We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Campanile Manchester
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Stayed three night on business. A bit out of the way from Central Manchester on foot, but walk did me good. Room was clean, bed comfortable and nice to have a bath not just a shower. There was only one socket which was halfway up the wall outside the bathroom-difficult to charge phone and iPad at same time! Nothing much around so ate in restaurant a couple of nights -fish and chips ok but portion too large, steak good, but only came with chips-salad would have been nice. All staff throughout my stay were extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampanileMan, General Manager at Campanile Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Judith,

Thank you for writing the review on our Hotel, I hope your trip to Manchester was successful, I was glad to hear that you enjoyed several aspects of the Hotel. We are launching a new menu soon and I will pass on your comments regarding salad to the Food & Beverage Director.

Kind regards

Craig Hodgkinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (662)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

429 - 435 of 662 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

I'm not overly fussy about hotels - I'm happy so long as you get a decent bed and some quiet, helpful staff, and you come away feeling like you've got your money's worth. Unfortunately the Campanile in Salford fails miserably with the second two points. The staff were unhelpful (no info on checkout/breakfast/wifi when checking in, awful breakfast service) and pretty much disinterested whenever we saw any of them. The rooms themselves feel like a run down university halls of residence - fine if we'd paid a bargain price, but we were charged £85 for a weekend room. The room was full of oddities (like just the one power point halfway up a wall, and a strange additional interior door), the walls paper thin, and the bathroom full of mildew stains on the grouting and shower curtain (see pictures). They get an extra star for the beds being reasonably comfortable and somehow us getting a decent night's sleep despite the thin walls, and the relatively central location, but I wouldn't consider staying there again.

Room Tip: Don't get the basic room if you have to stay there. DEFINITELY request no ground floor rooms as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampanileMan, General Manager at Campanile Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear John,

Thank you for the feedback, I am sorry to hear that some aspects of your stay were not what we strive for, as with all feedback that we receive, both positive and negative we ensure it is distributed and reviewed by the relevant Heads of Department and team members to ensure we improve where we can.

Kind regards

Craig Hodgkinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Good and clean hotel with pleasant people. The rooms are quite small but good enough for short visits. It is not situated in a very good position but is not to far a way from MOSI(15 mins of walking).

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crisan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampanileMan, General Manager at Campanile Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and I hope the team & I have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel at some point in the future.

Kind regards

Craig Hodgkinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

good bits: good location, plenty of parking and it's free, free wi-fi, good location for 30 min walk to Old Trafford

bad bits: paid £110 for a room which was worse then a Travelodge room, no lock on bathroom door, no plug socket by bed to charge phone while sleeping. Didn't include breakfast it cost £6 more, which w hen paying £110 for a room is a disgrace in my opinino.

Wouldn't stay again unless desperate.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pittuk23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel was reasonably priced and in an ideal location for getting into central Manchester and free parking is always a bonus. However, on arrival the staff were less than welcoming and said we didn't have a booking...as it turned out they had put my first name in as my surname. The room itself was fine and the bed was very comfy but I was less than impressed with the quantities of someone else's hair in the shower plug hole. On the whole it did the job but there were some simple things that could have been better.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenC967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Stayed here 1 night on business trip and am grateful it was only 1 night!! Rooms are poorly decorated and soundproofed. I heard everyone in the building having their shower!! Bar/ restaurant and reception located in separate building ... Weird. Fence and electric gates around car park gave a prison like feel... Not a great sign. Located relative close to City centre and if honest I only booked as more recognisable hotels in City were fully booked. I won't be back. Would have got a better more comfortable sleep in my car!

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TourGuideTam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Paid 93.50 for this awful hotel. Stayed on the grand final night. Not far from old trafford. Location is alright but feel edgy. Dust all over the bed head board, light switches etc. Only 2 plug holes which is head length by the mirror and the tv. Unclean, flithy hotel rooms. Bed was ok and bedsheet were tidy. I had someone use a card and actually walk into my hotel room, i was half naked getting dressed for a night out. This morning someone banged on the door at 10 o'clock and opened it, average bath room - still not very clean! Overall id give it 1 star.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie1996x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salford hotels
0.9 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Salford Quays
0.9 mi away
Stay Inn Manchester
Stay Inn Manchester
#17 of 20 in Salford
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Manchester-West
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
1.0 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Manchester

Address: 55 Ordsall Lane, Salford M5 4RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Price Range: £35 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Campanile Manchester 2*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you come for business or to watch a football game or visit the Granada Studios, 2-star CAMPANILE HOTEL-RESTAURANT MANCHESTER– Salford has everything • Reception open 24 hours (night porter) • Free outdoor parking • Handicapped facilities • Restaurant capacity: 80 people • 2 conference rooms (Capacity: 50 people) • Conference room equipped with WIFI connection, easel board, video projector (paid rental), TV, DVD player, etc... • Bar • Terrace • Infant cots available, upon request on reservation • Free WIFI access (ask Reception for information) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Campanile Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Manchester Salford, Greater Manchester
Campanile Manchester Hotel Salford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing