We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Manchester
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I stayed here over the parklife weekend. Our room was a good size, had a nice view on the 3rd floor. Only downfall was the broke lift so lugging suitcases up and down the stairs was not ideal. Extremely close to Old Trafford and Warehouse Project. Staff were friendly, bar is 24 hour. You can't lose with this place.

Room Tip: I weould avoid a room on the ground floor as two of my friends stayed in these and they were small a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickylou2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

810 - 816 of 1,564 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

It's a reasonably priced hotel, but. Older, not as clean as I would expect (mould in the hallway carpet). The elevators were not operating, and it's a 4 storey building - and there is no advance notice on bookings of this major issue. Even tho apparently the elevators have been out of service for weeks with no notice of when they will be repaired! Usually the lack of air conditioning is not an issue, but in this wonderful summer, the room facing east was uncomfortably hot.

I asked for early check-in after taking the red-eye over from North America, and received a brusque refusal, because "we don't do early check-in here".

The food is okay but not memorable, the lobby bar is good and service here is good.

But I will not be coming back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TiggerHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Excellent position for getting to a ball at Old Trafford. Room overlooked the river and was comfortable. Reception staff were helpful. Breakfast good. All in all a pleasant stay. Sat nav struggle to get there though. It took us round in circles!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I stayed in this hotel due to a business meeting being nearby. Upon arrival, I paid using my credit card, was not informed much about the room of the hotel, but was impressed by the decor within the hotel as I reached my room. I then received a Email stating that I had gone over my credit card limit. This worried me as I have a generous credit limit. After 15 mins on the phone to my CC providers, I was told that the hotel had charged the right amount from the card but then tried to put through another £6,600 2 mins after that! I was furious and went to reception to ask why this had happened. I got an apology and was offered a free drink at the bar. This was NOT sufficient as I did not want a drink and suggested that they reimburse my phonecall charges as it was to a 0870 number. They refused to offer anything further. Breakfast in the morning - not the best and the first 3 plates I picked up were dirty! This is a short version of events and I have complained about this incident directly to the hotels groups E-mail address but have had no response. My suggestion is to only stay in this Hotel if you are getting a very very cheap deal.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ferdy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Who's Morgan - more later....
The hotel is a bit tired but bang in the middle of the Quays and a spit from Old Trafford - it's always going to be busy.
My bedroom was nice but unfortunately I had to take the stairs to get there as the lift was 'out of order'
I found the staff very friendly particularly Morgan........
The bar here is quite small and last night got swamped by an incoming
business group, at one point there was a queue about 10 deep.
Step up MORGAN a young man with a willing smile and a determined attitude. Boy did he work and despite my suggestion to reception that they get help quick The Alamo was not relieved. The kid didn't just cope he excelled and even got my teams 8 bar meals out to us somehow (the standard of which was at best 'out of hours' type fare)
So the moral of this story is........send the Duty Manager back to school to learn how to roll up the sleeves and manage peak flows meanwhile give MORGAN the job!
Sorry I can't comment on the restaurant except that it was all but empty, hope the kid gets that gig tomorrow.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Smudla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Carpet in room was very very threadbare with huge patches of carpet with no carpet tufts on at all and just the carpet backing visible. Room dated but clean.Receptionist staff said that they were aware of this problem and that some rooms were being upgraded. Was not impressed by this attitude or response.
Room was very hot but could open the windows to let in some cool air.
Lift was not working during stay Fri - Sun.
Breakfast good with very hard working employees trying to do their best.
Tram stop very close so good location to get into Manchester. Day tram ticket £5.00 per adult.
Kept awake on Saturday night by slamming doors, drunken shouting at 4am as party of people returned from Heaton Park music festival. Slick of mud through hotel & all the way up the stairs from festival goers.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Wi-Fi was a no show for 2 days straight despite the "engineers working very hard on fixing this".
The hotel restaurant was too expensive to dine in so we opted to go to the local tesco express and some restaurants nearby, proved a lot cheaper!
Otherwise, the bed was comfy, the room had a nice view but I didn't appreciate one receptionist. When asked for the Wi-Fi password, she looked as if I had insulted her and chucked the little piece of paper with the password on it to me. Otherwise, another Thai sort-of girl receptionist was very pleasant and sweet.
Very conveniently located next to the metrolink, if you mind being a little outside of Manchester be prepared to pay £2.60 for a single

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lajonquillenoire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salford hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
0.1 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
0.1 mi away
AC Hotel Manchester Salford Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Salford Quays
4.7 mi away
Novotel Manchester West
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Manchester

Address: Clippers Quay | Salford Quays, Salford M50 3SN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Salford
Price Range: £59 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Salford
Copthorne Hotel Manchester Salford, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing