We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scary”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Beaucliffe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Beaucliffe Hotel
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Scary”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This has to be the grottiest B + B I have ever stayed in. Smelly, dirty and delapidated! Would have been better looking at a Premier Inn. Walls were paper thin and garden in the car park had a "meadow feel" to it but I guess it was more likely it had just not been cut!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    15
    23
    23
    21
See reviews for
12
17
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

My wife, 18-year-old daughter and I stayed here one night because we had to fly out early the next morning from Manchester. Be prepared: the rooms are very small -- each just fits the bed and a sink. Bathroom is small (in need of minor repairs). (My daughter liked the water pressure of the shower -- water flowed strongly.) We had two separate rooms and it was very affordable; best thing going for it -- so don't expect much else. We left too early for breakfast. Liked that there was separate parking, albeit only 8-10 spaces or so. Liked that it was a small hotel but you could hear other guests. I liked the firm beds. Not in a walkable area of Salford but we liked the White Horse Inn down the road a bit. Not much else in the area for restaurants. Only 15 minutes from the airport.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Desperately in need of refurbishment and redecoration. Cracked ceiling tiles, mould in shower, strange gurgling from the plumbing, could hear every footstep and conversation from other guests, really hard bed, no wifi in room, no hairdryer in room, little choice for breakfast if you don't like cereal , white bread or a full english. Took 5 minutes for water to become warm enough for a shower. Im not a skinny girl at size 16 but struggled to get through sliding shower doors. don't like to give bad reviews but this is how it was, I paid £69 for one night, should be around £30 max. Any good points - easy to find, parking and a couple of restaurants in walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank pamjoy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Salford hotels

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

A dreadful but dry and warm 12 hour stay. At a basic level the TV worked and the towels and sheets were clean. There was a kettle with tea and coffee. Premier Inn do the same, but they don't have paper peeling from the walls, dirt and dubious spillages around the door frames, carpets, shower, etc. They also have a better standard of waterproof mattress protecter that doesn't wake you up feeling as though you've wet yourself (I hadn't).

This isn't somewhere I'd bring my wife and family and was like a very poor contractor hotel.

Breakfast was equally dire, although there was self-service cereal before the cooked breakfast. I chose the poached egg on toast option, and got a single wet poached egg on a slice of the cheapest white bread.

The experience cost me £30 which is cheaper than Premier Inn and it was close to my meeting destination the following day. Would I stay there again? No.

Room Tip: Any hotel but this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidCharlesworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013 via mobile

I stayed as part of a business trip here and stayed for 2 nights and I definitely wouldn't go back.

Good points:
- Great location, close to amenities and much more.
- Breakfast had a variety and was nice.
- Freeview tv in room was good.

Bad points:
- Hotel is in dire need of upgrading. The walls are a horrible yellow. The carpets look like they have been in since the hotel was built and are dirty with marks all over them, mine even had a big iron burn in it!
- The room I stayed in stunk. The heating was on full blast and I could not turn it off or down making it worse.
- The shower was awful. When I stepped in it the base felt like it was going to collapse as there was nothing underneath it. I had it the hottest it could go and could only manage to get moderate heat from it.
- The walls are so thin I could literally hear everything from all the rooms connected to mine. This was from above, below, and from 2 sides.
- The bed was terrible! It was so uncomfortable and the pillows were abysmal.

All of this and the fact that the cheapest room they do is £32 a night when 5 mins away you can stay in the ibis for £21 a night.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigSheen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We stopped here last night. The property is outdated &seriously in need of refurbishment.
We were asked to pay up front and given the keys to our room. The room itself was small & boiling hot. When I sat on the bed I noticed that was that there was a plastic sound so I took a look and found a disgustingly filthy mattress protector which I immediately removed and remade up using original sheets. It was hit & miss as to really whether I wanted to sleep on the bed at all after seeing this. We decided to stop however & found the bed to be very comfortable and the sheets fresh & clean. Please note though hotel staff that sheets with holes in aren't really a good look!
After a surprisingly good nights sleep we went down for breakfast. We were served by a German lady who struggled to break a smile. Breakfast was orange juice, cereal, toast and a cooked breakfast. There was no extra provision for cooked breakfast for a vegetarian.

Room Tip: Cheap but not cheerful, you get what you pay for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tidywillowtroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

The location of the hotel is good, it’s not too far from Old Trafford, the hotel has a car park. We got a cab to the ground and it cost £8.

So that gives the hotel a very positive start, we were booked a cab by the staff. They give you a key for the front door, so you can come and go as you please.

The place itself is old, and can do with a bit of touching up, the corridors etc.

I will say this, it cost me half what it would’ve cost me to stay here compared to any chain hotels, and at the time of booking which was a month before the game. So the value was great compared to elsewhere.

Had a twin bed room, beds were clean, had fresh towels. Room despite being old wasn't dusty, & didn't smell.

Bed was quite comfy, wasn’t lumpy etc, a basic electric shower is available, not a great deal of pressure, but it got the job done. Some shampoo, shower gel is provided a nice touch.

I did get a good night sleep, probably because this away day was a lot more successful than my last so I had a lot more to drink, I know the bed hadn't caused my headache, that’ll be the San Miguel and Kingfisher the night before.

I didn't eat the breakfast, so I can't comment on that.

Bottom line, this place is not as nice as an upscale hotel, or a half decent chain hotel, but it was a comfortable stay.

When you’ve only just got an away day ticket a month before the game kicks off, you can probably do worse than the Beaucliffe, and like I did you'll find choice quite limited. I was getting quoted £80 a night at hostels, £90 a night at the premier Inns with only a double bed. I used a couple of different websites and places to me were too expensive for one night.

For a night after being on the beer after a game, I’d use it again.

Room Tip: There is a sink in the main room, was weird to see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hellz08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salford hotels
2.2 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
2.6 mi away
Novotel Manchester West
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Salford Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
1.4 mi away
Hello Hotel Manchester
Hello Hotel Manchester
#1 of 2 in Swinton
208 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaucliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaucliffe Hotel

Property: Beaucliffe Hotel
Address: 254 Eccles Old Road, Salford M6 8ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Beaucliffe Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Beaucliffe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaucliffe Hotel Salford, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing