We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Pleasant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Manchester-West

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Manchester-West
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed here a couple of weeks ago on a saturday night as hotels closer to town were full or had hiked their prices. Was a bit apprehensive as to what to expect due to mixed reviews. However hotel is of a very good standard and much better than some reviews here signify. Admittedly the are is poor and hotel seems oddly located. Yet the staff were friendly and courteous, hotel was well administered and in decent condition.

Breakfast was exemplary.

Would recommend this hotel as a viable alternative to travel lodges etc, as it is a very cheap cab ride from town centre.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank damandatcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
So pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and found the team helpful. We hope to see you on your next trip to Manchester!

Kind Regards

Katie McKune
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    164
    104
    40
    24
See reviews for
60
110
37
125
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

I used this hotel for one night after struggling to get a hotel in the heart of the city. Upon check in the receptionist was very friendly and extremely efficient. The bar areas were clean and tidy, the hotel corridors are very light and airy but look very dirty due to having very light carpets. The room was a little disappointing it looked very tired and the light furniture was grubby. The hotel is very quiet so great for a good nights rest. In a run down area of the city, you would need a car to get about. The Trafford centre can be reached by car (approx 4 miles away) as well as Old Trafford and Salford Quays. Ample free parking.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chilly25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, we very much appreciate your feedback. I am so happy to hear that you found the team friendly and helpful and I will ensure these lovely comments are passed on.

Regards

Katie McKune
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Had a fantastic weekend down at Manchester this week when we went to see Manchester UTD play at home. We used this hotel (2 miles walk from the ground) as a base and it was perfect. Clean rooms of the highest quality and very friendly staff. They could not have been more helpful advising us on local restaurants (taxi to City Centre approx £6) and even giving us a phone charger when we forgot our own. A special mention to the amazing F&B Manager, Saurabh Shrivastava who really made our stay with his friendliness, helpfulness and going just that little bit further to ensure we left very happy customers. We look forward to our next trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maxclass1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay. I am so pleased to hear that you had a great time at the football, and found the staff accommodating. I will ensure that your lovely comments are passed on to the team.

We look forward to seeing you on the next visit.

Kind Regards

Katie McKune
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights in January. I nearly left after the first night but the £50 early exit fee put me off. (It is there for a reason). As has reported elsewhere this is in an old, run down industrial area (my room had a view of a scrap yard) and not near enough to central Manchester to walk and no direct public transport. The floors are creaky, the walls thin, so whatever your neighbour is up to you have to share the sounds and my bathroom looked partially updated but there was damage and mould around the bath.
But the staff are great and in particular the over-worked but consistently cheerful bar and restaurant staff.
I say bar and restaurant staff but until 7pm on my visit this was one and the same person.
The same person was serving the bar, the restaurant and room service!!
Under those circumstances and with their friendly attitude it was difficult to become impatient so gradually my thoughts on this hotel softened; hence a 3...just.
But I will not go there again unless everywhere else is fully booked

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrimbutSmileyinside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
I am so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Please let me know where you saw the information on the early departure fee - this is not the case for all reservations and depends upon what rate you booked. I am glad that you found the team helpful, and will pass your comments on to them.

Thank you once again for your feedback

Regards

Katie McKune
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

First time in this hotel, not an ICH build, and there is a lot of work to do for the current management which I was told was being done, they had only been in the hotel for three months,
There is nothing they can do regarding the location, a car is essential. OLd Trafford is about 4 minutes in one direction and the City Centre is 7 minutes in the other direction.
The room heating was off so I was offered an electric heater which did the job, the room was lovely but the bathroom required attention, cracked tiles, the mirror was tarnished around the edges, the walk in shower was double size but no soap holder or dispenser and the shower head slowly drops when switched on.
The hotel felt like a Holiday Inn Express in the public areas, the staff were nice and polite but there is work to be done, the manager assured me that this was in progress so my advice id to check your room first.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trunkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. The hotel is going through a programme of planned improvement and improvements are on going.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback,

Kind Regards

Katie McKune
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Yes, at first I was taken aback by the area - very industrial! My Dad lives a mile away from the hotel and assured me that while it was industrial it was safe. The Hotel itself was adorable! Clean, modern, great food and the staff went above and beyond to help me. There is a large restaurant and a lounge so there was no need for me to venture out. I will absolutely return in June! The only reason I am not giving five stars is the area, then again...I am thankful the hotel is so close to my Dad!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
We hope that you enjoyed your visit with your family. Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again in June!.

Kind regards,

Katie McKune
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Reasonably polite reception staff, room was comfortable and clean,
This hotel was my last choice but was the only hotel available for the date required,
The hotel is in a bad area and I was confronted by a local drunk making a nuisance of himself as I left the hotel at 09.30 in the morning . I feel the hotel would benefit from more security, probably use again if no other option.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellerfromuk45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for posting your thoughts on your recent stay. I am sorry that you were unhappy with the area the hotel is located in, and can assure you we do take our guest safety very seriously here at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salford hotels
1.0 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
0.3 mi away
Campanile Manchester
Campanile Manchester
#18 of 20 in Salford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Salford Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Salford Quays Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Ainscow Hotel
The Ainscow Hotel
#4 of 20 in Salford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Manchester-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Manchester-West

Property: Holiday Inn Manchester-West
Address: Liverpool Street | Manchester, Salford M5 4LT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Salford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Manchester-West 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Manchester West is located close to many popular attractions in Manchester including; Old Trafford - the home of Manchester United football club, The Imperial War Museum, The Lowry Theatre and bustling Salford Quays and Media City. The hotel is only a 5 minute drive from Manchester City Centre where you can enjoy extensive shopping or take in a concert at the MEN Arena. We are also only a 20minute drive from The Trafford Centre. The Holiday Inn Manchester West offers a relaxing yet stylish bar area and our dining menu is available all day. Wifi and Car Parking is available to all guests on a complimentary basis. The hotel is located close to the M602 and M62 motorways, and is 8 miles from Manchester International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Manchester-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Manchester-West Hotel Salford
Holiday Inn Salford
Salford Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manchester-West Salford, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing