We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“War Horse Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Manchester
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“War Horse Weekend”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed at the hotel because it was just less than a mile to the Lowry Theatre. Our room was on the canal side overlooking the wharf, very comfortable & well equipped. Breakfast was good with plenty of choices, as were the bar meals. All of the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful .... would definitely stay here again. Taxi cost to the Lowry was £3.00

Room Tip: Try to ensure that your room is on the canal side of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Okie2Okie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    412
    473
    265
    166
See reviews for
134
553
73
413
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed here for one night after the united game, booked last minute for £54 room only. The room was spacious had twin beds, modern tv with sky sports. The room although a little dated was both clean and comfortable and warm. The bathroom roomy with power shower in the bath could do with a partition rather than the clingy shower curtain in my view, towels thick and soft. We were roomed on the main road side of the hotel so traffic and trams left me with a disturbed nights sleep, this is shown in the mark given. I would stay again if roomed on the quays side of the hotel. We didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment on the food although the restaurant looked nice from the outside.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the canal side of the hotel as these should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed at the hotel because of the close proximity of the Lowry Theatre.
Our room was very nice over looking the water. Beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was lovely. But the nicest part of the stay were the staff everyone we came into contact with went out of their way to be friendly and helpful .

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

There are nice heated floors in the bathroom but the room could have been cleaner. The internet didn't work so we called reception who said they would get a technician to call back but there was no call back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T0mSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We were in Manchester to catch the game on new year's day between Manchester United and Spurs. We booked the Copthorne as it was near to the stadium. Check in was only allowed at 2pm sharp even though a lot of guests had arrived much earlier. However they allowed us to deposit our luggage while we explored the neighbourhood. Check in, however, was extremely fast and done in less than 5 minutes! !
The room was big and comfortable. The bathroom fixtures looked a bit tired and worn out but all in working condition. All are very elderly friendly and the alarm cords dangled from the ceiling so we got to remind our girl not to pull the cords. The basin had two taps. The hot tap was way too hot to use while the cold was too cold to be used as well.
Of course, Spurs beat Manchester United that evening! Breakfast was served from 7 to 10am. The buffet spread was very decent. The items for a full English breakfast were all available, meaning tons of meat! My wife felt that if there were greens to balance the meats, that would be better. Coffee came in a pot for each adult.
Checkout was very fast and there was no delay.
Overall it was an excellent hotel for the old Trafford game. If we do come up again, we will certainly stay at the Manchester Copthorne again!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank JeromeLiaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at Copthorne as a base when we visited the Christmas Market in Manchester. This was very convenient for us as we drove in and left our car in the free car park. The hotel was very close to the excellent tram service, which took us directly into the city centre at a fraction of the cost of parking there.
We found the hotel really comfortable, the room looked directly over the water of Salford Quays and this was quite lovely at night with the reflections from the city lights. The room was clean, comfortable and spacious, really with everything we needed. Breakfast was excellent. It was a very decent buffet, with plenty of choice. Really can't complain; we got a great price and had a super experience. Enjoyed our stay very much.x

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dancred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as a young couple, on arrival the reception and bar area is very nice and modern. We soon realised these were the only places that were in the hotel! Our room was very dated, carpets old and worn, beds not very comfy. The TV wouldn't turn on and some plug sockets didn't work, also the main light wouldn't turn on, I reported all these to reception straight away but only the light got fixed! For what the hotel charges for a night you expect much better than this! The view of the quays is quite nice though, it is just across the road from Old Trafford and a short taxi ride into Manchester city centre.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jordan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Salford hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salford
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
0.1 mi away
AC Hotel Manchester Salford Quays
0.1 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Salford Quays
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK
0.4 mi away
Hotel Football Old Trafford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Manchester

Property: Copthorne Hotel Manchester
Address: Clippers Quay | Salford Quays, Salford M50 3SN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Salford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Salford
Copthorne Hotel Manchester Salford, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing