We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lowry Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$119
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$119
AC Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$62
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Novotel Manchester West(Worsley)(Great Value!)
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (2,889)
Filter reviews
2,889 results
Traveller rating
1,844
645
239
99
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,844
645
239
99
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswalk in wardrobeafternoon teaturn down serviceriver viewfive star hotelcar parkrooms are largebirthday treathuge bedfloor to ceiling windowsfantastic hotelsuperior roommini barcity centrefantastic staybar and restaurantbars and restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
2,299 - 2,304 of 2,889 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed here as I was attending a conference here. Area of Manchester is rough and we were warned not to venture out after dark on our own. Room service food was decidedly average and without warning a 10% service charge added to the already hefty bill. Mini bar is hugely expensive (£3 for a packet of crisps) and a continental breakfast a whopping £16.50. Having said that the hotel is very clean, stylish with friendly staff. Spa is lovely too.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterKienast, General Manager at The Lowry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience. Whilst I am happy that you found the hotel to be well looked after and our team friendly, I was sorry to read about your disappointments. I do hope you will consider visiting us again in the future. With kind regards, Peter Kienast General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

I had picked this hotel because most of the Rocco Forte hotels I have stayed at were nice and enjoyable. However I was not very impressed by the Lowry. The hotel is located in a nice area of Manchester. The surroundings aren't very charming but there are plenty of restauants and shops around.
The hotel has a rather cold feeling in general. Rocco Forte stands for simple luxury but this property is more about simplicity. The lobby area, hallways and rooms all look rather cheap and not very luxurious. The food wasn't very impressing either.
The staff on the other hand where very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phenompilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterKienast, General Manager at The Lowry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you found my colleagues to be friendly and helpful, however I am sorry that our contemporary style wasn’t for you. I do hope you will try us again in the future. With kind regards, Peter Kienast, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

I stayed in The Lowry 2 nights and the room was very nice and being a 5 star i thought we would have dinner in the dining room one of the nights - big mistake. We ordered the Atlantic prawns for starters and was really looking forward to them - well we had 12 tiny shrimps which had their shells on - so much work to get anything to eat that we gave up and they were watery as if they had be frozen and the prices were something like 6 'prawns' were £6 and 12 'prawns' £12. Worst thing was even with lemon water to wash your hands - they still felt dirty and smelly! For main i had lamb which was fatty and not to my liking. Never again

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank napier302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterKienast, General Manager at The Lowry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Dear Guest, I was sorry to read about your disappointment. The size of our Prawns are very much dictated by what is caught by the fisherman, however our recipes are made in accordance to the weight value to ensure that we offer consistency to every guest. I am sorry that the dish wasn’t for you, shellfish can be messy business. I will of course share your review with our Head Chef. Thank you for your time, we do hope you will change your mind and return in the future. With kind regards, Peter Kienast General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

What a beautiful experience , We went here yesterday for our daughters birthday .
This was something different to your usual tea parties .
From the out set this hotel is very elegant and beautiful , The staff are lovely and treat so well .
A lady called "Greta " (I think) assisted us and she was top notch , We took 5 girls and she was fab with them , The tea for the kids is good value for what you get at £6.50 , for adults more money but the food and drinks are first class .
This was so lovely I would certainly go again , but not with a load of kids !!! perhaps with just my husband !!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YORKSHIRE123_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterKienast, General Manager at The Lowry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review, I am delighted your daughter’s birthday was a great success. Our Children’s Afternoon Tea has been a great hit since we first introduced it; children really seem enjoy the fun of the service. Maybe next time you and your husband might enjoy a night of cocktails and dinner for a well deserved night off. I hope to welcome you back soon. With kind regards Peter Kienast General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here this week. We booked a city view room with breakfast online at a discount, but this isn't a cheap place. Parking costs £15 per day extra even when a room is over £200 a night! However the hotel is excellent. It's ideally located and only 10-15 minutes to the MEN Arena where we went to see Lady Gaga. She stayed here too, so there were fans and paparazzi waiting outside! The room was enormous and luxurious. Staff polite and helpful. The bed is comfy and we slept well. Breakfast was top notch with high quality ingredients. It was our first stay and we will visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterKienast, General Manager at The Lowry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Dear Guest, I am very pleased you enjoyed your recent stay, thank you for sharing your experience. Please visit again soon. With kind regards, Peter Kienast General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews