We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Copthorne Hotel Manchester
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,656)
Filter reviews
1,656 results
Traveller rating
211
475
510
280
180
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
211
475
510
280
180
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbit datedexchange quaycity centretram stopmedia citycentral manchesterfull englishstayed here for one nightlowry theatrequaysclippercanal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
949 - 954 of 1,656 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Apart from the reception staff, the service was dreadful. Arrived in our room to find someone had used our toilet and left a rather large present in there! The breakfast staff took 3 attempts to serve a cup of tea without it being cold, half a cup or no milk! The actual hotel itself needs a good overhaul, and is not somewhere I'd return in a hurry.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomvaler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim C, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel.
I was very disappointed to read about the poor impression you gained of our hotel. Please be assured that your comments will be investigated and where appropriate, corrective action will be taken.
Over the next 12 months significant capital investment is going to made into the fabric of the building. That said, of more importance, we are always looking to improve the recruitment, selection, training and retention of our team members as it is these people and the interaction they have with you the guest that makes the real difference.
Thank you for staying with us and I do hope that you would consider staying with us again in the future.

Kind regards

Tim Cadman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Staying for one night room was £54 so reasonably priced.

Room is rather dated and could do with renovation especially the toilet and the cupboard door was a bit wonky.

Hotels.com rates this as a four star, but I think that's rather generous.

Location is ok - Trafford centre is near by.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jarlawuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim C, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel.
Your comments about the hotel room needing renovation are well made and I am pleased to confirm that over the next 12 months the hotel is to receive significant capital investment in both the rooms and public areas.
I hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel again.

Kind regards

Tim Cadman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We spent 3 nights in the Copthorne last week - checked in on a Thursday and out on Sunday for a mix of business and pleasure - Had a fantastic stay. Room was clean and well appointed with a fantastic view of Salford Quays. The staff were excellent and very helpful and there was ample parking (even on a Friday night)

The hotel is close to local restaurants and a 3 minute walk from 2 metro stations. Have already rebooked for our next trip to Manchester.

My only slight criticism is that the restaurant menu is a bit limited. It's based on a "chophouse/carvery" type idea, I would prefer a hotel restaurant to be more about general "good food" rather than themed.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the quays
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Good hotel for visiting Manchester with a large free car park and the tram stop very close. All staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was fine with a decent bed. However, we stayed 2 nights and the room wasn't serviced for the second night. The staff responded well to that with a complimentary drink in the bar whilst they did it. The bar is very poor, no atmosphere with poor décor and seating, but the staff are good.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the dock for peace and quiet
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malc1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Good sized, clean rooms with comfy beds. However, the decor is pretty old fashioned (was peach and blue ever in vogue?!) and some things weren't working. For instance, only 2 channels on the TV worked, the curtains barely closed and the lack of temperature controls meant an open window and some traffic noise overnight. Just okay for me, didn't quite make the 'very good' category.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim C, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the hotel on Trip Advisor.

I have made a note about the TV channels not working and the issues with the temperature conrols and I will ensure that these are looked into as a matter of urgency.

With regards to the decor, I appreciate that it is tired however I am pleased to confirm that over the next twelve months the hotel is going to see significant investment in both bedrooms and public areas.

Thanks again for your comments.

Regards

Tim Cadman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews