We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and food. Good commuting location but dont be put off by area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Manchester-West
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Friendly staff. Nice large rooms and ample dévier parking. Restaurant spacious and Good choice

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stumpy12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 470 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2012

Booked this hotel under the Expedia "secret hotel" offer. Described as a 4 start hotel at £65, only found out it was a Holiday Inn after the booking. Went along and couldn't understand how this could be rated as 4 star as it was a pretty mediocre hotel, almost identical to the Premierinn types that you can get for £19. Be prepared to pay an extra £15 for 24 hours internet, £13.50 for breakfast and £5 for parking. I declined the internet and brekkie and refused to pay for the parking as they didn't mention it at check in.
Hallways very narrow, can hear the cleaners talking very loudly in the morning.
I wouldn't have minded if I paid say £30 but you can get much better for £65 in this location.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank london176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

I stayed here for one night whilst on business and chose this location mainly because it has free car parking. The hotel staff are charming and couldn't have been more helpful. The rooms are pretty standard but were certainly very clean. This hotel really is in the middle of nowhere so you do need a car or would need to splash out on cabs. However, if you need a hotel with free car parking for a quick overnight stay I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank francophileonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to post your thoughts regarding your stay. I'm glad that you enjoyed your visit, and do hope you choose to stay with us again when next staying in Manchester!

Kind Regards

Katie McKune
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

£5 per hour internet access, £5 to park, expensive bar and food and stuck in a post apocalyptic type run down industrial area that looked unsafe to walk the streets.

If you can handle that and get a good price (I paid £36.95 through Cenralreservations dot com) then its good value and I would stay again. Rooms small and as clean as most, staff friendly but you HAVE to drive everywhere.

Value stars below is based on the £37 I paid, the walk in rate of £129 would get a terrible

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevemcdonnell200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to give feed back on your recent stay. I'm sorry to hear that the price of our extra services such as breakfast, car parking etc were unanticipated, however we do advertise these costs on our hotel website. Please feel free to take this issue up with the agent you made the booking via, as they should have informed you of costs for these services.

Kind Regards

Katie McKune
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We spent 1 night here. The staff were efficient and friendly and the rooms were comfortable. We had to pay £30 up front to cover any possible spends. The bar was expensive and the breakfast was warm at best. The worst part was a nearby scrap yard throwing scrap around at 7 o'clock on a Saturday morning. Next Springsteen plays Manchester we'll stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CumbriaRobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to give feedback on your stay with us. We appreciate all guest comments and I will ensure that your comments regarding the breakfast is invesitgated with the Kitchen team. I will also speak with our neighbouring business' to see if we can avoid the issues you faced regarding noise.

Kind Regards

Katie McKune
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Another week, another Holiday Inn. This one is about fifteen minutes (and £7) out of town, in the middle of a run-down industrial estate. Clearly somebody had a grand design in mind when they built the hotel, but the logic of it escapes me.

Reception is brink and efficient, and quick to offer 'extras' (prepaid breakfast, WiFi and so on - kerching!).

Rooms are on the shabby side of tired, the (large CRT) TV didn't appear to have a 'timer off' feature and offered a restricted selection of channels, but a few movies you could pay for (kerching!).

The bathrooms could do with a refit, the temperature of my shower fluctuated showers used to in the seventies, despite having what appeared to be a thermostatic control.

On the plus side, the bar and restaurant were quite welcoming, and the restaurant (Okra) had what looked to be an interesting meal. That said, £4.20 for a pint of lager is a bit on the steep side, given that they have an almost captive market.

Oh... and parking is a fiver a night!

And again.., WiFi is an extra charge. Clearly Holiday Inn franchisees enter into different agreements with WiFi providers, but surely IHG can enforece a 'free WiFi' policy across their brands?

Room Tip: A few tips... the floors creak, so a top floor room means you won't have anyone walking around a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobtheBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

Dear BobtheBrit,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I appreciate the compliments with our bar and restaurant. I am sorry you were not satisfied with your room accommodation. We want our guest to have a relaxing and enjoyable stay. On this occasion, we fell below your expectations. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience and discomfort it caused you. It is our goal to consistently ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to provide rates that are competitive in the area. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We stayed here on 19/6/2012 as part of a Theatre Superbreak. Not pleased to be charged £5 for parking, even with Disabled Badge. The hotel is not within easy distance to City Centre - taxi ride £7.50.

The small double room looked okay on the surface, but needs a proper clean and maintenance - mold around the bath, dirty paintwork, broken wardrobe door. Despite the impressive selection of pillows and very comfortable bed, the noise coming from the hallway (doors opening and closing, keys/chains clanging) and the constant traffic noise (through the closed window) was awful - I had a lousy nights sleep.

After a rotten nights sleep, we decided to make the most of an early breakfast - very poor indeed. The coffee was "stewed", the "fresh" fruit wasn't fresh that day; the self serve cooked breakfast from under heat lamps was brittle bacon, rubber eggs etc, and to top it all - no tomato ketchup for our Kev! - "waiting for delivery". At the very least, eggs should be cooked to order.

Sadly, we wouldn't recommend this particular Holiday Inn to others.

Room Tip: choose a different Holiday Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alikatwhitby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salford hotels
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Salford Quays
0.9 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
0.3 mi away
Campanile Manchester
Campanile Manchester
#18 of 20 in Salford
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Salford Media City
5 mi away
Novotel Manchester West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Manchester-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Manchester-West

Address: Liverpool Street | Manchester, Salford M5 4LT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Price Range: £52 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Manchester-West 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Manchester West is located close to many popular attractions in Manchester including; Old Trafford - the home of Manchester United football club, The Imperial War Museum, The Lowry Theatre and bustling Salford Quays and Media City. The hotel is only a 5 minute drive from Manchester City Centre where you can enjoy extensive shopping or take in a concert at the MEN Arena. We are also only a 20minute drive from The Trafford Centre. The Holiday Inn Manchester West offers a relaxing yet stylish bar area and our dining menu is available all day. Wifi and Car Parking is available to all guests on a complimentary basis. The hotel is located close to the M602 and M62 motorways, and is 8 miles from Manchester International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Manchester-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Manchester-West Hotel Salford
Holiday Inn Salford
Salford Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manchester-West Salford, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing