We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Campanile Manchester
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Not very impressed...haven't used this chain before and would think twice before staying in one again. Had a twin room with my daughter and the one bed was so uncomfortable, you could feel the springs through the mattress. It was very warm in the room. The shower was a nightmare as the very flimsy curtain insisted on wrapping itself around me when I showered!!! The thought of how many bodies it may have touched...... They don't provide hand towels or face cloths. On the positive side, they did have irons and ironing boards to borrow. We ate there and were surprised when they said they didn't have any chicken....we were the first people to order that evening!! The staff were very pleasant though.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampanileMan, General Manager at Campanile Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Pat W,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel on tripadvisor our guests comments always contribute to enhance our customer service, I am pelased to see the team were pleasant and I apologise for the aspects of your stay that were not to your satisfaction.

regards

Craig H
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (674)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

403 - 409 of 674 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

Although not the plushest place we have stayed it was functional and everything worked, the staff were friendly and the location is convenient for the main things in Manchester. We were attending a concert at the Phones 4 U arena so it was about a 20min walk from the hotel. They provided a map which could have been slightly better as we got a bit lost, but that could have been our duff map reading! The tap in the sink was hanging off the wall but worked perfectly well and when you think that we paid a fraction of the price of most other accomm in Manchester you can't complain I suppose! Free parking and wifi included!! Didn't sample the delights of the breakfast buffet but it seems reasonable. Wouldn't rule it out if we were needing to stay again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampanileMan, General Manager at Campanile Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Andrew R,

Thanks for the positive review, I am happy to hear you found the staff helpful, I hope you enjoyed the concert & that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Regards

Craig H
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is the worst campinille iv ever stayed in. Lone female traveller and the hotel does not advertise the rooms are in a separate building to the reception, for security i dont feel thats good unless informed first. And to top it off the key card system wasnt working. The hotel is in desperate need of a good clean and refurb. Theres no lift so bags and case was carried upstairs by myself. The walls are so thin you can hear EVERYTHING. Was woken very early by the banging of doors, walking around above and to the sides and toilet flushing. The icing on the cake was when i asked to complain the male behind the desk said he was the one to complain to and as i put my concerns across all i got was a vacant stare and one word 'ok'. I have since complained in writing 3 days ago and still no response. Im disgusted.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marleyduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampanileMan, General Manager at Campanile Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Marleyduke,

Thank you for taking time to review the hotel. I understand that the Regional Operations Manager has corresponded with you regarding your recent stay, thanks for bringing these issues to our attention.

Regards

Craig H
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

WE arrived to very friendly and helpful staff. The room was adequate, but hey we paid just over £40 for two of us room only; so sorry you cant expect the Ritz! The room was clean and tidy with a tv, tea/coffee tray and an ensuite. Although the toilet had been previously broken and was a bit precarious when you sat on it lol. We both had the buffet breakfast at £6 each, which I suppose we could have walked down the road and got things cheaper, but to be honest we didn't want the hassle. So for £52.50 we got one night B&B for 2 in Salford. AND free parking which was worth the price of the breakfast!
The only comment I would make is if you are staying on a Friday or Saturday night ask for a quieter room as apparently they get stag and hen dos staying there. (But beware no lift is there, so you will have to climb stairs). Overall value for money and perfect for what we wanted. Thanks to all the very helpful staff who were on duty.

Room Tip: Ask for a quieter room if staying Saturday nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bernvines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampanileMan, General Manager at Campanile Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Bernvines,

Thankyou for the complimentary review, I am glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Regards

Craig H
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

There isn't much to add to the other recent reviews... It's a very basic hotel which could use some TLC. The keycards were not working while I stayed but the staff were great in making sure they were always available to let you into your room.

My room smelt like it used to be a smoking room so was musty and unpleasant - not helped by the smoke seeping through the door that connected me to the next room.

The breakfast was over-priced, re-heated and not particularly enjoyable. And you can't get a decent cup of tea... You have to get the hot water from the coffee machine.

If you need a taxi in the morning, book early! It took 25 minutes for them to arrive for me and other guests - a tad ridiculous in a city like Manchester! Might be the taxi service the hotel use, so maybe arm yourself with other numbers.

I probably won't stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beccada30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampanileMan, General Manager at Campanile Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Beccada30,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, I am glad to hear that you found the staff helpful & apologise for the inconvienience whilst our key machine was being replaced.

I apologise if the room had smelt of smoke, we are a non smoking hotel, but from time to time guests do smoke in the rooms, our housekeeping department should have spotted this, thanks for the feedback.

regards

Craig H
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Getting a room in Manchester for a Friday and Saturday night is always going to be a challenge. Paying £30 more than the Travel lodge for something worse than a Travel lodge is the result.
Arrived to find breakfast is £6 extra for continental or £8.75 for cooked. With a Sainsburys cafe next door this was definitely not going to happen. The key card entry system was not working meaning access to the room was by getting the staff to trail over to the room and let us in. Room really basic ensuite, depressing grey and white decor. Dreadful grey carpet and really tired looking in general. Bar was ok. Didnt bother eating there at all, menu being very limited.
Had fond memories of Campanile from working in Basidon 15 years ago. Will definitely not be using them again. The hen partys ensured sleep was not an option

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampanileMan, General Manager at Campanile Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear MartinDay,

Thank you for reviewing the Hotel, I am sorry to hear that you have not enjoyed your stay with us on this occasion as you have mentioned our key card system was down while the new system was delivered I am sorry this caused an inconvienience.

Regards

Craig H
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We recently stayed in Campanile for a Hen Do and obviously expected it to be average (we only paid about £70 each for 1 night) - the service was great, especially by the reception staff (they couldn't do enough for us) but the rooms, although clean, definitely need updating. For example, the sealing around the baths and sink areas etc...!
Our breakfast was included and Ged was the waiter, who was lovely but the restaurant wasn't very busy at all but it took a while to get cutlery and empty plates to be cleared!
Lower your expectations on the rooms, and you'll be satisfied. If you're looking for a Holiday Inn / Premier Inn standard then pay extra to stay in one of those... if not, and it's a place to rest your drunken head... then definitely book!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampanileMan, General Manager at Campanile Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Cathryn M,

Thank you for your review, I hope you enjoyed the hen do, Its nice to hear the reception team have looked after you & I am sorry the breakfast service was slow in the morning.

regards

Craig H
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salford hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Manchester-West
0.9 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Salford Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Stay Inn Manchester
Stay Inn Manchester
#17 of 20 in Salford
493 reviews
5.3 mi away
Novotel Manchester West
1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Manchester

Address: 55 Ordsall Lane, Salford M5 4RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Price Range: £37 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Campanile Manchester 2*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you come for business or to watch a football game or visit the Granada Studios, 2-star CAMPANILE HOTEL-RESTAURANT MANCHESTER– Salford has everything • Reception open 24 hours (night porter) • Free outdoor parking • Handicapped facilities • Restaurant capacity: 80 people • 2 conference rooms (Capacity: 50 people) • Conference room equipped with WIFI connection, easel board, video projector (paid rental), TV, DVD player, etc... • Bar • Terrace • Infant cots available, upon request on reservation • Free WIFI access (ask Reception for information) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Campanile Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Manchester Salford, Greater Manchester
Campanile Manchester Hotel Salford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing