We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Football Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Manchester
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Arrived at the hotel at midday , was offered the room straight away. Room was tired, but i was not expecting much for the money i had paid. Breakfast was a fair selection. Staff were polite and friendly.
Location was good with free parking ,only a short ride on the tram.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 171Joanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,602)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

942 - 948 of 1,602 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2014

There is a reason a hotel costs £32 a night.... The walls/ceilings are paper thing. I could here the movement of most rooms a round me. I could hear people peeing, showering, and the 6am drilling just about finished me off. I don't mind a retro hotel room, however the noise was rather painful if you are a light sleeper.

Room Tip: Don't choose this hotel if you are a light sleeper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redandbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Six of us stayed for the weekend at the Copthorne Hotel in Salford Quays and found the hotel located superbly for the Lowry Theatre and Manchester City Centre. We were allocated rooms next to each other which was useful and found them to be comfortable with lots of room. The breakfast was delicious, hot and plentiful. All the staff in the hotel where friendly, professional and extremely helpful.

Room Tip: The quayside rooms offer an excellent view over Clipper Quay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank up0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I stayed for 1 night and the hotel was adequate for my requirements. Service by FOH and room service delivery was excellent. Food was good, no complaints. It looks as thoughb the rooms have been kept to a good standard but it does feel dated and it need of some new furniture. I use the Copthorne at Bramall Lane and as it a much newer hotel is far better by comparison. However, I would stay at the Salford hotel again for business.

Room Tip: Ask for acroom dacing the Quays. My view was the hotel car park and a main road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChippyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed a Saturday to use the hotel as a base for exploring Salford Quays, shopping and an evening in Manchester. The hotel has free parking and is only a short walk to Exchange Quay tram stop. It is also very close to Old Trafford.

The rate was very reasonable and the room had a good view of Salford Quays and Media City. The room was clean and nicely warm despite the outside cold. Staff were attentive and helpful, especially in the restaurant. The food was excellent, we both had duck.

I would rate the hotel 5 stars, but it is a little tired in some aspects and does need an update, such as the bathroom tiling and slightly worn carpets, but it does not cause discomfort or unpleasantness.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

it was 1st time staying in this hotel and i have no complaints what so ever.the price was very reasonable and the food was very nice and not to expensive the location was perfect for old trafford and the staff were very friendly and helpful. i will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jred3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This hotel should have a rating of one and a half stars.
The room was too dark to read or write. Sent for the Duty Manager to complain. He was a first class hotel ambassador, very polite and professional. He saw the predicament I was in. Being partially disabled it was difficult to find another room. He upgraded us to a suite free of charge which I thank him for.
My friend and his wife were put in a room which did have light, only because a commercial fluorescent light went across the ceiling which was not pleasant to look at. The bed was a fold up to the wall type which was not comfortable. Being a Director of a Premier League Football Side, it was the worst room he had stayed in for many years. This hotel needs completely renovating and is Definitely NOT four star, albeit the cost of staying there is.
The staff at the hotel were five star and could not have been better.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salford
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
0.1 mi away
AC Hotel Manchester Salford Quays
0.1 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Salford Quays
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK
0.3 mi away
Hotel Football Old Trafford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Manchester

Address: Clippers Quay | Salford Quays, Salford M50 3SN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Salford
Price Range: £46 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Salford
Copthorne Hotel Manchester Salford, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing