We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Certificate of Excellence
London England
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Reasonable value”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This HI Express is fairly standard. The most striking feature was the noise of the lift. It gave the impression of an an unsmooth ride thought in fact it wasn't. The life doors were rather slow to open and close.

The wifi was also rather slow but it was included in the room charge. It was a bit annoying to be asked to enter not just a code number but my name and address each time I logged on.

The room was fairly basic. No drawers or cupboards, just open shelves. But there was a sofa bed as well as a cushioned chair for comfortable sitting.

Teabags are in a sealed packet and I had a little difficulty breaking in without a sharp implement!

The selection of Freeview TV channels was not bad. Power sockets were few and not ideally located.

The bathroom was fine for the price but do not expect a really hot shower!

When my alarm failed on the first morning I was saved by the noise of a truck unloading outside in the car park! But it was after 8 and there was no too much noise generally. The heater/cooler is positioned just to the side and above the bed. So you may want to ensure that the fan is off when you are sleeping.

In all reasonable value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donal O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Salford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Johnpratt,

Thank you for sharing with us, your review of when you stayed with us in December 2013.

I was disappointed to read some of your comments, but will certainly take the points you have raised on board, and I will personally look into how these can be rectified going forward.

I was pleased to see that you had scored us highly on our Location, Cleanliness and Service.

I hope that should you return to the area, you look to stay with us once more.

Many Thanks

David
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    478
    173
    38
    33
See reviews for
251
324
58
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knutsford, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed here for News Years Eve, having been invited to a party just around the corner in Merchants Quay.

Everything about this hotel screams ... "We want you to enjoy your stay with us, northing is too much trouble".

Easy check-in

ROOMS:
Very good specification (we had 222 and 223) which are at the end of a corridor, and beside the stair case.
The best hotel pillows I've had for a very long time.
Coconut perfumed shower and body wash.
Free 24-hour WiFi, and we could connect two devices, ideal for Mr and Mrs W :)

FACILITIES:
The Self-Service 24-hour Customer Kiosk with sandwiches, chocolate bars , water bottles, soft drinks, and an ice dispenser on the ground floor was a great plus point

The Bar was open until 2 pm on New Years Eve, and was a real haven after the riotous party that we had come back from!

BREAKFAST:
Something for everyone, with a really good selection on offer.

STAFF:
Great Reception Team, they are a credit to the Hotel, and are thoroughly deserving of a Christmas Bonus!

COST:
Total Bill came to 78 GBP for B&B ... unbeatable value for money.

All-in-All for me this is a great hotel location and ideal for The Lowry Shopping Mall (which we visited) and Manchester United (which alas we did not!), and for getting around the City, with two tram-stops nearby

Room Tip: Room 222 or 223 if you want a quiet night, as these are beside the emergency staircase at the end of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This a review for a two night stay for a sporting event in Manchester.
We had stayed at Salford Quays several years ago at a different chain, so knew the benefits of the area. Now there is also Media City and the Imperial War Museum North within yards.
Easy car access relatively from the west M60/M602.

Easy to see from a distance! Five storey standalone building in a peninsular in the middle of the Quays. Arriving late evening weary after a long car journey the logo is a beacon!

Check in straightforward. Priority Club.
Car parking on site GBP 3 per day, pay in advance.
We had a room on the 5th floor.
Lifts not large and seemed slow. Usually walked down.

Room pretty much standard HIE. One double bed.
Room not large and limited hanging space however if staying longer I would probably request a bigger room. Everything very clean and working.
Flat screen TV.
Complimentary Wi-Fi via passcode given at reception.
We found the bed comfortable and the pillows fine, not always the case.

Facilities:
No onsite restaurant, however there are a number of chain restaurants within several hundred yards so no problem there.
Breakfast again usual HIE- mix of cold and hot buffet (no bacon). Included in the reasonable rate so no real grounds for moaning.
The bar is convenient but not particularly cheap.
There is a snack rack where one can buy sandwiches etc - good say if you arrive late and do not fancy going out for a meal.
All the staff were friendly and helpful.

We used the Metrolink tram service to get around , which meant that we could leave the car. The trams call at the major city centre destinations. Nearest boarding stop is Salford Quay which is just a couple of hundred yards away at the edge of the quay, although you could go to the terminus at Media City which is a ten minute walk back, and this might be a good idea mid week. Travel Day Pass GBP 4.90 which is a bit of a no brainer unless you are just doing one return journey.

In summary another HIE added to my list, and this will be our first choice for staying again in Manchester. The hotel is blessed with an excellent location and public transport links. It keeps things simple and to a good standard at reasonable prices. Good people.

Downsides. None really.
Other reviewers have mentioned the accumulated rubbish against the booms in the quay next to the hotel. This is an eyesore but not the fault of the hotel. If I was HIE and paying business rates I would strongly suggest that whoever is being paid to clear this do it! I am surprised that the rowing clubs whose slipways are effectively barricaded have not done so.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors with even numbers get a clear view of Old Trafford the Manchester United...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enkoping, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Well located at Salford quays, basic hotel with a not too inspiring breakfast rooms ok but not cleaned very well and toilets not too clean. A little disappointed that the view from the hotel was of the quays which were filled with rubbish, not the hotels fault but not really what one wants to be looking out at from the room.

Room Tip: well located at Salford quays, very basic and a pretty poor breakfast, rooms not cleaned very well a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sturob47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Salford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Sturob47,

Thank you for sharing with us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

I was disappointed to read that you found the breakfast uninspiring and that you found the rooms not be cleaned very well.

I will of course personally pass your feedback on to the necessary departments to ensure that this does not occur again, as we pride ourselves on our Complimentary Breakfast and the cleanliness of our rooms.

Many Thanks

David
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Just stayed the one night midweek recently for a business trip. Easy to find. Jumped on the tram at Piccadilly and it took about 15 minutes to Salford Quays. £2.60 single ticket available from the machines at each station. 5 minute walk along the quayside to the hotel. There is also a carpark adjacent to the hotel for a small charge.
Warm welcome at reception. First impressions were clean, contemporary, bright and airy. Pleasant lounge and small bar.
Received the various privileges available to Elite IHG members including a free wifi connection.
Had a room on the fifth floor overlooking the quayside. Pretty impressive view with all the buildings floodlit at night. The room is typical of the Express brand. Clean and fairly basic.
The bed was very comfortable and I enjoyed a good sleep. My only criticism of my room was the poor lighting. The small desk did not have a light near it so reading or working from the desk was very difficult. Other Expresses I have stayed in had desk lights making working easier on the eye.
Within 10 minutes walking distance of the hotel is the Lowry Shopping Mall with a number of restaurants and fast food outlets. About 5 minutes walk is a small supermarket which was open till late.
Breakfast offered a decent choice of cold dishes plus three hot items. The choice was fine for me having fruit cereal and toast. The breakfast buffet was nicely presented and kept clean and stocked up. There was plenty of space in the lounge to sit down and eat with a view overlooking the quays.
Overall I enjoyed my stay and would use the hotel again if in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aathony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

A work colleague booked this thinking it was The Holiday Inn next to Media City, this hotel is just across the quay. It was disappointing. Rooms were basic, small and had no redeeming features - pillows as flat and comfortable as a pancake. Staff at reception were helpful, but it's more of a self service hotel so they seemed quite thin on the ground. For one night it was bearable, the least time spent in here the better but I won't be rushing back in a hurry.

Room Tip: If you are staying here, a room overlooking the quay would make it more bearable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonHolidayBlues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Salford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear LondonHolidayBlues,

Thank you for providing us with your honest feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I will certainly take the points that you have raised on board, as we always look to improve our guests experience wherever possible.

Many Thanks

David
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Chose this hotel purely for location as had tickets for the Rugby at Old Trafford. Had a room on the 5th floor towards the back overlooking the Rowing club area. Good clean rooms but basic rooms (as expected for the price) but all in good order. Breakfast however was a disaster, it was a very busy morning not enough staff, no food left, no cutlery, no plates. We didn't even try to go for breakfast on the 2nd day.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nose2tail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Salford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Nose2tail,

Thank you for providing us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I was disappointed to read about your experience at breakfast, as this is an area we are working on improving. I will certainly pass your comments on to the team and I will personally speak with the team who were working that weekend, to ensure that this does not happen again.

Many Thanks

David
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salford hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK
0.3 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Salford Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Salford Quays Hotel
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Salford Media City
0.2 mi away
AC Hotel Manchester Salford Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays

Property: Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
Address: Waterfront Quay | Salford Quays, Salford M50 3XW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Manchester Salford Quays. This Manchester hotel is located in thriving Salford Quays, surrounded by the water & history of the Manchester Ship Canal & within 1 mile of Manchester United Football Club (Old Trafford), the Lowry Theatre & the Imperial War Museum. This superb location ensures that Holiday Inn Express Manchester Salford Quays is the perfect choice whether travelling on business or pleasure. Manchester city centre is easily accessible and offers a wealth of entertainment venues and shopping including the MEN Arena and Printworks. Our hotel in Manchester is designed to provide consistent value for money & our rates are inclusive of a tasty continental and hot breakfast which is served in the comfort of our Great Room lounge where you can also enjoy free WiFi. In addition, guests also benefit from secure car parking (£4.00 per night/per car). Our air conditioned guestrooms feature an en suite power shower, 32-inch TVs with Freeview, free Wi-Fi, & tea/coffee facilities. Our family rooms can accommodate up to 2 adults & 2 children under 12. Additional hotel facilities include a fully licensed bar, meeting facilities & a 24-hour Reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays Hotel Manchester
Holiday Inn Manchester
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing