We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Travelodge Manchester Salford Quays
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed for 2 nights to use as a convenient base for exploring central Manchester and so it proved. We travelled to Salford quays on the tram and the stop was just 5 minutes walk from the hotel. The check in was very simple and the reception staff very welcoming that put us at ease. The room was very clean, although basic with only brewing facilities and tv/radio provided. No storage drawers, just a shelf and hangers.
We did not take an evening meal, but close by were an indian. a Mexican and an Italian restaurant. We did pay extra for breakfast and this was very wholesome with all you could eat although fried eggs were not available.
Compared to central Manchester this was good value for money at £75 per night for bed and breakfast for 2 people. We would definitely stay there again as the comfortable bed gave a good night's sleep.
Just 2 minuses; To say they cater for guests travelling light it would be beneficial if they provided some shampoo in the shower, and also on the day of departure, company rules say that they could not look after our case while we toured the Lowry area until we left the city.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonathan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,035)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

970 - 976 of 1,035 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

It is some years since I've stayed in a Travelodge, and wasn't sure what to expect this time round. However, I was more than pleasantly surprised. Very clean. Lovely staff. Decent on-site food. A comfortable room. For 2 adults, 3 nights accommodation just £80! Parking and breakfast are extra. However, if you want to save money, the Morrisons Supermarket about 100M away serves breakfasts in its restaurant from 8am onwards.

Okay the hotel lacks the freebies on offer at more expensive establishments (toiletries, newspapers, bathrobes etc), but for the money I believe it offers incredible value. Also, just 5 minutes walk from Salford Quays tram station, with its wider connections to Greater Manchester.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MPMUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We travelled to Manchester from Dorset and having journeyed through some awful weather and suffered the M6, we had just about had enough when we arrived. Our Reception was so warm and friendly that we felt at ease immediately. The booking-in procedure was smooth and painless, a pleasant change! All of the facilities of the Travelodge were clearly explained, everything about this hotel met our expectations. The Bar and restaurant were clean, well laid out and welcoming.Our room was just perfect, a lovely bed and a very clean Bathroom. The food was excellent value for money and the staff are to be congratulated for their friendly service and efficiency. Clearly a well run hotel, our congratulations to the Manager and her Staff, we will certainly book this Hotel when we come to Manchester again

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I would like to thank the hotel for a lovely stay. The place is very cheap and very cheerful. The place was very central and there is plenty of amenitys surrounding you. Would like to say a big thank you to Tom the night guy for all his help. Definately would stay again.

Room Tip: Gym near by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tutey69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed at this Travelodge purely for football reasons as the hotel is about a 10 minute walk from Manchester Uniteds Old Trafford.
Hotel is located in Salford Quays and was easy enough to find, although the Morrison’s supermarket next door is the more obvious landmark and also the car park for Travelodge. Parking is chargeable at £7 a day but make sure you pay before midday as it goes up to £9 a minute past 12 and you only get 10 minutes to leave so load car prior to paying.
This Travelodge is quite a new design and very clean. Handily situated next door to a Morrison’s Supermarket (open until 10pm) for any extras you require and a better value food selection and breakfast than the hotels. Rooms were not huge but adequate for a short stay, comfortable and clean with usual limited Travelodge sundries of tea/coffee and a bar of soap.
Hotel was slightly noisy but that was down to the visiting football support. I’d presume it’s similar for most Manchester Utd. Home games so if you aren’t keen on that aspect of life then check your football fixtures and look elsewhere. Other than football/Cricket I’d presume the hotel is as peaceful as expected. Likewise the price of the hotel varied depending on Manchester Utds home fixtures and I’d presume Englands Cricket fixtures.
Best aspects of the hotel for ourselves were the bar. The only other bar in proximity (The Matchstick Man) was nice enough but as expected due to match, ten deep at the bar. The Travelodge having a guest only policy was a huge advantage of a pre match pint, with staff cleverly closing the bars curtains so the crowds passing by were non the wiser of the interior. The pubs around Old Trafford refused to allow us entry but again I’d presume that’s a match day only policy. After the match we were again able to get a pint (until 5am) without any problem. Only gripe was the bizarre reason to have staff training on a night when they surely expect the place to be very busy.
Didn’t see a great deal of the local area but it seemed okay. Granada television studios were nearby and as said Old Trafford Football Ground and Cricket Ground were also a handy ten minute walk. There was a tram station nearby also for trams into the City. No idea how long it takes though.
All in all a excellent Travelodge which is really useful if your visiting for Football and Cricket but is priced accordingly to the particular events.

Room Tip: If its a matchday the higher the better so you cant hear the barroom choirs when you finally go to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julieslegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This Travelodge has had a refurbishment and is very nice and clean and bright.
Nice room, like the new bathroom and a comfy bed.
The only downside is no onsite parking, although the Morrisons next door is minutes away and you get a good deal if you validate your ticket at reception. £7 for 13hrs.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank ian1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Very central location. Staff were so friendly and helpful. The bed was really comfortable and the room was very clean. Would definitely stay here again! The adjoining car park was £7 per day, which was reasonable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Lisa U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salford
0.3 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
4.7 mi away
Novotel Manchester West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Manchester
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Manchester-West
0.7 mi away
Hotel Football Old Trafford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Manchester Salford Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Manchester Salford Quays

Address: 18 Markendale Place, Salford M5 3GW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Salford
Price Range: £42 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Manchester Salford Quays 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Manchester Salford Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Manchester Salford Quays Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing