We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Convenient location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We booked this hotel so that my husband could walk to Old Trafford whilst I visited the Lowry Outlet Centre and the parking charge was reasonable at £3.00 per night. It was easy to find - on Waterfront Quay. After a pleasant reception on checking in we found.our room. It was clean and an adequate size. Opposite the hotel, over a small bridge is a Water sport Centre. We enjoyed watching the activities including surfboard, kayak lessons and water skiing from a circular cable. Plus many people swimming in the freezing water. We ate at a Beefeater opposite the hotel the first night. The breakfast at the hotel was adequate but choice was limited.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGM_Salford, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Travel1408,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are in a great location with lots to do in and around the Quays and the nearest tram station only a few minutes walk from the Hotel.

Im pleased you enjoyed your time at Holiday Inn Express Manchester Salford Quays, I look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Kind Regards

Tom
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    468
    172
    38
    33
See reviews for
243
316
58
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

This hotel would easily get 5stars for the price you pay and it's quiet location. Check in was quick and efficient, there were complimentary newspapers, parking was £3 overnight, the rooms were clean and quiet with tea making facilities, and a TV with a decent selection of channels. We were attending an event at Old Trafford and this is a pleasant 15 min walk, passing numerous bars and restaurants. The only massive disappointment we suffered was the rugby scrum that was breakfast. I understand there were a lot of people wanting breakfast at 9:15 (outside the hotels own "busy period") but personally speaking this can be easily resolved. Having no staff other than the duty manager available to clear the tables is poor and more staff need to be employed at this time as many of the breakfast items ran out. Also why on earth do you state that breakfast finishes at 9:30? I have never come across such an early finish before and this resulted in mayhem, please extend this to 10am as a a minimum. All that said, I would actually recommend this hotel to stay if you are in the vicinity as it resulted in a good convenient nights sleep.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front face the car park and Old Trafford, rooms at the rear overlook the quay. We staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hello73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Salford, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Hello73,

Thank you for your review.

Overall I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. With regards to breakfast, it does stop mid-week at 9.30 and 10.30 on the weekends. Unfortunately it was a breakfast when everyone seemed to arrive at once. This does make it slightly more difficult to replenish the breakfast items to the demand.

I’m pleased to hear that everything else was to your satisfaction and hopefully on your next visit you will be leaving the extra star!

Kind Regards,

Tom
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

My husband, daughter and I stayed here for an overnight whilst attending the 1D concert in Manchester. On arrival, the reception staff where very efficient and friendly and happily answered our question reference travel and parking to the concert venue. We where located on the 5th floor room 509, the room was spacious, clean and off a modern decor. It was nice to see coffe/tea making facilities in our room, which was very welcome after our 4 hr drive. The room was perfect for our needs, the bedding was very clean and crisp, towels where supplied very sparingly and off good quality. Slight gripe would have to be that the room carpet did have a lot of staining on entry and by the television area. Nothing too major I suppose. In the shower room they supply a hair and body wash, which was handy, although I did take my own. We had a very peaceful and undusturbed sleep, the beds where really comfortable. Breakfast was a buffet style, was was really good considering it is included in your stay. Overall we had a great stay a would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vickyc651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGM_Salford, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your time here. At Holiday Inn Express Manchester Salford Quays we want all of guests to have memorable visit and want to return – Its great to hear that you will be! I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Tom Clarke
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay and returned mainly based on its brilliant location.
The hotel is on Salford Quays just minutes from The Lowry and Old Trafford but is still very peaceful and quiet. There is plenty of parking in a good car park directly outside which was charged extra but much cheaper than anywhere else locally.
The room was basic but clean. At time of booking, I had requested a room on the top floor at the end if the corridor to try to avoid as much noise as possible as we had travelled a long way and needed a good nights sleep and that was fulfilled.
The breakfast is also basic but adequate although the breakfast area is quite small so it does get busy at peak times.
The staff are friendly and helpful.
I'm sure we will stay again next time we visit Manchester.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BreakAwayFromEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGM_Salford, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments on your recent stay with us. Its great to hear that you have enjoyed this stay as much as your previous. Its also good to hear comments on all aspects of the Hotel.
Thanks again, I look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Tom
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed here for one night whilst visiting Old Trafford to watch a match and do the stadium tour. The hotel was clean and bright from the reception/bar area through to the room. Very comfortable stay and the staff were excellent, they could'nt do enough for you. Will use this hotel again for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGM_Salford, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I'm pleased you enjoyed your time here. We are in a great location for various places nearby including Old Trafford. We do have rooms overlooking the ground. Did you have a room on that side? If not let us know before your next visit and we can arrange it!

Kind Regards,

Tom
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here for a trip into Manchester,very clean and modern hotel with car parking on site,also very good value including free breakfast the next morning,will use this hotel again for sure ,room 101.

Room Tip: Overlooking the Salford Quay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGM_Salford, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Its great to hear that our guests had an enjoyable stay with us. At Holiday Inn Express we are proud to offer all of guests a FREE Breakfast and free Wi-Fi.

I'm pleased to hear you will be staying again.

Kind Regards,

Tom Clarke
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I had a really modern, newly refurbished executive room when I was staying here for a business trip. The view was amazing! Hotel staff were friendly and helpful, however, you'll need to call for a cab to the City centre as there's not much around this hotel area.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank creativestartravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGM_Salford, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit with us. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and the bedroom was to your satisfaction. We are located in the heart of Salford Quays with various bars and restaurants nearby. If you are wanting to go into the City Centre I recommended getting the tram, its only a few minutes walk and is cheaper then a taxi.
Maybe something to consider on your next visit?

Kind Regards,

Tom Clarke
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salford
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK
0.3 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Salford Quays Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
AC Hotel Manchester Salford Quays
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Manchester
0.4 mi away
Hotel Football Old Trafford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays

Property: Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
Address: Waterfront Quay | Salford Quays, Salford M50 3XW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Manchester Salford Quays hotel. This Manchester hotel is located in thriving Salford Quays, surrounded by the water & history of the Manchester Ship Canal & within 1 mile of Manchester United Football Club (Old Trafford), the Lowry Theatre & the Imperial War Museum. This superb location ensures that Holiday Inn Express Manchester Salford Quays is the perfect choice whether travelling on business or pleasure. Manchester city centre is easily accessible and offers a wealth of entertainment venues and shopping including the MEN Arena and Printworks. Our hotel in Manchester is designed to provide consistent value for money & our rates are inclusive of free continental and hot breakfast which is served in the comfort of our Great Room lounge where you can also enjoy free WiFi. In addition, guests also benefit from secure car parking (local charge applies £4.00 per night/per car). Our newly refurbished, air conditioned guestrooms can accommodate up to 2 adults & 2 children & feature en suite power shower, satellite TV, free Wi-Fi, & tea/coffee facilities. Additional facilities include a fully licensed bar, meeting facilities & a 24-hour reception. Wi-Fi is free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays Hotel Manchester
Holiday Inn Manchester
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing