We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisy, draughty....not good” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Manchester-West

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Manchester-West
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Noisy, draughty....not good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We booked a Holiday Inn hotel as we thought we would receive a decent standard of accommodation. When we arrived we were given a room on the first floor, just above the entrance way. The room itself was of a decent standard so first impressions were ok. The room was backing onto the staircase and we soon discovered that the stairs were possibly the noisiest stairs we had ever encountered. They were hollow under foot so the noise was booming every time someone climbed them. Then the landing off the stairs was just as noisy, just smacked of a cheap build that had not been given a thought for insulation. Bear in mind the stairs were used ALL night, making it impossible to sleep. The window in the room was supposed to be double glazed but let enough noise through to make you think that you were sleeping in the middle of the very very busy road outside. We went and complained at 2 am but got nowhere. At approx. 4am we were seriously considering leaving for the 2 hour drive home. We only didn't as it would have been dangerous. When we passed this on to the reception on leaving they stated they knew about the stairs!!!!! They then said that they would " get maintenance on it ", Terrible, Terrible experience that we will not be repeating. I would discourage anyone from booking there especially at the extortionate prices that they state they usually charge (our only saving grace was that we got this at a discount price - just shows you don't get anything for nothing).

Room Tip: Book somewhere else!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear GWandL,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs and expectations and on this occasion please accept our deepest apologies for the inconvenience you had with the noise. We take all feedback seriously. It helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    165
    104
    40
    24
See reviews for
60
110
37
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Very friendly staff in this hotel
Rooms clean and well presented
Bathroom average, good shower

I stayed here with my partner whilst he was working, I found the staff to be courteous and attentive. We stayed in a room next to the road, I must admit that they could do with better double glazing as the traffic is audible at all times. The room was large and comfortable with a sofa, wardrobe, flat screen tv, air con/heating, iron/board, basic tea and coffee amenities and a trouser press.
Breakfast at £7.95 was great, full English including French toast, cereal, yoghurt and fresh fruit, full continental, Danish pastries and lovely fresh bread, large selection of teas and juices. No problems here, staff again were attentive asked if I would like any eggs cooked to order, tables were clean, no mess considering the hotel was full, I had anticipated that there may be little left at 9.30 am but all the trays were full.

As I was walking everywhere, I would say that the location is not the best but within a couple of minutes walk you can get the bus to the trafford centre for £4 day pass, a taxi into town is £3.50 or if you don't mind walking its only a 25 min walk to the arndale in town

Would like to thank the staff for a pleasant stay and would recommend Kim for employee of the month as she was just a lovely person, had great local knowledge of places to go and put us onto a lovely restaurant

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madamcholetBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and especially the breakfast! Kim will be over the moon with your kind words!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon on your next trip to Manchester!

Kind Regards

Katie McKune
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morlandmonk
Level Contributor
147 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

A really nice hotel, we were upgraded to an executive which was nice and spacious, the staff are lovely and friendly but the place is shambolic!
Even before arrival I was phoned twice by the hotel, the second call to ask if I was willing to downgrade to a standard room (but offering no incentive to do so!).
On arrival we found blood on a towel and hair in the shower to start with. Breakfast was OK but very little of everything, I had the last of the hash browns and orange juice (neither of which were topped up whilst I was there even though it was fairly quiet and there was still an hour of breakfast to go!). Tables were not cleared and plates and cuttlery gradually built up to towering levels on each table.
Then to finish the trip off, when I checked out I was asked if my 'complimentary newspaper' had been given to me, I said no and the receptionist then offered to remove the charge from my bill!! Not my idea of 'complimentary'!!
This is a great hotel if you are heading to the MEN Arena or for Manchester shopping (just 5 minutes drive away), it is a really nice modern Holiday Inn but it really needs to get it's act together if it does not want to build the wrong sort of reputation. Overall it is an opportunity wasted.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morlandmonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am so sorry that on this occasion you experienced issues. Please rest assured that this is not our usual standard. Our team are on hand for our guests 24hrs a day, and love the opportunity to be able to rectify any problems you may experience. Should you have any issues at all on your next visit, please do not hesitate to let us know immediately, so that we can have the opportunity to make your stay more comfortable.

Thanks you once again for your review,

Regards

Katie McKune
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

A nice clean room is the only good thing I can say. The air conditioning wouldn't work and as it was surprisingly warm for October we had to open the window and ironically had to listen to the air conditioning unit right outside the window & the traffic & the sirens. There were people returning to their rooms very late during the night and one of them made several attempts to get into our room at 2.30am before giving up and going into a room nearby. Then at 3.47am the person in the room above us got up and walked around for at least an hour. By morning we were shattered and would have liked a nice cup of tea but had used the one teabag allocated to each of us the evening before. If you are the type of person who can sleep anywhere, then at least the bed is comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DorP673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
I am so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I will have our maintenance team look into the issue with your air con immediately. Our team are on hand 24hrs a day to assist with anything you may need, may it be extra guest supplies or to deal with a noise issue. Please do not hesitate to contact them at any point during your next stay should you experience any problems.

Yours sincerely

Katie McKune
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isleworth
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Very polite and helpful reception staff, pleasant interiors, slightly tired bedroom but clean and, surprisingly for being on a main road, quiet. Can't comment on breakfast as I stupidly forgot to book it inclusive - doh! £7.95 each seemed a bit steep though. Overall, aside from two minor issues - window latch fault and over-sized chair that didn't slot under the desk (both flagged), this Holiday Inn passed muster.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tw7pp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you on your next trip to Manchester.

Regards

Katie McKune
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here over night with a friend was greeted in a friendly manner and atmosphere was nice, everyone seemed happy. Got to the room expecting the worst due to the price but was pleasantly surprised. Room was a good size and the shower was powerful being two girls we were also made up there was more than 1 plug socket! We had an ice machine right outside our room which was handy and also had free parking. We went out in the evening staff were more than happy to phone us a taxi and wasn't far to go at all would deffo stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aimeeeemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back any time, and hope that you enjoyed Manchester.

Kind Regards

Katie McKune
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
337 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

I've been here for a couple of days. Good location. Not too faar from the motorway and fron the city centre. Free parking and Wi-Fi. They did a little mess with the receipt and I had troubles with the company for the expenses. Average breakfast.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RenatinoAgatina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Than you for posting your thoughts on your recent stay. I am so sorry to hear that you have had an issue with your receipt. Please contact our accounts department directly here at the hotel and we can gladly rectify any issues.

Regards

Katie McKune
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salford hotels
1.0 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
0.3 mi away
Campanile Manchester
Campanile Manchester
#18 of 20 in Salford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Salford Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Salford Central Hotel
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Salford Quays Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Manchester-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Manchester-West

Property: Holiday Inn Manchester-West
Address: Liverpool Street | Manchester, Salford M5 4LT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Salford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Manchester-West 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Manchester West is located close to many popular attractions in Manchester including; Old Trafford - the home of Manchester United football club, The Imperial War Museum, The Lowry Theatre and bustling Salford Quays and Media City. The hotel is only a 5 minute drive from Manchester City Centre where you can enjoy extensive shopping or take in a concert at the MEN Arena. We are also only a 20minute drive from The Trafford Centre. The Holiday Inn Manchester West offers a relaxing yet stylish bar area and our dining menu is available all day. Wifi and Car Parking is available to all guests on a complimentary basis. The hotel is located close to the M602 and M62 motorways, and is 8 miles from Manchester International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Manchester-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Manchester-West Hotel Salford
Holiday Inn Salford
Salford Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manchester-West Salford, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing