We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Certificate of Excellence
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice location”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We arrived in Manchester in pouring rain, which is why I did not lift my head up to see how lovely the location was.....
As a family we arrived early than expected, staff were really helpful friendly and let us dump out soggy bags in the bedroom and dry off.
The staff were great and giving us direction on were to go what buses to get and were always helpful.
It is easy to hop on the bus and get around and both my self and daughter would gladly stay again.
The hotel was clean and rooms over looked the Quay so it was fun watching everybody do water sports.
Cheap and cheerful but really good quality.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TEENY191274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGM_Salford, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving such a wonderful review of our Hotel. Its great to hear such lovely comments about the team, we want all of guests to have an enjoyable stay.

I look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Manchester.

Kind Regards,

Tom
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    478
    173
    38
    33
See reviews for
251
324
58
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stepps
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This typical Holiday Inn Express hotel is located right beside the water of the old docks. Very conveniently placed near to Media City, Lowry Gallery, IWM North and many other attractions. The hotel is well up to the expected standard. The only complaint would be the charge for overnight parking (£3). They should charge visitors and others but not guests!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkyeStepps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGM_Salford, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear SkyeStepps,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are in a great location with lots of attractions nearby and the tram station is just a few minutes walk from the Hotel which takes you to most places in Manchester.

Our car park price is very competitive compared to other Hotels in the area. If you’re a member of the ‘IHG Rewards Club’ which is free to join, you receive benefits throughout the company and here we offer car parking at just £1.50 a night.
Something worth considering on your next visit!

Kind Regards,

Tom
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Well what can I say about this little gem of a hotel, the location is fantastic only a short walk away from the Lowry outlet mall, bars and restaraunts.

After a long flight all I wanted to do was get to the hotel and go to bed.

I was greeted by a pleasant chap called Mark who was very attentive and very knowledgeable about the amenities on offer surrounding the hotel.

The hotel is clean, modern and although I consider the breakfast is basic, it did set me up for the day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citytrav1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGM_Salford, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Citytrav1976,

Thank you for leaving your wonderful review of our Hotel. Im glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Its great to hear positive comments about the staff. I will pass on your comments to Mark, he will be very pleased!

Our Breakfast is free with all rates booked at Holiday Inn Express which is a continental with 3 hot items. We are always looking to improve throughout the hotel including the breakfast.

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Manchester.

Kind Regards,

Tom
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

If you've never thought about Salford Quays for a weekend break, then think again. We arrived Sunday afternoon and sat on the terrace overlooking the Manchester Ship Canal! Yes, the Manchester Ship Canal, where we enjoyed a glass of wine whilst watching bunjee jumping on one side of us and zip wire water skiing on the other before a walk along the 'prom' to the Lowry Centre, via the designer outlet. If you are a Man City supporter then ask for one of the rooms with odd numbers as the even number one we were in had a great view of Old Trafford. Decent size bedroom with cleverly designed bathroom which allows the toilet to be used privately while the good sized shower is in use. Only disappointment was the shower was a bit weak and the bed was only a standard double. But the hotel is very clean, the staff very helpful, breakfast good and the wifi good too. All in all excellent hotel, super location with plenty of car parking.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ossie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGM_Salford, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Ossie007,

Thank you for taking the time to leave you thoughts of our Hotel.

I am glad you enjoyed your weekend break with us. We are in a great location and there are plenty of things going on around the Hotel, with the Lowry centre and Old Trafford just a short walk away. I am sorry to hear about the issue with the shower. Our water pressure and temperatures are checked on a daily basis. I will personally pass your feedback on to the maintenance team to enable them to investigate this further.

Thank you once again, we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Manchester.

Kind Regards,

Tom
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed in a Holiday Inn Express in Portsmouth and said never again! What a surprise at Salford Quays, efficient, friendly staff and immaculate cleanliness throughout all areas of the hotel. Only one minor complaint, breakfast was ok but the quality of ingredients could have been far superior at little extra cost. Set me up for the trip back to London but felt let the hotel down as it was impressive on every other level. Thank you and City still smiling and could be for a long time yet!

Room Tip: Thankfully on the first floor so no view of Old Trafford! A must for all Blues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGM_Salford, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Im pleased you decided to try Holiday Inn Express after not such a pleasant experience at another property and hopefully after staying with us you will use us again!

Im sorry to hear you weren’t completely satisfied with the breakfast. We are always looking to improve in all aspects of the Hotel including the breakfast.

Best Regards,

Tom
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

A wonderful location on the classy Saford Quays. A short walk to the shopping outlet, cinema, restauarants and bars, as well as Old Trafford. Clean, but basic. Breakfast is tasty, but again rather basic. Friendly staff and excellent parking facilities. Have already stayed twice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honest-John1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGM_Salford, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your wonderful review of our hotel. I’m pleased you have enjoyed your stays with us and hopefully will enjoy the next one even more!

Kind Regards,

Tom
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I stayed in this hotel recently to watch a home game at Old trafford. The hotel is basic but is very comfortable considering the price was only £167 for 2 nights B&B. The rooms are clean, bed is comfortable and the breakfast , although basic is ample. The staff are very helpful and polite and made check in easy even though i was early to check in. The hotel is situated within easy walking distance of Manchester Uniteds ground which is across the footbridge over the famous Manchester dhip canal. It is also very close to Media City, home of BBC and ITV studios, The Lowry Theatre and also the Lowry shopping centre. Transport from Piccadilly station to the hotel is just a matter of getting on one of the trams and Salford Quays stop is approximately 150=200 mtrs from the hotel. I have stayed at the hotel on 2 occasions now and have no problem in recommending it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonjosar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGM_Salford, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I’m pleased you enjoyed your stays and you were happy with the price. Every rate at Holiday Inn Express is inclusive of a Continental breakfast (with 3 hot items) and Wi-Fi.

I hope to see you again at the start of the new football season.

Kind Regards,

Tom
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salford hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK
0.3 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Salford Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Salford Quays Hotel
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Salford Media City
0.2 mi away
AC Hotel Manchester Salford Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays

Property: Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
Address: Waterfront Quay | Salford Quays, Salford M50 3XW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Manchester Salford Quays. This Manchester hotel is located in thriving Salford Quays, surrounded by the water & history of the Manchester Ship Canal & within 1 mile of Manchester United Football Club (Old Trafford), the Lowry Theatre & the Imperial War Museum. This superb location ensures that Holiday Inn Express Manchester Salford Quays is the perfect choice whether travelling on business or pleasure. Manchester city centre is easily accessible and offers a wealth of entertainment venues and shopping including the MEN Arena and Printworks. Our hotel in Manchester is designed to provide consistent value for money & our rates are inclusive of a tasty continental and hot breakfast which is served in the comfort of our Great Room lounge where you can also enjoy free WiFi. In addition, guests also benefit from secure car parking (£4.00 per night/per car). Our air conditioned guestrooms feature an en suite power shower, 32-inch TVs with Freeview, free Wi-Fi, & tea/coffee facilities. Our family rooms can accommodate up to 2 adults & 2 children under 12. Additional hotel facilities include a fully licensed bar, meeting facilities & a 24-hour Reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, IHG, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays Hotel Manchester
Holiday Inn Manchester
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing