We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Campanile Manchester
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Burnley
1 review
“Average!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Myself and 3 friends stayed here over the weekend for a night out. Arriving at the hotel we realised it was very close to the city centre and shops which was ideal. The hotel on the outside looked nice. We entered into reception to check in at which point we were asked to pay £50 per rooms as a deposit if there was any damage left. This was not a problem until i had problems the following few days trying to receive this £100 back into my account when we left the rooms spotless. The rooms are clean but very basic and basic decor also. We paid £52 for the night so we cant complain really as the beds were comfy and it was ideal for what we needed it for! Male staff at the hotel seem very rude and abrupt. Overall it was average just pretty annoyed about the £100 deposit situation which the hotel have apologised for in fairness.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampanileMan, Front Office Manager at Campanile Manchester, responded to this review, 17 October 2014
Dear Albxo,

Thank You for Your review regarding Your stay in Campanile Manchester. I am glad to hear that You find the hotel in a good location.I would like to apologise for delay on the pre-authorisation process.

Kind Regards
Tomasz G
1st Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    193
    170
    90
    97
See reviews for
71
192
31
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights whilst breaking a long journey & visiting friends on the way home from a holiday. The room we had was fantastically clean & comfortable. After two weeks in & out of a variety of hotels I can also say that this hotel had the best shower!
We had an evening meal in the restaurant which was delicious & very reasonably priced, the breakfast was also varied & plentiful. Service was faultless - efficient & friendly.
Thank you very much!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampanileMan, Front Office Manager at Campanile Manchester, responded to this review, 17 October 2014
Dear Gillian G,

Thank you for the five star review, We are glad to hear you enjoyed dining with us. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Tomasz G
1st Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

£65 for a double room is too expensive for this place. Stayed on a Sat night for work on the Sun - definitely not advised if sleep is required!! Large group making lots of noise on our floor at 11pm, again extremely loud in car park on their early morning return. A couple having a screaming argument in the car park in early hours also didn't help sleep. Room fine, nothing to write home about. Very bog standard. Ok if you're looking to crash after a night out perhaps but nothing more.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fireforhair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampanileMan, Front Office Manager at Campanile Manchester, responded to this review, 17 October 2014
Dear Fireforhair,

Thank you for leaving a review for your stay in Campanile Manchester. I would like to apologise for the disturbances over the night. We have installed a quiet zone area in the bedroom block but on this occasion it appears not to have helped. Thanks to your review we will re-look at this.

Kind regards

Tomasz G
1st assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Salford hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We booked through booking.com thinking it included breakfast ... Try another £9 each when the breakfast was not very nice tbh! I came with a small infant and they knew of this and gave me a room on the 2nd floor which has no lift so it was a workout going up and down stairs with a pram and other things and other ppl say a view of the canal we had a view of a busy road and no offense to the workers but they seemed to forget shouting and bawling to there friends at 5am at a hotel isn't always good !! The place was clean enough though but would rather spend a few more pound and go to a better hotel ... The high security fence is a bonus as well makes you feel extra safe lol ... Won't be back and the only member of staff who was nice was the guy chef and the woman at reception with the braids genuinely really nice she was more staff should be like her ... Happy !!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Muzzzaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampanileMan, Front Office Manager at Campanile Manchester, responded to this review, 17 October 2014
Dear Muzzzaaa,

Thank you for leaving a review on our hotel, I am very sorry you did not enjoy your stay in Campanile Manchester on this occasion. I apologise for the room not being on the ground floor. I will pass on your comments to the staff that positively impacted your stay.

Kind regards

Tomasz G
1st Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hullbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We have stayed at this Hotel several times and have never had any qualms about returning. The Hotel is functional-looking, so what? Its job, which it achieves, is to provide secure, very clean and adequately comfortable accommodation for a budget price with a reasonably priced food and drinks menu.

The reception and other staff we encountered were helpful and welcoming. A gripe for some people could be the lack of a lift. However there is secure, on-site free parking, a rare bonus that you don't get in most of the other centrally located hotels. Its easy to find, admittedly next to a very busy main road, adjacent to large shopping park with a large Sainsburys/cafe or opposite there is a KFC and a MacD if you want a snackbite instead of the Hotel menu.

The hotel is excellently located, within 10-15 mins stroll to the Science Museum (a must) which is next to the old Granada TV studios with its 'Coro' Street Tour, and Deansgate. Old Trafford and Media City are probably 20-25 mins.

I was disappointed by a business lady's comments in her review regarding 'workmen' staying at the Hotel and her situation as a lone female. Does she feel that contractors have a different mindset and intentions to smooth and slick reps and are more likely to prey on her. Of course not, having a works van instead of a Mondeo does'nt mean you should be in £15 B&B digs with a landlady!

Room Tip: Upstairs, if you don't mind lack of lift, facing canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampanileMan, General Manager at Campanile Manchester, responded to this review, 17 October 2014
Dear Dave P,

Thanks for the review of the Hotel, I am pleased to hear the team have looked after you during your stay. We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Craig H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
533 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Cheap one night transient situated in the heart of old Salford and at the Manchester end of the ship canal. Great location but not up to standard. Entrance area very shoddy, weeds, litter and no first impression other than "what's coming". Check in quick and efficient arrived 10pm pay up front.
Room on second floor canal facing was clean but sparsely furnished and not up to much. Window hardly opened and the dirt, flies and spiders still attached to the glass left one feeling it was dirty.
Bathroom spotless but still had a feeling this place was edgey!!
Room was warm no air cond and the pillows were poly!!!! We managed to sleep through the night but the noise levels between rooms was un-acceptable. Breakfast was traditional but the illiterate that served us should learn the basics in hotel hospitality. Not my first choice but we got what we paid for, a family room 3 persons B&B for £82! We had to attend a funeral next day hence the booking!

Room Tip: Try the Ramada next door and pay the higher price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spithead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampanileMan, General Manager at Campanile Manchester, responded to this review, 17 October 2014
Dear Kelfords195,

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel during your visit to Manchester, I am sorry that certain aspects of your stay were not satisfactory and I have thorouoghly reviewed your comments with the team and apologise for the issue at breakfast service.

Kind regards

Craig H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

A drab exterior,which sets the scene and does not get any better inside.The reception area is in a seperate block to the rooms.As a female traveller on her own,I didn't see any other women.Just work men........The whole place is basic of the basic.The walls are woodchip wallpaper,its been a very long time since it was decorated!! Having been on the road all day....I tried to put this all to one side as I needed a shower and some sleep.I was there for 3 hrs and couldnt stop itching.NOT CLEAN and there was no way I could sleep here.Upon check-in you are given a key card and a security number.The security number is to get in the building opposite reception where the rooms are....No lift!at all.The whole hotel has a high security fence surrounding it and they actually lock the car park at night.says it all really! After 3 hrs I decided enough was enough and checked out and drove home turning my day into an even longer day.As for the wifi....I got a connection but struggled to do any work as the signal was not strong enough.so not a good experience in any way shape or form.
I would say it needs a drastic refurb,however money would be better spent ripping it down and rebuilding it into a proper hotel......as currently a hotel it is not.....more like a hostel!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandyTurner7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampanileMan, General Manager at Campanile Manchester, responded to this review, 17 October 2014
Dear MandyTurner7,

Thanks for reviewing the Hotel on Tripadvisor, I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. Should you wish to discuss any aspect of your stay please contact me at the hotel by email on manager.manchester@campanile.com

Kind regards

Craig H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salford
0.9 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Salford Central Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Manchester-West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Salford Quays Hotel
1.0 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Manchester

Property: Campanile Manchester
Address: 55 Ordsall Lane, Salford M5 4RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Campanile Manchester 2*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you come for business or to watch a football game or visit the Granada Studios, 2-star CAMPANILE HOTEL-RESTAURANT MANCHESTER– Salford has everything • Reception open 24 hours (night porter) • Free outdoor parking • Handicapped facilities • Restaurant capacity: 80 people • 2 conference rooms (Capacity: 50 people) • Conference room equipped with WIFI connection, easel board, video projector (paid rental), TV, DVD player, etc... • Bar • Terrace • Infant cots available, upon request on reservation • Free WIFI access (ask Reception for information) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Louvre hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Campanile Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Manchester Salford, Greater Manchester
Campanile Manchester Hotel Salford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing