. The cooked breakfast was a joke, there were sausages and scrambled eggs but the beans were empty so I waited for the beans to come out but by that time, the rest of my food was cold so I gave up. They then ran out of milk so another customer had to ask for some. It was such a disaster that I gave up and left. On Sunday morning, I woke up for breakfast and a horrible feeling of dread, so to save the hassle and chaos, myself and my colleague walked to Frankie and Bennies and paid for Breakfast, neither of us could handle the headache that was the day before.

Next time I'm up working in MediaCityUK, I'm going to recommend I'm not booked into the HIE, I think I rather stay in Manchester City Centre, or the Premier Inn nearby if I can't get in the HI. A colleague stayed at the Premier Inn and said it was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat_Orr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Salford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Kat_Orr
I would like to thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

I was disappointed to read that you did not have an enjoyable stay with us, and was particularly disappointed to read of your experience on Saturday morning’s breakfast. I would like to apologise for this and I will personally pass your feedback on to the team who were on that morning, so that we can look to improve our service.

I do hope that you give us the opportunity to welcome you again in the future, and I hope that if you were to stay with us again, you would notice some positive improvements.

Many Thanks

David
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    468
    172
    38
    33
See reviews for
243
316
58
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wallsend, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2013

For a hotel in the budget range this was excellent. Managed to park right outside and only £3 a night the parking was much cheaper than other hotels I had looked at. All the reception staff we spoke to were friendly and helpful. There was a bar, a vending area and a Starbucks machine which was a convenience although there are plenty places to eat within walking distance. the room was comfortable and the décor was "modern hotel" but stylish and most importantly clean.
breakfast was included in the price and was buffet style/self service. It was perfectly adequate, after all I didn't choose the hotel for the food!
We will be back.

Room Tip: We had a great view from the 5th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Stayed here as part of a small group and we had rooms on the 5th floor. On arriving I was delighted to be able to park so easily as this is not always case in City hotels. The next bit of good news was the Reception Desk where the young lady was pleasant, efficient and with a smile on her face really made you feel welcome. The room was spotless and well appointed with a view over the Manchester Ship Canal.

We had drinks in the bar and the service was OK. Checkout was painless and quick. There are restaurants nearby and it is a pleasant place to walk around first thing in the morning.

I do not eat a cooked breakfast and was quite happy with croissants, cheese and coffee. The only adverse comment I heard about the cooked breakfast was "No Bacon"

All in all a good stay and will stay again next time I am in Manchester.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liversedge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I stayed on 1 November and had a pleasant stay apart from expedia not booking us a room with a sofa bed so fortunately the hotel had a room for 4 so could accommodate on this occasion. Clean and functional and short walk to media city, the lowry and restaurants. The big problem now is that a number of weeks later I received a fine from a parking eye re parking there without paying. I really don't remember if I was asked to pay the £3 or not but I am sure if I had when I checked in I would have paid it. For this I have downgraded my score as its frustrating.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brickbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Salford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Brickbaby,

Thank you for sharing with us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Manchester Salford Quays.

I’m sorry to read that you had issues on check-in regarding the room setup, however I’m pleased that the team were able to rectify this issue and you highlighted the cleanliness of the room.

With regards to Car parking at the hotel, we do advertise parking charges on all our websites, to ensure that the guests are aware of this, when making they’re bookings, and we do also have numerous signs around the car park and on the reception desk and at the bar, asking all residents to register their cars to avoid car parking fines, and I will send you a private message so that we can investigate your car parking fine further.

Many Thanks

David
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalton in Furness
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

This was my first experience of a Holiday Inn Express after staying in many similar range/type hotels and to be honest, I was left a little disappointed.
The room comfort, cleanliness and sleep quality was excellent - no arguments there. Our room on the 4th floor had a view of Old Trafford and the Quays. We slept well, with the window open until inconsiderate noisy guest's, on the car park woke us. With the window closed, we never heard another sound.
Check in was a little slow, but not the fault of the Receptionist's, it seemed to be the system that was slow.
It was little things that let this hotel down - poor quality cutlery at breakfast like a works canteen, the cheapest toilet paper in bathroom, UHT milk that curdled when added to tea. And then 'complementary' breakfast? I don't call it 'complimentary' when I've paid £110 for the room for the night and an extra £3 for the car park? Breakfast - just not for me! The usual cold selection plus a hot choice of scrambled egg, beans and sausage - and only average.
Good location, decent sleep quality - just a few tweaks and the whole experience could have been so much better and worth the price we paid!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyG0lfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Salford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear LadyG0lfer,

I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Manchester Salford Quays.

I was disappointed to read about the comments which you raised and I would like to thank you for raising providing us with your feedback, and will certainly look into these matters further.

I was pleased to read that you found your room to be both clean and comfortable and I hope that should you return to the Manchester area, you do not hesitate in staying with us again.

Many Thanks

David
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypool, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Stayed here on Monday.clean,modern and friendly.and very well located for the tv studios, which was the reason for our trip,as my step father was filming for countdown again.the hotel is next to the Lowry shopping outlet which was very nice.would definitely use and recommend this hotel :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstoneworth
Level Contributor
91 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

For the price and location you can't really complain, but, since our last visit, the quality of the scrambled egg available at breakfast has deteriorated from pleasantly moist and mobile to dry and solid. They also need to look at the juice machine, as the liquid coming out of it was undrinkable. However, all staff we encountered - front desk, breakfast team & room maids - were more than helpful, friendly and polite.
I also had one of the best sleeps I have ever experienced in a Holiday Inn Express - excellent mattress and comfortable sheets.
Will no doubt return, and hope breakfast quality has improved.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricOttershaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salford hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK
0.3 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Salford Quays Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Salford Quays
0.2 mi away
AC Hotel Manchester Salford Quays
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays

Property: Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
Address: Waterfront Quay | Salford Quays, Salford M50 3XW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Manchester Salford Quays hotel. This Manchester hotel is located in thriving Salford Quays, surrounded by the water & history of the Manchester Ship Canal & within 1 mile of Manchester United Football Club (Old Trafford), the Lowry Theatre & the Imperial War Museum. This superb location ensures that Holiday Inn Express Manchester Salford Quays is the perfect choice whether travelling on business or pleasure. Manchester city centre is easily accessible and offers a wealth of entertainment venues and shopping including the MEN Arena and Printworks. Our hotel in Manchester is designed to provide consistent value for money & our rates are inclusive of free continental and hot breakfast which is served in the comfort of our Great Room lounge where you can also enjoy free WiFi. In addition, guests also benefit from secure car parking (local charge applies £4.00 per night/per car). Our newly refurbished, air conditioned guestrooms can accommodate up to 2 adults & 2 children & feature en suite power shower, satellite TV, free Wi-Fi, & tea/coffee facilities. Additional facilities include a fully licensed bar, meeting facilities & a 24-hour reception. Wi-Fi is free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays Hotel Manchester
Holiday Inn Manchester
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing