We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budget without perks” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Certificate of Excellence
Silecroft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Budget without perks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We had a family room with sofa bed, glad I wasn't sleeping on it, kids didn't seem to mind though, it made the room really tight. When it was put away for space to move around we found carpet had never seen a Hoover and the obvious balls of tin foil? Had been left too. Don't know why but only one plug? This was on the floor behind the sofa bed, This is not good with a family hair dryers, phones, etc the lighting is always bad in these rooms too. Breakfast is basic / bad and hotel is run on little staff .

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pavenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Salford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing with us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

I would like to thank you for the points you have raised, as some of this issues you have highlighted show that we failed to meet our usually high standards during your stay and I will personally speak with the depatments in question to ensure that we learn from this and move forward.

Many Thanks

David
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    465
    171
    38
    32
See reviews for
241
312
58
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Had a fantastic time here with friends we were attending a concert at the Lowry which is a stones throw just along the canal lovely clean rooms and a very nice bar but my only negative it is a bit pricey on a glass of wine

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dutronomy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Salford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay with us.

It is always a pleasure to read when guests have an enjoyable stay with us, and I am pleased that you found our location to be ideal for you and your friends.

I do hope that should you return to the Manchester area, you do not hesitate in staying with us again.

Many Thanks

David
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Needed a hotel in a relatively central Manchester location that was clean and quiet. The hotel delivered on all of those requirements. We were in room 201 and the room was clean and ok. The double bed a bit on the small side but other than that the room was perfectly adequate for the price paid. Breakfast was included and was adequate. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. The only issue we had was the maid leaving our door unlocked, luckily nothing was stolen.

Due to the last issue I would think carefully about returning there.

Room Tip: We were in 201 in the corner and people were on the quays quite early, for us it wasn't an issue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank simmo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Salford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and for sharing with us your feedback from your recent stay.

I am pleased that you found our hotel to be clean and quiet. We are very lucky to be in such a peaceful setting considering our proximaty to the city centre and Old Trafford.

Having read your review I would also like to assure you that I have personally spoken with the Housekeeping team to reiterate our security policy to ensure that this does not happen again.

I do hope that should you return you would look to stay with us again.

Many Thanks

David
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed over for 1 night - 15th April. Plenty of spaces to park, unlike some other local hotels. Staff very friendly. Room was spotlessly clean and the bed comfy, so no problems sleeping. TV had plenty of channels one could select. The difference between 4 and 5 stars is breakfast. I have to concur with some other reviewers this is the area that has little impact. There is nothing wrong with the quality of food, but there is no excitement to the offer. However, overall a good hotel to stay and would use again for short break.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aderave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Salford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your review and for sharing with us your thoughts from your recent stay.

I will certainly share your feedback with the rest of the team.

Many Thanks

David
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Brilliant location; lovely staff; great breakfast; perfect snacks available for late-night arrivals like ourselves; so easy to get into city, right beside IWM, Lowry, Lowry Outlet watersports centre, beautiful walking areas

Room Tip: Just enjoy it all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SergeantMajorMammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Salford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review!

It is fantastic to read that our staff were lovely and you had a great breakfast with us.

I do hope that should you return to Manchester, you do not hesitate in staying with us once again.

Many Thanks

David
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Although pricey (you are paying for the great location) this hotel is very good value for money. Professional and friendly welcome at reception. Room normal HI Express size (smaller than the Holiday Inn rooms that I have stayed in). Exceptionally clean. Quiet. Great location with impressive views over the quays. Easy to get to Piccadilly Train station with tram stop nearby. I have not given 5 Stars as the breakfast, I felt, was not to Holiday Inn Express normal high standards. I simply could not eat the sausage it tasted cold and REALLY cheap in quality. Apart from the breakfast, which did have some redeeming elements, I would highly recommend the place for anyone wanting to stay in Manchester.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CumbrianCamelLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Salford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very muych for your review of your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to read that you found our rooms to be exceptionally clean and quiet. I am however sorry to read that you did not enjoy your breakfast.

I will certainly share your feedback with the relevant departments.

Many Thanks

David
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed 1 night on Saturday 13th April. Excellent location, right in the centre of it all. We went to the Coronation Street Studio tour.

Once we got to the hotel we parked the car up and never used it again all weekend, as the Trams are the best way to travel (a family ticket for two days £8).

Media city, Old Trafford and new Coronation Street Studios only a short walking distance away.

Hotel clean, staff very friendly and helpful, breakfast ok plenty of choice, would be nice to see some fried eggs and bacon instead of the scramble.

Over all excellent hotel, would definitely stay again.

Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Salford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. It is always a pleasure to read that our guests had an enjoyable stay with us.

I see that you went to one of Manchester's newest attractions- Coronation Street. I hope you had a fantastic day there!

I do hope that should you return to Manchester you do not hesitate in staying with us again.

Many Thanks

David
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salford
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Salford Quays Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK
0.2 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
AC Hotel Manchester Salford Quays
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Manchester
0.4 mi away
Hotel Football Old Trafford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays

Property: Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
Address: Waterfront Quay | Salford Quays, Salford M50 3XW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Manchester Salford Quays hotel. This Manchester hotel is located in thriving Salford Quays, surrounded by the water & history of the Manchester Ship Canal & within 1 mile of Manchester United Football Club (Old Trafford), the Lowry Theatre & the Imperial War Museum. This superb location ensures that Holiday Inn Express Manchester Salford Quays is the perfect choice whether travelling on business or pleasure. Manchester city centre is easily accessible and offers a wealth of entertainment venues and shopping including the MEN Arena and Printworks. Our hotel in Manchester is designed to provide consistent value for money & our rates are inclusive of free continental and hot breakfast which is served in the comfort of our Great Room lounge where you can also enjoy free WiFi. In addition, guests also benefit from secure car parking (local charge applies £4.00 per night/per car). Our newly refurbished, air conditioned guestrooms can accommodate up to 2 adults & 2 children & feature en suite power shower, satellite TV, free Wi-Fi, & tea/coffee facilities. Additional facilities include a fully licensed bar, meeting facilities & a 24-hour reception. Wi-Fi is free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays Hotel Manchester
Holiday Inn Manchester
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing