We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok facilities, so so location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Manchester
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ok facilities, so so location”
Reviewed 4 March 2011

Hotel was cheap and cheerful, room was relatively clean, whilst location wasn't great but within reasonable driving distant to town centre etc.

Service was terrible though, upon check out the staff member asked me to pay again - I pointed out that I had paid via expedia upon booking so I declined to pay again and he said that was ok. Upon receiving my credit card bill I find he went and charged me anyway, and now I have to wait for expedia to get in touch with the hotel accounts department to refund me my money. Based on being charged twice I could have stayed at Hilton or that effect instead and had much better surroundings/room etc.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jarlawuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copthorne_Manchester, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, 9 March 2011
Thank for your writing your review following your recent stay with us.

At the outset we would like to apologise for the problems that you encountered in regard to service and check-in. Please be assured that these matters which you have highlighted have been duly actioned and the situation rectified accordingly.

It is disappointing that your stay was over-shadowed by the experience you had and we do hope that you may stay with us again in the futrue, at which time we would very much like to restore your faith in the hotel.

Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    412
    473
    265
    166
See reviews for
134
553
73
413
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire UK
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2011

I stayed 2 nights at the Copthorne Newcastle which was fantastic. I then had to stay in manchester for the next 2 nights and thought the Copthorne there would match the newcastle one.
The location is great, Salford Quays is a perfect area to stay better than staying in the City Centre. Great restaurants, cinema and outlet stores within 5 min walking.
The Copthorne Manchester rooms are clean but dated, tea and coffee facilities looked grubby, no biscuits (this is first Copthorne that doesnt have biscuits). The bathroom was clean but no soap, just a tiny shampoo and shower gel. How much can a small bar of soap cost?? basic hygiene I think, when I asked they seemed proud to say they do not supply soap at the Copthorne Manchester.
Breakfast was tired, the continental selection looked like it was abvout to celebrate a birthday, the cooked selection again seemed long in the tooth. Very strange coloured scrambled egg!!?? The Copthorne Newcatsle has a menu to choose from and its freshly cooked for you, (great Kippers BTW)
I had a club sandwich in the bar and it was disgusting, Cold Egg Mayo, Cold Chicken Mayo and luke warm bacon in cold toasted bread. Come one its a basic sandwich and should be served warm
Anyway I would suggest that the Manager visits the Newcastle Copthorne and get some tips on how it should be done and can be done !!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acc70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copthorne_Manchester, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, 9 March 2011
Thank you for taking the time the write your review on the hotel.

We do pride ourselves on the buffet breakfast that we provide and indeed this is always enjoyed by our guests, however it would appear that on this occasion there was a lapse in the presentation which wil be addressed accordingly.

Please be assured that we do also provide soap in all rooms, however we do apologise for the incorrect information that was relayed to yourself.

We are sorry that you may not have enjoyed your stay on this occasion and do hope that you may reconsider a visit with us in the future.

Thank you once again on behalf of the Copthorne Hotel Manchester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Salford hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Excellent Location close to all kinds of things. When I first arrived we was greeted by a very warm and friendly receptionist leah, she could not do enough for us she made us dinner reservations in manchester, organised taxis for us and answered any questions efficiently, She also made a point of asking us about are night on checkout which we thought was thoughtful. The Rooms was comfy with a nice view over the quays. Well cleaned. Breakfast was abit manic but handled well in my opinion! Excellent stay I would reccommend to anyone! Do not hear all them horror stories on here

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mis_fits_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copthorne_Manchester, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, 9 March 2011
Thank you on behalf of the Copthorne Hotel Manchester for taking the time to write your review.

Your most positive comments are indeed welcomed and will be shared with the management and staff of the hotel.

We do constantly strive to ensure that our guests are experiencing the highest quality in service and hospitalty at all times, and your very kind feedback is certainly evident of this.

We do hope you will have an opportunity to stay with us again soon and indeed we look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

Stayed 3 nights, whilst the headline price was good, overall value was not reflected as the service and quality fell way short of the mark, and I cannot believe this is a 4 star rated hotel. The issues we experienced:
- Upon arrival, found faeces in the toilet so clearly had not been cleaned
- Staff cannot cope at all with a full hotel, we had a 20 minute wait for breakfast
- Breakfast was inferior cheap food, heated up and piled into unappetising dishes
- Bin in restaurant for empty cereal packets was overflowing onto the floor
- Milk for our tea was 'whipped' from a used table to give to us
- Dirty plates found in restaurant
- I had to tell reception at 7pm to clear the empty glasses, bottles and breakfast trays complete with food remains that had sat in our corridor all day long (this was evident 2 days running)
- Early morning football thug fights in the corridor outside our room and general boisterous behaviour disturbed sleep

Overall, if you are a die hard Man U fan, want a cheapish hotel for 1 night, and don't care too much about the quality then this is for you. For everyone else I recommend you steer well clear - a poorly run hotel that does not deserve your business.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smcc1879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2011

This hotel is not in the city center of Manchester, but very near to a tram station that brings you to the city center in a short time. It is especially good located if you plan to visit Old Trafford that is within walking distance.
Moreover within walking distance is big outlet mall.
The airport is also not too far away by taxi.
The hotel is not directly at the street, so the rooms are quiet and we a very good sleep. The breakfast buffet was great and the staff always very polite and very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyingaroundtheglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copthorne_Manchester, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, 23 February 2011
On behalf of the Copthorne Hotel Manchester we would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review.

It is indeed a pleasure to note your most positive and welcomed feedback, which we can assure you will be shared within the management and staff of the hotel.

The hotel enjoys an excellent location as you quite rightly highlighted i.e. close enough to the city centre with easy access in and out and also the local 'Quays' attractions.

We do hope you will have an opportunity to return soon and we very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

Stayed at the Copthorne for 1 night for a family wedding. Given we were only staying 1 night and were only in the room for a minimal amount of time, the hotel was ok. Rooms were nice and clean and the bedding looked new. The bathroom was a little dated, as was some of the furniture, and the view of the room was over the car park. Overall, fine for 1 night if you're staying for an event or to see Manchester, but not the place for a romantic weekend. We got a deal though a hotel booking site and were very happy with the price we paid, but seeing the full price rates on arrival, we would have been disappointed if we'd have paid these - the hotel is not worth the full price rates in our opinion.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lou2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copthorne_Manchester, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, 23 February 2011
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel.

We are pleased that you found the hotel suitable for your visit on this occasion.

Making a decision to visit and stay at hotels is indeed a very individual one and we always do our utmost to ensure we are meeting our guest requirements wherever possible.

We do hope you may reconsider a visit in the near future and indeed we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2011

I stayed at the Copthorne Salford Quays last week, for business.

Despite the fact that there was only one person in front of me check-in was slow, as there was only one person on reception, but they appeared to have lost the details of the party checking in.

Room had a nice view of the quays, and was spacious, but very dimly lit.

Had a bath, but could see from where I was lying in the bath that the toilet had not been properly cleaned.

Ate out, so can’t comment upon dinner at the restaurant.

Bed was comfortable, although not large, and I was not disturbed by any noise either within or outside the hotel.

Breakfast was very poor indeed. No pastries, beans were not hot, black pudding was not fully cooked, scrambled egg was very watery, as was the apple juice. Was there for just under half an hour, but no-one came to take an order for tea or coffee, so I had to go without.

I am in Salford very frequently, and usually make my own bookings; I think that I will try to do this in future, and probably won’t bother with this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonsieurBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copthorne_Manchester, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, 9 February 2011
On behalf of the Copthorne Hotel Manchester, thank you for taking the time to write your review.

It is of course disappointing to note that your stay was not an enjoyable one, particularly from a service aspect. However, please do be assured that your comments have been taken on board and will be duly actioned accordingly as there can be no excuses for the lack of attention to detail that you experienced.

We do sincerely hope that you may reconsider your decision to stay with us again, at which time we would very much like to restore your faith in the hotel and services we provide.

Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salford
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
0.1 mi away
AC Hotel Manchester Salford Quays
0.1 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Salford Quays
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK
0.4 mi away
Hotel Football Old Trafford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Manchester

Property: Copthorne Hotel Manchester
Address: Clippers Quay | Salford Quays, Salford M50 3SN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Salford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Salford
Copthorne Hotel Manchester Salford, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing