We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The good the bad and the ugly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Manchester
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Eden
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“The good the bad and the ugly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Just spent a night at the Copthorne and we have to say this visit left us with mixed feelings!
The good, the friendly and helpful staff and the breakfast. The bad, the tired look of the whole hotel bedrooms and corridors. The ugly, silver gaffer tape holding the corridor carpet together along with several large ripples which is a accident waiting to happen, toilet cistern sounding like a hammer drill whilst filling up, bathroom fan covered in linen dust to the stage where its hardly moving air, thats without looking too hard and not to forget the very shabby sofa's in main reception which look like their ready for the refuse tip! Ps lifts still broken(15 June)
This was our third visit and probably our last to this hotel until its had a make over.

Room Tip: Try the larger rooms as the smaller one's are in need of a paint brush and new furniture
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdenCumbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    405
    468
    258
    159
See reviews for
131
546
71
394
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

The rooms are old and decayed.
I am visiting the hotel for business meeting in Manchester. I will spend one day and to go back London so I will not suffer too much.
They receptionists are kind and trying to help.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amr Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Salford hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

I stayed here over the parklife weekend. Our room was a good size, had a nice view on the 3rd floor. Only downfall was the broke lift so lugging suitcases up and down the stairs was not ideal. Extremely close to Old Trafford and Warehouse Project. Staff were friendly, bar is 24 hour. You can't lose with this place.

Room Tip: I weould avoid a room on the ground floor as two of my friends stayed in these and they were small a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickylou2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

It's a reasonably priced hotel, but. Older, not as clean as I would expect (mould in the hallway carpet). The elevators were not operating, and it's a 4 storey building - and there is no advance notice on bookings of this major issue. Even tho apparently the elevators have been out of service for weeks with no notice of when they will be repaired! Usually the lack of air conditioning is not an issue, but in this wonderful summer, the room facing east was uncomfortably hot.

I asked for early check-in after taking the red-eye over from North America, and received a brusque refusal, because "we don't do early check-in here".

The food is okay but not memorable, the lobby bar is good and service here is good.

But I will not be coming back to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiggerHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Excellent position for getting to a ball at Old Trafford. Room overlooked the river and was comfortable. Reception staff were helpful. Breakfast good. All in all a pleasant stay. Sat nav struggle to get there though. It took us round in circles!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I stayed in this hotel due to a business meeting being nearby. Upon arrival, I paid using my credit card, was not informed much about the room of the hotel, but was impressed by the decor within the hotel as I reached my room. I then received a Email stating that I had gone over my credit card limit. This worried me as I have a generous credit limit. After 15 mins on the phone to my CC providers, I was told that the hotel had charged the right amount from the card but then tried to put through another £6,600 2 mins after that! I was furious and went to reception to ask why this had happened. I got an apology and was offered a free drink at the bar. This was NOT sufficient as I did not want a drink and suggested that they reimburse my phonecall charges as it was to a 0870 number. They refused to offer anything further. Breakfast in the morning - not the best and the first 3 plates I picked up were dirty! This is a short version of events and I have complained about this incident directly to the hotels groups E-mail address but have had no response. My suggestion is to only stay in this Hotel if you are getting a very very cheap deal.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferdy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
119 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Who's Morgan - more later....
The hotel is a bit tired but bang in the middle of the Quays and a spit from Old Trafford - it's always going to be busy.
My bedroom was nice but unfortunately I had to take the stairs to get there as the lift was 'out of order'
I found the staff very friendly particularly Morgan........
The bar here is quite small and last night got swamped by an incoming
business group, at one point there was a queue about 10 deep.
Step up MORGAN a young man with a willing smile and a determined attitude. Boy did he work and despite my suggestion to reception that they get help quick The Alamo was not relieved. The kid didn't just cope he excelled and even got my teams 8 bar meals out to us somehow (the standard of which was at best 'out of hours' type fare)
So the moral of this story is........send the Duty Manager back to school to learn how to roll up the sleeves and manage peak flows meanwhile give MORGAN the job!
Sorry I can't comment on the restaurant except that it was all but empty, hope the kid gets that gig tomorrow.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Smudla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salford
0.1 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Salford Quays Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
AC Hotel Manchester Salford Quays
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK
0.4 mi away
Hotel Football Old Trafford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Manchester

Property: Copthorne Hotel Manchester
Address: Clippers Quay | Salford Quays, Salford M50 3SN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Salford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Salford
Copthorne Hotel Manchester Salford, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing