We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Handy for Old Trafford...looks pretty but doesn't reflect the advert”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Heart Apartments - MediaCityUK
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Handy for Old Trafford...looks pretty but doesn't reflect the advert”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Aesthetically pleasing.... but that is about it......very cheaply furnished.

Found the place easily, very handy to get in and out of. The surroundng area is well kept and feels very safe.

The receptionist was very rude when we arrived at the hotel, which instantly put a dampner on things. £200 deposit was made. The most expensive deposit I have paid...but fair enough.

As I said, room was aestherically pleasing, however did not reflect anything on the website. No luxury toiletries, nice bed linen or towelling. It was very cheaply furnished. 2 single beds pushed together...television remote broken.

We had great views across the quay - but no where is it 'clearly' noted that you can't access the balcony. Which would have been a nice luxury - as we had great weather. So yes, the balcony is locked.

The bath plug was broken...which meant the water wouldn't drain properly...still waiting for maintenance....

There was a number of warnings about parties - however...I don't think the residents children get the same warning....

On the plus point ....I don't want to be too grumpy...

It was perfect for Old Trafford - 10 minute walk along the prominade...and a 2 minute walk to the tram facilities which take you into the town centre.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanna123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baiba Z, Manager at The Heart Apartments - MediaCityUK, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Madam,


Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent visit to TheHeart Apartments, MediaCityUK.

I was sorry to hear that on this occasion you were disappointed with the check in experience. Please accept my most sincere apologies for any upset or inconvenience caused. Please rest assured that you have not experienced the ordinarily high standards we normally provide.

I hope the issues you described does not dissuade you from staying with us again in the near future and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to TheHeart Apartments, MediaCityUK.

With Kind Regards
Baiba Zarina
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    61
    36
    24
    17
See reviews for
44
56
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Firstly does not show up on gps! Drove around for over an hour trying to find the place. Rang and was given instructions which were inaccurate
A map showing exactly how to get there should be a must, not just what is currently on the site.
I booked a 2 bedroom apartment for 3 adults. Looked nothing like the photo. Was like a closet converted to an apartment the living area was Approx 10 foot wide!!! There were 2 bedrooms one single with a single wardrobe and bed, that's it. The other a double , no wardrobe at all!! An ensuite which we could not use. The water in the shower was so hot it was scalding, very dangerous. We all used the main bathroom !! It was not an open plan concept as shown on the site, very misleading. The whole apartment is fitted out with poor quality furniture and fittings. Very little information about refuse disposal etc. front desk is often left unattended. Had to wait along with various other people for someone to turn up to check us in. Very unprofessional !! Would not stay again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baiba Z, Manager at The Heart Apartments - MediaCityUK, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Madam,


I appreciate you honest feedback from you most recent stay with us at TheHeart Apartments, MediaCityUK.

Please accept my most sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused- it is never our intention for any of our guests to leave dissatisfied.

Once again we regret your disappointment and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

With Kind Regards
Baiba Zarina
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Salford hotels

Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

A last minute booking early Tuesday morning for an arrival at the apartment that night.
Fantastic price for such a large 2 double bedroom, spacious apartment and fantastic views.
The beds were very comfortable and kitchen was fully equipped.
We would defiantly be staying here again.
Was an easy walk to Old Trafford and close to the tram station to get into the city.
Car parking in media city is 24 hours and the reception can stamp your ticket to reduce the price.
over all a happy customer :-)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baiba Z, Manager at The Heart Apartments - MediaCityUK, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Kimberley,


I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your very kind words regarding our apartments during your recent stay.

It fills me with great pleasure knowing you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

Many thanks once again and we hope to accommodate you again as soon as possible.

With Kind Regards
Baiba Zarina
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Booked three rooms for a night at the apartment for myself and a group of friends. Was told through the booking company we were able to pay with cash on arrival. However when we arrived we were told it was card only. The woman at reception was extremely rude about this and wouldn't get the manager when we asked to speak to them. Would not book to stay here again due to the poor attitude of the staff

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotteoliver92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baiba Z, Manager at The Heart Apartments - MediaCityUK, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Madam,


I appreciate you honest feedback from you most recent stay with us at TheHeart Apartments, MediaCityUK.

To avoid disappointment we inform our guests on every travel agent website that we do not accept cash payments for accommodation.

Once again we regret you had a reason to complain and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.


With Kind Regards

Baiba Zarina
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Found the apartments very easily, a short walk to the Lowry, a nice bar, Costa Coffee is basically next door and Booths. The kitchen cover below oven was falling off however other than that very comfy and bedrooms big enough. Bathroom was immaculate.

Great if going to the Lowry, Warehouse project or Man Utd ground.

£200 deposit in case of any damage etc is shocking though especially when you consider Blue Rainbow in the centre of Manchester only charges £75 and only takes that off you if there is damage to the room. These apartments take the money imediately then dont refund it for 2-3 working days.

They also didnt advise thety would take full payment before I arrived from my card as I wanted to pay cash. Balcony shown are locked even if you had one which we didnt.

Basically Id stay again if it werent for the £200 deposit which is higher than most apartments in Manchester

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baiba Z, Manager at The Heart Apartments - MediaCityUK, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent stay at TheHeart Apartments, MediaCityUK.

I was sorry to hear that you were disappointed that the payment has been taken prior to your arrival but we do so to add convenience upon check in so you can start enjoying your stay as soon as you arrive. Unfortunately we do not accept cash payments and we inform our guests about this on travel agent websites.

I hope the issues you described does not dissuade you from staying with us again in the near future and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to TheHeart Apartments, MediaCityUK.

Many thanks once again.

With Kind Regards
Baiba Zarina
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

we have stayed at the Heart Apartments twice. With five people in our family, it's a bargain, and there is a food shop a couple of minutes away, so no need to buy meals out unless you want. Miinutes walk from cinema, theatre, museum, gallery, shopping, restaurant and trams. Heating you control yourself, so you can adapt to suit.
I'd have appreciated blinds at the windows, when the curtains aren't drawn it's like living in a reality tv show, overlooked by the BBC offices. The five-person apartments have three double beds - some singles would be more useful. There are also seats at the table for four and comfy seats for four - again, it's not very clear why they assume the fifth person won't want to eat or watch tv with the others.
It's good and clean, well located and value for money, a bit more attention to detail with the furniture would make it excellent.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank RMFerguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baiba Z, Manager at The Heart Apartments - MediaCityUK, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Ms Ferguson,

Many thanks for taking the time for sharing your experience, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at TheHeart Apartments, MediaCityUK.

Your feedback is much appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.


With Kind Regards
Baiba Zarina
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth
Level Contributor
131 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The modern apartments nestle on the waterfront of the new Media City development. They are well equipped residential style apartments - which are spotless.
There is a supermarket nearby plus the Holiday Inn or Lowery shopping centre fast food options too.

The room I had did suffer one design fault - it's right opposite a major BBC windowed building and you look over their meetings as much as they stare at you. Without any net or modesty blinds you've the option of Closed Curtain Darkness or Voyeurism!

Oh - you receive no useful directions to the Apartment. once parked ignore the signs to the Hotel, go the opposite way. Find the Costa and head alongside it to the waterfront. Once you see the entrance to the Tower block, you've found the apartments.

Room Tip: Avoid the x02 rooms unless you are a spy for ITV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tig121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baiba Z, Manager at The Heart Apartments - MediaCityUK, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam,


Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent stay at TheHeart Apartments, MediaCityUK.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your very kind words regarding our apartments during your recent stay.

It fills me with great pleasure knowing you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

I do indeed hope that "you'll be back" soon, please send us your details for when you next stay again to reservations@theheartapartments.co.uk so we can allocate you a room with a better view.

If you do require directions to the apartments, please see our website for post code and directions or contact us directly on 01618206868.

Many thanks once again.

With Kind Regards
Baiba Zarina
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salford
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
0.8 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Salford Quays Hotel
0.7 mi away
AC Hotel Manchester Salford Quays
0.7 mi away
Hotel Football Old Trafford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heart Apartments - MediaCityUK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heart Apartments - MediaCityUK

Property: The Heart Apartments - MediaCityUK
Address: The Heart Media Blue | Salford Quays, Salford M50 2TJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Salford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Heart Apartments - MediaCityUK 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
\Styled to appeal to both the business and leisure traveller, The Heart Serviced Apartments consist of 50 fully equipped and beautifully furnished self-contained apartments in Manchester's newest landmark location - MediaCityUK. Just 2 miles from the M60 and M62 motorways The Heart Serviced Apartments are in an ideal location for access to Manchester and the wider North West. Old Trafford for Manchester United matches, the Lowry Centre, Imperial War Museum North and Lowry Outlet Mall are all just minutes away, and Manchester City Centre is just a 10 minute tram ride away from MediaCityUK tram stop. If you’re an avid shopper the award winning Trafford Centre retail and leisure complex is only 10 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Heart Apartments - MediaCityUK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Heart Apartments - MediaCityUK Salford, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing