We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't judge a book by its cover!!”
Review of Salford Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Salford Arms Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Salford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 April 2013 via mobile

Came here for one night to see the football,me and my cousin arrived around 5pm I went in to see where we could park and they couldn't be more helpful on giving me directions to a 24hour car park,we ended up parking 100yards or so down the road to a 24hour car park which was secure and manned for £7.we went back to the salford arms and as we squared up the payment for our stay they poured us a beer and we taken it to our rooms as thy shown us how to get in and out and the room itself

The rooms are basic but clean and the beds quite comfy and a eleven bathroom too! We was in room 1 the en suite,had all the tea ad coffee making facilities and a small tv up on the wall too.the pub is open until 2/2:30am so there was a few people sat outside in the courtyard bit(entrance to get to rooms when pub is shut) we could hear them from our rooms but wasn't a problem we had a few beers so slept through it fine.

Would I come here again! Yeh definitely but not on a Monday the other bars was either shut or student/guest list only! Except the one bar we went too! This was deanssgate though so maybe if your coming for a few beers stick with the pub downstairs or go Into the centre.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Damiancarlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2013

Stayed here after an awful two years staying across the road, this place was like heaven compared to that.

While it isn't the best place in the world (nor do they claim to be) they are really friendly and glad to have you staying with them.

Room wise, they are basic, but they are clean and comfortable, I had a better nights sleep than in my own bed!

Room Tip: There is a main road which can be load in the day and still busy at night, they don't mind being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WidnesDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed in this hotel while attending a gig at the Arena. While it was well situated and the staff were friendly (if a little confused), the room was poor; the window didn't shut, making it very cold, and we were given a key without a working fob, which was replaced by a working fob but the wrong room key so we couldn't get back in! Thankfully, the bar was still open when we returned so they could open the door for us. In addition, my key deposit (we left before the pub opened so left them in the room) and booking fee from Booking.com were not refunded, despite numerous queries.

I am aware that the management of the hotel had recently changed when we stayed and I appreciate that they weren't sure which bookings were carried on from the previous owners. I hope that they have resolved the issue with refunding key deposits and have replaced the windows as these were the main issues we had.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 88lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

I went for one night with a friend and the people are the friendliest ive ever met in a hotel situation! The room was a little cold but the guys were so attentive and gave us an extra heater, along with a hair dryer I forgot! We had bar food delivered to our room. And the manager Chris was awesome, helped us find a great bar/club to go to as we were new to the area. He even ensured we got there and in safely...i cannot fault the hospitality! Definately cant wait to come back and visit. Thanks for the awesome experience everyone in the hotel! Sara and Lisa (London) :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Let’s get this bit out of the way first. It’s a B&B. The rooms are adequate and sanitary but we are not dealing with frills here people. Someone who owns the hotel had enough money to go to Ikea and thrown together 10 serviceable rooms. That’s not being disingenuous because there’s a shower, towels and everything you’d expect. But the four rating is not because of the rooms. No siree. That’ll be the service.
I stay in hotels relatively regularly as part of my job and used to work in the industry myself and let me tell thee...The welcome and the tour were exemplary. An authenticity just runs through this place. From the staff who were so helpful and genuine, the locals who ( even when you crash through the doors at half seven on a Saturday night with an over packed overnight bag) were warm and friendly. It was almost as if the owners knew I was coming and prepped everyone for the “7.30 arrival”
This is the best compliment I can pay to a great Salford boozer with good local ales and local tales. All this coupled with excellent service and a good enough room makes it four out of five from me. And I’ve stayed twice!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DAWolfe_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

The pub is great. Friendly to all. Well priced drinks and less beer snobbery than the Kings Arms.

The food was good (surprised it wasn't more busy)

The rooms have recently been redone..ours was nice and clean.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 26theroyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blanca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salford hotels
5.8 mi away
Worsley Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
5.5 mi away
Novotel Manchester West
0.2 mi away
The Lowry Hotel
The Lowry Hotel
#4 of 20 in Salford
2,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hello Hotel Manchester
Hello Hotel Manchester
#1 of 2 in Swinton
232 reviews
1.5 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salford Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salford Arms Hotel

Address: 146 Chapel Street, Salford M3 6AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Salford
Price Range: £42 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Salford Arms Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Salford Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salford Arms Hotel Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing