We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,140)
Filter reviews
3,140 results
Traveller rating
1,992
695
261
114
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,992
695
261
114
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walk in wardrobe afternoon tea turn down service five star hotel river view car park rooms are large birthday treat huge bed fantastic hotel floor to ceiling windows superior room mini bar fantastic stay city centre hotel bar building work
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 3,140 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

We found staying here for a couple of nights an interesting and enjoyable experience overall but did experience some challenges that I would not expect in a five star hotel.

First of all the car parking is really easy opposite the hotel entrance and a warm welcome from the doorman was appreciated. Check in was a bit challenging and in particular we were advised when booking that we should reserve dinner on arrival. This proved to be a a rather slow and unsatisfactory experience and the receptionist agreed to call through to the room when resolved.

The room was cold on arrival but we thought that turning up the heating would soon sort the issue and were not to worried but after a while it became clear that this was not the case. We called reception and eventually a very pleasant maintenance man came and fixed the air conditioning unit for us so we were not too worried.

We went down to the restaurant for dinner and had a rather awkward experience as there was no record of our dinner reservation and we were not made to feel welcome at all. The dinner was really quite enjoyable and the staff and service pleasant once seated. The restaurant was not full so I am slightly unsure why we could not have had a reservation at our preferred time and really what was all the fuss about. I was amused when asking for a description of the types of bread for the waiter to go back to the kitchen and advise that it was just brown bread with no further description.

On return to our room it was cold and as it was getting late by now we elected to have a portable heater and additional duvet to keep warm overnight, not quite what you might expect from a five star hotel but at least the night porter was very cheery.

On returning the following evening the room was still not warm so we chose to transfer to a different room which was similar but at least the air conditioning unit was working. This took several trips down to reception to arrange as the phone was not being answered.

Overall the hotel is great and the location is very convenient. Many staff are exceptional but I think some thought needs to go into the guest experience. I am fully aware that sometimes things break down but what is really important is how management responds to these challenges.

Final comment is that the breakfasts are among the best hotel breakfasts that I have ever had.

Room tip: River view rooms have a better outlook
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank graham992016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianEllis, Guest Services Director at The Lowry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear graham992016

Thank you for your recent trip advisor review. We appreciate your candid feedback and sorry to hear that there were aspects of your visit that did not meet with your expectations. I will look into the aircon issue and apologise if the room was not to your satisfaction but I'm delighted we moved you and I will investigate the issues raised with the booking and bread in the restaurant. We are delighted you found the hotel is great overall and we appreciate your open feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Jason Orton
Guest Services Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Am a frequent visitor to the Lowry and it is comfortably the best hotel in Manchester. Big spacious rooms, great food (amazing breakfast), solid gym (for European hotel standards) and great service. Check-in and check-out always very speedy too and almost always accommodating when I need an early check-in.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ianrossmanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianEllis, Guest Services Director at The Lowry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Ianrossmanchester,

Thank you for your kind trip advisor review. We were pleased you enjoyed the accommodation and facilities at the Hotel and think we are providing a good service to our guests. We most definitely look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind Regards

Jason Orton
Guest Services Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

15 family and friends lodged at The Lowry on 12/30/18 during a trip to watch the Manchester United football match. The service was prompt from the reception to checking out. The desk personnel were helpful since we had arrive early by train from London and our rooms were not ready. The doormen was helpful in obtaining transpiration to Old Trafford stadium. Also, they provided good suggestions and directions for lunch and dinner spots.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Fred R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianEllis, Guest Services Director at The Lowry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Fred R

Thank you for your fantastic review. We are delighted to read your positive comments regarding your stay. We thank you for taking the time to provide feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards


Jason Orton
Guest Services Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here Dec 18 for a night. Had a noise issue from the idiots in the next room as the adjoining door wasn't soundproofed, however the issue was swiftly dealt with by the night manager who was extremely helpful and sympathetic. All the facilities were excellent. Fab bed and bedding, good sized spotless room. Lovely bathroom and shower and we have absolutely no complaints at all. Afternoon tea was also excellent.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DaveyNorthUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianEllis, Guest Services Director at The Lowry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi DaveyNorthUK,

I'm delighted to hear the night manager dealt with your issue so swiftly and you found your stay was excellent. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us such a nice review and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Jason Orton
Guest Services Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We've stayed at the Lowry a couple of times, most recently with our daughter.
Never disappointed with the rooms or service, this time a complimentary soft teddy in a lowry dressing gown was left for our daughter which was a lovely touch. We stayed here for 3 nights and really felt at home. Would choose this hotel time and time again. Only bad comment would be that the bathroom tiles needed repairing slightly - but this didn't worry us.
My favourite bit - the huge bath!!!

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Genia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianEllis, Guest Services Director at The Lowry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Genia R

Many thanks for taking time to leave us such a nice review. We are glad your daughter like our gift we left for her and that you felt at home during your stay. I will definitely get our team to look at the tiles you mentioned and hope its not to long until you return to visit us

kind regards

Jason Orton
Guest Services Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews