We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Manchester-West
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Redcar, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

If you enjoy good company and a fantastic staff then I recommend to stay here. We arrived for the weekend , and from the very beginning we where looked after. I was first greeted by Jessica. with a lovely smile and a soft spoken voice made us feel at home . The rooms were clean smart and had a very warm feel to them. the bar area in the lobby was great after a long day walking in Manchester. On arriving back our drinks served with a smile by Kim hit the spot, the weekend went great and so did the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adamTIB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. We hope that you enjoyed your visit to Manchester and I will ensure your praise is passed on to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next trip!

Kind Regards

Katie McKune
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    166
    107
    41
    25
See reviews for
60
112
37
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

The staff are fantastic at this hotel, they went out of there way to make sure that we were ok and that my husband enjoyed his birthday. When we came back from a night out they had touched up our room, put in some complimentary wine and a birthday card for him, which i though was fantastic as it was not asked for, they did this off there own backs. The food was amazing and i would definatley recommend this hotel to anyone who doesnt want to stay in the noisy town centre.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura-Jane-Olsen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you so much for you kind review. We hope that you enjoyed your visit to Manchester and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind Regards

Katie McKune
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stay in this hotel about 3x/month and have had for YEARS, mostly because it's close to work and because of costs. It's in a not very nice part of town, with nothing around it.

Let me preface my review with the fact that you can NOT fault the staff, they are the best of the best and no one can fault them.

The area lets the hotel down BIG TIME. Then you couple that with the restaurant that offers food, but it seems every trip it gets more expensive and the last trip and one of the new chefs is more bent on saving money than keeping the regulars happy - and we do NOT make excessive demands, just a simple, healthier substitution.

Some of the rooms are quite tired, and they ARE updating them as they go along, but keeping up the FreeView Channels would be a great offering, though, to be honest the fact they got FreeView in recent years was a great update!

One of the main areas it lets you down is the fact that not only does the 'free' internet suck, it's also in a dead zone for many phone companies, odd, indeed, because it's in a mile from the heart of Manchester. They NEED to upgrade this option if they are going to compete, as I see and hear lots of business people in the lobby trying to get connections to do their work.

The staff is great, the rooms are OK, especially as they are updated, the restaurant for dinner is marginal, as they they are expensive and the costs seem to be driving them more and more to save money over choice and affordability. Bear in mind you will add taxi charges and parking to the stay if you want to go into the city.

They try hard, given the constraints they work within, but they do have a way to go.

Room Tip: Away from the street; regardless of what you might be told, it's very noisy.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your views on the hotel with other guests. We appreciate all the feedback given to us. In terms of dining if you have anything specific in mind please do not hesitate to as k your server or indeed speak with our Head Chef Avinash, who has been with the hotel now for many years. He will be more than happy to try and accommodate any requests may you have if we possibly can.

Kind Regards

Katie McKune
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

I stayed in this hotel in May, but be warned, that this hotel appears to be on an Industrial Estate so if you are travelling on business it is well worth a second glance, but if you on a personal visit be aware! It is a good 15 minute walk from the nearest train station, ok in daylight but not if you are travelling alone after dusk I would say.

The hotel itself is very clean, and the staff are very helpful.. The issues I had during my stay were that there was an additional bed in the Executive room, which I asked to have removed, and after being out for at least 5 hours it was still there?! Also after I complained about the bed, I was looking for the remote control for the TV and found a dirty used plate in a drawer. The on-duty manager was very good, and very helpful, and offered me another room which I declined due to having had a long day and only being booked in for one night.

If you are here for the football at the Eithad Stadium, it is about an £11 fare if you travel before it gets too busy.

The food in the restaurant was of good quality.

If you are on business this is an excellent hotel, and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nett0104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am so sorry to hear of the problems that you experienced with your room. Please rest assured that this is not our usual standard and this has been addressed with the housekeeping manager.

Kind Regards

Katie McKune
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed here which was a work choice not personal preference. The hotel is clean and suits what you would expect from a Holiday Inn. Location is worth looking at before you stay as it's not City centre. Staff were very helpful and attentive. Not bad, not going to blow you away.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TigerMoth1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that you found the team helpful.

Kind Regards

Katie McKune
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I have stayed in this hotel for more than 5 times now. The hotel is in Salford and therefor one has to expect the surroundings to be fairly industrial. I mainly stay here for business purposes and therefore the surrounding does not matter. It is fairly close to Manchester Victoria and Manchester Piccadilly Stations (around £6 for taxi).
The hotel has very good comfortable rooms and decent facilities. I found staff are very friendly and helpful in most occasions.
The restaurant is generally satisfactory (but bit expensive for the quality on offer).
There is free Wi-Fi and the service is good.
At busy times you may have to wait for a while for taxis, so order one in advance leaving adequate time.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the main road may be noisy if you open windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Srinath P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stays with us. We are very happy to hear that you find the hotel comfortable and good value for money.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip!

Kind Regards

Katie McKune
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed here with my daughter for the One Direction concert. We had a great stay. The room was spotless, bed was comfy and the staff on reception were friendly. The hotel is a wee distance from Manchester centre - £6.00 in a taxi - but the reception staff were really helpful providing printed maps and directions. It's about a twenty minute walk into city centre. We arrived a hour before check in time due to the time of our coach arrival but this was no problem - a wait of five minutes and we were checked in and in the room. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Me O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We hope you enjoyed One Direction!!!! Myself and the team are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you again soon on your next trip to Manchester,

Kind Regards

Katie McKune
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salford hotels
0.9 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
0.3 mi away
Campanile Manchester
Campanile Manchester
#18 of 20 in Salford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Salford Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
1.0 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Manchester
5.0 mi away
Novotel Manchester West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Manchester-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Manchester-West

Property: Holiday Inn Manchester-West
Address: Liverpool Street | Manchester, Salford M5 4LT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Salford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Manchester-West 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Manchester West is located close to many popular attractions in Manchester including; Old Trafford - the home of Manchester United football club, The Imperial War Museum, The Lowry Theatre and bustling Salford Quays and Media City. The hotel is only a 5 minute drive from Manchester City Centre where you can enjoy extensive shopping or take in a concert at the MEN Arena. We are also only a 20minute drive from The Trafford Centre. The Holiday Inn Manchester West offers a relaxing yet stylish bar area and our dining menu is available all day. Wifi and Car Parking is available to all guests on a complimentary basis. The hotel is located close to the M602 and M62 motorways, and is 8 miles from Manchester International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Manchester-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Manchester-West Hotel Salford
Holiday Inn Salford
Salford Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manchester-West Salford, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing