We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful evening...fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Manchester
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful evening...fantastic hotel”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My partner and I were lucky enough to stay at your hotel on 23rd May . We normally stay city centre however as Paul Heaton Jacki Abbott concert was at The Lowry we thought would give you a try. It was a brilliant decision .
From the moment we walked in we were made welcome.Nothing was too much trouble and an upgrade was sorted without any fuss . The staff were all polite , helpful with a good sense of humour ,
Our room was beautiful ,spacious and spotless.The concert was fantastic but this was enhanced by staying at your venue . I did not want leave and can't wait to visit you again soon.You should be very proud
Kind regards and sincere thanks
Sarah Olive

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank singsarah23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim C, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for giving us a five star review, and your comments are a pleasure to read.
The team do work hard to make everybody welcome and I will make sure that your review gets put onto the team notice board.

We don't always get it right and the Company does need to spend some money on updating the facilities. I am pleased to saay that this is about to start thsi month.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Tim Cadman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    409
    470
    260
    162
See reviews for
132
548
72
402
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

myself and my partner stayed at this copthorne hotel simply for a weekend of shopping and dining. we stayed for 2 nights and payed a reasonable price, however I would not have wanted to pay more. location was good, 10 minutes away from the arndale centre and the Trafford centre. petrol station, restaurants and corner shop located within a few hundred yards. rooms comfy but rather dated! bathroom dated and carpet not in the best condition!! however room view was lovely. can not fault for the price, would return.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 461sophieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We used the hotel for a one night stay when we went to the Coronation Street tour.
I am not quite sure who gave this hotel '4 stars' but clearly they were bunged some money.
If I was paying for a two or a three star hotel then this hotel would be adequate, the customer service was good, the free car park was welcome and the location was great to enjoy Salford and the quays. If you want a cheap room near Manchester and have not got high expectations then go for it but if you are given room 245 then reject immediately or bring some ear plugs as you will be sleeping next to the most noisy air conditioning ever built.
The hotel itself looks good downstairs but as soon as you enter the corridors you are met with a musty old smell, very dated décor and an overall lacklustre appearance. The room was just ok.

Room Tip: Avoid room 245
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Salford hotels

Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed weekend of saturday 17th may 2014 hotel was.lovely rooms.clean...breakfast great value for.money even though was a tad hungover...shower was fab.beds comfy only thing i would say is needs air con staff were.friendly from reception to bar n restaurant no complaints ....

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Tired decor, threadbare carpets and a wobbly mattress awaits if you book a room here. As a last minute hotel booking it wasn't too expensive, is in a good location for where we wanted and had a car park - which most of the hotels in the city do not. It is what it is, a decent hotel if you get it for reasonable money. If you want comfort and nice surroundings then look elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikil_Plum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Very dated hotel with a sewerage problem....the smell on the corridors was foul.....rooms okay and clean.....bar expensive.....the walls must be made of paper....you can hear everything from the adjoining rooms !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoopsjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Having booked The Copthorne Hotel then read the reviews I was expecting a horror show! instead we were greeted with very friendly staff who checked us in very quickly, then when we got to our room again very surprised at how nice it was clean ok could do with updating but we had a lovely room overlooking the Quays, breakfast was one of the best we have had in Hotels, so thank you to all the staff they made our stay (2 nights) a very enjoyable one, and the location is brilliant. 2 happy customers Lytham St Annes.

Room Tip: ask for one on the Quay side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salford
0.1 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Salford Quays Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
AC Hotel Manchester Salford Quays
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK
0.4 mi away
Hotel Football Old Trafford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Manchester

Property: Copthorne Hotel Manchester
Address: Clippers Quay | Salford Quays, Salford M50 3SN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Salford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Salford
Copthorne Hotel Manchester Salford, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing