We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An expensive night,s sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Manchester-West
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“An expensive night,s sleep”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

Requiring a bed for the night after watching the brazil v S Korea semi final at old trafford,this was exactly what it says on the tin....a reasonably comfortable bed,a decent enough buffet breakfast and a fairly clean hotel with helpful staff. my only gripe is the cost for these moderate facilities. Having stayed in a number of Inter continental hotels with great satisfaction,this one was a little disappointing. Travelodge could offer similar at much less cost and premier Inn,s have far superior hotels for less money too. The Manchester west Holiday Inn reminded me of what travelodge used to be years ago.
Y won,t find many faults with this hotel,except to say that it,s tired looking and perhaps showing it,s age.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the main road...it,s very noisy early in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Holiday Inn Manchester West. Our rates do vary according to demand, and can be priced higher in line with other hotels when events are taking place. We do offer a range of competitive rates, and good discounts if you are able to book early on our advance purchase offers. If you are visiting Manchester again, please do not hesitate to contact our reservations team who can offer the best advice.

Kind regards,

Katie McKune
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    166
    107
    41
    25
See reviews for
60
112
37
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Safety Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

Hotel wasn't in the best location ( half the buildings in the block are boarded up) Lobby is nice got to my room noticed carpet was worn and filthy, went to shower and there was tons of mildew, I went to the front desk and said something to the front desk clerk and her response was " well I don't know what to say we clean the bathrooms everyday" I am sorry but that was not an acceptable response " let me change your room" would have been better. the very old analog TV recieves 7 channels. I travel a lot and I thought Holiday Inn had standards, guess I was wrong. As a side note I was told you were not allowed to bring take-out food into the hotel ( which is contrary to British law) i looked at the room service menu and the price of a dish of ice cream was 10.45 GBP or $16.00 US $ a bowl of soup was 9.45GBP or 15.00 US $ i can see why they don't want you bringing in take out food

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WillSafetyHarborFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and as you know I have emailed you regarding your concerns. The hotel offers a variety of dining options and special offers for our guests to take advatage of ,from snacks on the lounge menu starting from £3.95 and Main Courses on the restaurant menu from £8.95. As you have pointed out the items on our Room Service Menu are slightly more expensive with Homemade Soup being priced at £5.95, and a Selection of Dairy Ice Cream priced at £6.95. Our team of Chefs are incredibly flexible and should you have any dietry requirements or special requests they will do their upmost to accomodate.

Kind regards,

Katie McKune
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilgit, Pakistan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

June 23& 24th in 2012 my friend and me stayed in this hotel.we enjoyed our stay.We walked from city centre.it took us about 35 min.Check inn was ok.receptionist was friendly.room and bathroom were clean,shower was working perfect.just room door handle was broken.Breaks fast was good.In next our visit we will stay here again.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank M Ayub K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Manchester West, and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Katie McKune
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

very very peaceful night for three people ground floor rooms 10 and 11. best ever. very courteous staff in all parts of the hotel including restaurant and chef and bar... very good value for 72 pounds a night including breakfast.. en suite bath and shower coffee tv etc. stayed for two nights ... very accessible to manchester city and university areas and very quick efficient taxi service by manchester cars.. thank you x

Room Tip: lower floor opposite coffee tables courtyard if you like quietness.. stay away from the ventillators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves at Holiday Inn Manchester West. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Katie McKune
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

complaied 3 times abut the noise only to discover it was coming from receptin! was promised a room move the next day which never materialised. 260 for 2 nights of the worst sleep ever in a hotel. have since written t complaine with no reply. wuld not go back .

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xrosyrosyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Dear xrosyrosyx,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Salford, England.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

The hotel has had some investment work by the look of things, new lobby etc...

When I arrived I felt like the only guest in the hotel. It was very quiet. The staff were very polite and welcoming at the front desk. I was greeted as a Priority Club Platinum and they talked through my benefits.

The room was a good size and well equipped. But as another review said, the carpet was disgusting. It was a cream carpet and was covered in stains, really revolting.

The bathroom was well equipped and the shower had good pressure.

The hotel lacked warmth and character, but then it is a holiday inn, and there were no other guests so to be expected really.

I would stay again. For the price it was good value.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19Cam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to at the Holiday Inn Manchester West. Please feel free to let us know immediately if you have any concerns during your stay in the future.

Kind regards,

Katie McKune
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Stayed at this hotel in April 2012 for one night whilst travelling to the nearby ITV studio's. Initial check in was very fast and head receptionist that checked us in was very friendly and professional. Our room was very large and well equipped and fits in with all other Holiday Inn concepts - satelite tv, tea/coffee facilities, sofa and a lovely shower with plenty of warm water. As part of our package we took the evening meal and breakfast option. Evening meal was 3 courses and was all prepared from scratch and tasted fantastic - our compliments to the chef here. Breakfast the next morning was also good with cooked option or cereals / fruit, whatever you fancied. Found the bar to be slighty expensive but not horendous. Location is good for Salford and on a fairly quiet road away from any road noise. If travelling to this area again i would definately use this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Holiday Inn Manchester West, and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Katie McKune
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salford hotels
0.9 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
0.3 mi away
Campanile Manchester
Campanile Manchester
#18 of 20 in Salford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Salford Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
1.0 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Manchester
5.0 mi away
Novotel Manchester West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Manchester-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Manchester-West

Property: Holiday Inn Manchester-West
Address: Liverpool Street | Manchester, Salford M5 4LT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Salford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Manchester-West 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Manchester West is located close to many popular attractions in Manchester including; Old Trafford - the home of Manchester United football club, The Imperial War Museum, The Lowry Theatre and bustling Salford Quays and Media City. The hotel is only a 5 minute drive from Manchester City Centre where you can enjoy extensive shopping or take in a concert at the MEN Arena. We are also only a 20minute drive from The Trafford Centre. The Holiday Inn Manchester West offers a relaxing yet stylish bar area and our dining menu is available all day. Wifi and Car Parking is available to all guests on a complimentary basis. The hotel is located close to the M602 and M62 motorways, and is 8 miles from Manchester International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Manchester-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Manchester-West Hotel Salford
Holiday Inn Salford
Salford Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manchester-West Salford, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing