We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Manchester-West
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Not a good experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

This hotel is wall to wall stag and hen parties and sad to say they're not very well behaved, especially not with the staff who have a terrible time. They didn't have the room type I booked and also this hotel is not in Manchester - it's in Salford.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhatFrida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review you recent stay with us. I am so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit. In the summer months hotels in Manchester are frequented a lot by large groups and we do expect them to show respect and courtesy to other guests staying with us. Our team are available 24hrs a day, please do contact them immediately should you have any queries or issues on your next visit - they will be only to happy to assist.

Regards

Katie McKune
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    166
    107
    41
    25
See reviews for
60
112
37
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Stayed here for three nights in January 2013. The hotel is in Salford, to the west of Manchester, but is within walking distance (20 minute) from the city centre proper. The neighbourhood isn't so great, but I'm sure there are far worse. Major benefit for this hotel is free car parking provided on site (they do lock the gate at night).

Staff were very friendly, and the lobby was undergoing a refurbishment during my visit. The corridors in this hotel are a little tired, and the stairs creaked quite a bit, which does give the hotel a bit of a cheap feel. While the room was fine and clean, it looks like it hadn't been touched since the 90s and isn't really up to standard for a hotel in this day and age.

Overall, I'd likely stay here again if the price was very competitive.

This hotel suffers from my pet annoyance: no power supplies next to the bed.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liamuk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us in January. As you have mentioned we have been updating different aspects of the property since January and improvements have been ongoing. I do hope you like the improvements made on your next visit.

Kind Regards

Katie McKune
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

Stayed in the Executive room for one night. Room cost was better than Travelodge or premier inn. Room & facilities far superior. Toiletries in bathroom, bathrobes, bottled drinking water, chocolate & tea making facilities. Iron with ironing board & press, safe, independent air con system in room, telephone, TV with sky channels. Staff extremely efficient & courteous.
It was much more than a 3*. I would highly recommend it & would definitely stay there again. Thumbs up to the staff & management.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackhankster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely review of your recent stay. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and the facilities on offer.

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Kind Regards

Katie McKune
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

First time with Holiday Inn and would use again without a doubt!

Very clean and tidy hotel. Great room with great facilities.

We stayed here for a concert at the Etihad Stadium and found it to be an ideal location. Quick bus trip into town then a tram to the ground.. very easy.

Back to the hotel after and flew abroad from Manchester airport which was a short drive away.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattyJUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I hope you you had a wonderful time at the concert and enjoyed your time abroad.

We hope to see you again soon!

Katie McKune
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Was in Manchester for a two night stay for the Robbie Williams concert. Staff at the hotel were very helpful and pleasant, the first night we could not sleep for a kind of air conditioning noise. So we checked our room at 2.30am, could not find out where the noise was coming from, I reported it to the duty manager, who came straight to our room at thought it was coming from the air conditioning units on the roof. So with no hesitation he moved us to the room across the hallway and we had an excellent sleep . The hotel is about a 30min walk to town centre. A taxi will cost u about £5 to the centre(dont use black cabs they are very expensive). Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Dont pick room 210
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 695Diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
I am so sorry to hear that you were disturbed by noise during your stay, but I'm glad that our team helped you with this problem immediately. I hope that you enjoyed the concert and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Katie McKune
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
81 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

Hotel is in a pretty dodgy area about 1.5 miles outside of the city centre, but it does have plenty of free parking.

The room was average but not great that the hotel has very creaky floors which meant lots of noise from the room above (particularly as they were up at 5am) and from outside my room with it being close to the lift there were always people walking past, hence noisy

The staff were pretty good, pleasant and efficient, but nothing other than a small bar and restaurant, so if your here without a car your kinda restricted unless you want to walk through a dodgy area to get into the city centre

The rate was pretty cheap which kinda made a bit for the lack of facilities and the facelift the hotel needs, so id come back but wouldnt stay for more than one night

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor which means you can avoid the noise from the floorboards coming from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear jase_2 ,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I am sorry for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay with us. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

The hotel is your average chain hotel. I was staying on a very busy weekend and was initially given a ground floor disabled room. It was very noisy as it had a connecting door into the next room and was next to the road. One receptionist promised to look for another room although he believed the hotel was full. After a while I asked another receptionist for help and she found me a 2nd floor room overlooking the car park. This room was large, clean, comfortable and very quiet. It is quite a hike into the city centre and a few minutes by cab.but at least it had plenty of parking and was easy to find. I was shocked by the price for the Saturday night although it was better value than many other city centre hotels.

Room Tip: Choose an upper floor away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulydoesdisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am so glad that we were able to accommodate you in a more suitable room. Our rates do vary due to events that are being held in the City - cheaper rates can be taken advantage of by purchasing on our advanced saver rates.

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards

Katie McKune
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salford hotels
0.9 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
0.3 mi away
Campanile Manchester
Campanile Manchester
#18 of 20 in Salford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Salford Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
1.0 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Manchester
5.0 mi away
Novotel Manchester West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Manchester-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Manchester-West

Property: Holiday Inn Manchester-West
Address: Liverpool Street | Manchester, Salford M5 4LT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Salford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Manchester-West 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Manchester West is located close to many popular attractions in Manchester including; Old Trafford - the home of Manchester United football club, The Imperial War Museum, The Lowry Theatre and bustling Salford Quays and Media City. The hotel is only a 5 minute drive from Manchester City Centre where you can enjoy extensive shopping or take in a concert at the MEN Arena. We are also only a 20minute drive from The Trafford Centre. The Holiday Inn Manchester West offers a relaxing yet stylish bar area and our dining menu is available all day. Wifi and Car Parking is available to all guests on a complimentary basis. The hotel is located close to the M602 and M62 motorways, and is 8 miles from Manchester International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Manchester-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Manchester-West Hotel Salford
Holiday Inn Salford
Salford Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manchester-West Salford, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing