We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Requires updating and refurbishment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Manchester
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Reviewed 23 July 2014

When I was told I was booked into The Copthorne for two nights I was fairly pleased, on the down side the whole place could do with a makeover, and only one of the two small lifts was working meaning some lengthy waits at various times of the day.

I was given a room on the second floor which actually happens to be the first floor, the windows only opened partially and onto a flat roof which contained what must have been either aircon ducts or extractors needless to say it was noisy to have the windows open but during the hot weather at the time the only other option was to call reception and request a desk fan, luckily I had the last one available!

No aircon in the bedrooms which in this day and age for a relatively modern hotel is not too much to ask, free wifi too, so why do they charge £5 for 24 hours? I pay less than that for data roaming in Europe!

Water stained ceilings, odd marked carpets, old (but functional) kettle all suggest it's a little tired, and not up to the 4 stars that are displayed outside the building.

Having said all that, staff were extremely polite and helpful, bed was comfortable, nice toiletries, nice buffet breakfast and excellent location for the Quays and the Metrolink stop at Exchange Quay for getting into the City Centre and elsewhere.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Blaze14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

752 - 758 of 1,536 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

Salford Quays is an excellent location to stay in whilst visiting Manchester. This hotel had excellent views of one of the quays and is a nice stroll along the others to get to Media City where you have a myriad of eating and drinking establishments. It is also positioned opposite a metro link station which offers frequent trains/trams taking you into central Manchester within minutes.However the Copthorne let itself down by not having the all important (and now expected of a 4 star hotel) air conditioning. Whilst the staff (who are extremely friendly I must add) provided a fan in our room when we asked, they could only apologise that as an old building it had not installed air con. Unfortunately it was one of the hottest nights in the UK when we stayed and it was so needed. One lift not working but that did not inconvenience us and breakfast was quite good - most things catered for but wouldn't describe as outstanding.

Room Tip: Book a Club Room. Don't book through 3rd party sights unless the deal is significantly lower bec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stephen0903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Me and my fiancée went Sunday 20th July for the night. The staff were very nice. Can't comment on food and other facilities as we didn't use them. The room was spacious and has an iron which is good. The shower was powerful. Outdated butthe beds were comfortable. The major drawback was the heat. The temperature in Manchester was in the early 20's but the room felt like a sauna. The windows barely opened and no air con. It was absolutely stifling. We left the windows open for hours before bed and all night but it made no difference. This made for a really uncomfortable nights sleep. I'm trying not to judge it too much for this because I know Manchester is cool most of the year but I expected more from a 4 star hotel. Also I had to pay £5 for wifi and it was absolutely shocking. Took an age to load a Web page and netflix was a definite no. I could see anyone there for business getting frustrated. Overall it is an average hotel. Definitely not 4 star in my eyes as it needs a good redecorating.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aaronelliott91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Firstly we have been visiting the Copthorne for over 17 years, though of late not have been for the last 4 or so years. We booked the Copthorne this time for it's excellent location on Salford Quays and is quite central to the city center when using the trams. However, the reception hasn't had a revamp in all these years and the room was "tired" and out dated with the ceiling coming down, the paintwork needing re painting etc. The bed was comfortable and the shower was wonderful, but the whole place looks like it needs a visit from the Hotel Inspector. Definately not 4 star anymore, and on arrival there were "empties" left over from the night before outside the reception area (this was at 13:00!!). There are plenty more hotels on the Quay's which are as reasonably priced now, and next time we will probably go to one of these, alas, our visits to the Copthorne are over.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Julie_towyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Ok, you can write all sorts on here and review in your own way. But I prefer the truth and an objective view. This Hotel, while at first glance appears modern, clean and tidy, could do with a serious make over. Of the 2 lifts, only 1 worked during the 3 days we stayed. The carpets in 'some areas' could do with being replaced, the paint work could do with a lift, and their prices at the Bar are, Hmmm, extortionate!!
And, if you stay in Summer, ensure you get a room below the top floor. It can get a bit warm up there to say the least. On the plus side, there are some reasonable restaurants nearby, walkable, and the views of Salford Quays, in summer are quite good.

Room Tip: Lower floors are cooler in Summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We found out from a member of staff that the hotel is now 25 years old. It doesn't seem as if it's been updated much in that time. No air conditioning, very old hairdryer in room, carpet outside the lift was rucked up so much that I had to report it in case someone tripped up. On the positive, the breakfast was okay and the room and bathroom were big (think it was a disabled room). It's also very handy for the tram into Manchester city centre.
Won't be going back until it's been refurbished

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CumbriaTraveller2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We booked a twin room and on arrival were told the only room left was a double and there was no way of changing it.....on arrival in the room we were hit by the heat! Windows opened but had restricters so couldn't open very far and no air conditioning, it was unbearable. On arrival back to hotel at around 22.30 we were met by the very loud welcoming of a wedding reception with people outside laughing and joking and music playing and of course due to the heat all windows and doors open! And you can guess......our room was directly above the wedding reception venue! We enquired at reception and were told no other rooms available, needed windows open due to heat but couldn't sleep due to the noise. Eventually we were brought a small fan!!!! Not the best experience and certainly wouldn't go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dugglie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salford
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
0.1 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
0.3 mi away
Hotel Football Old Trafford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
AC Hotel Manchester Salford Quays
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Salford Quays
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Manchester

Address: Clippers Quay | Salford Quays, Salford M50 3SN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Salford
Price Range: £58 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Salford
Copthorne Hotel Manchester Salford, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing