We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Manchester-West
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Windsor
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good stay”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on 27th August as we were doing the Coronation Street Tour the following morning. About a 15 minute walk to get to the tour, shops and restaurants. Our room was lovely and spotlessly clean. The bath towels were large & fluffy and we did have shower gel in a container on the wall. We had a problem with our safe and by the time we got back from a bit of shopping it had been fixed. The breakfast was plentiful with lots of choice. We left our car in the large car park while we did the tour. In all a good stay, free wifi, free parking and convenient location, albeit on an industrial estate. Would recommend.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Windsorian50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
We hope that you enjoyed the Corrie Tour!!! Thank you for your valuable feedback is it is very much appreciated.

We hope to see you again soon on your next trip to Manchester.

Kind Regards

Katie McKune
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    173
    111
    43
    27
See reviews for
61
116
38
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Stayed at The Holiday Inn Salford West for just one night Wednesday 27th August. Arrived at around 1pm was met by a helpful young lady on reception - Jessica - but was unlucky not to be able to check in early as no rooms were available at that time. No problem, the Free car park was secure, so we decided to take a walk into Manchester City centre. After some mapped directions from Jessica we headed off for the 20 minute walk. Yes, as other reviewers have pointed out the hotel is not in the best part of town - its somewhat industrial - but we felt safe enough. Its also worth noting that the Granada TV Coronation Street tour is a short walk from the hotel at around 15 minutes.
Had a great day out in Manchester, it wasn't raining so it was definitely a great day in Manchester!
Arrived back at the hotel to check in. Straight forward and quick. Was given a room overlooking the very busy main road but could hear very little road noise. Also I figured that as it was an industrial area the traffic would reduce considerably by evening time. The room itself was a little tired, slightly stained carpets, sofa covering and cushions. The wood at the bottom of the TV unit was split and had come away. That said it was absolutely spotless and thoroughly clean. There was a King size bed, 2 bedside cabinets, a large wardrobe and a pull out sofa bed - although very little room to actually pull out the sofa bed. Inside the wardrobe was a trouser press and an iron, although again very little room (read zero) to be able to iron - the ironing board and the iron are fitted into the wardrobe. There is a large TV and small tray with tea/coffee making facilities. The bathroom contains a very large shower cubicle with a reasonable (not powerful) shower head. Again extremely clean. There was no shower gel provided so remember to bring your own.
In the main room there was only one spare available socket which given we had 2 laptops, 2 mobiles and a pair of hair straighteners we had to create a timetable to be able to get everything charged/working! Note that the one available socket is not near the bedside cabinets if you use your mobile as an alarm clock! As we had not been given the Free WiFi password we rang reception and received it although the connection seemed a little intermittent.
Holiday Inn offer varying comfort levels of pillows (firm,soft etc) so its easy to select the right comfort for you.The bed was extremely comfortable and we both had a great night sleeps. As I had suspected despite the room facing the main road it was very quite outside.
Breakfast was available in the main dinning room and is served until 10.30 am which as it was midweek by the time we arrived for breakfast at 9.30 the dinning room was empty. Its a buffet style and was plentiful with hot (bacon, sausages, eggs, mushrooms, beans etc) and cold (cheese, a selection of meats, yogurt, cereals etc) as well as pastries and toast. Very good value for money.
Overall the stay was a pleasant one and for the location to central Manchester, Free parking, Free WiFi and a great breakfast. Additionally its a short journey from the hotel to get to the motorway.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DupedLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Thank you so much for posting a review of your recent stay with us, I am sure this will assist other travelers when making a decision on hotels in Manchester, and the feedback you have given is very much appreciated by myself and the team.

We hope to see you again, on your next trip to Manchester.

Kind Regards

Katie McKune
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

There are so many positives - a really genuine warm welcome from smartly uniformed and friendly receptionists; spotless rooms with excellent bed, powerful shower and high quality TV; well cooked imaginative menu that gave a good range without imposing personal themes on you with generous portions making paying only a bit more well worth while - the chef was often out chatting to guests and making sure they were happy; We opted to have dessert later so we could go out for a couple of hours - the light and sweet dishes were to die for; good breakfast choice; ample free car parking - not mentioned on their own website and a real plus!

We walked easily to the Coronation Street tour and into town, and had no personal safety concerns. We also drove to Salford Quays and MediaCityUK which was a great area to explore and enjoy. Getting there is easy, we used it as a base for a few days to travel North and West too.

All in all we can not recommend this hotel enough - it does everything you need.

Room Tip: We were very comfortable in 225 / 223 / 219
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spottydog50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Myself and the team are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit, and we hope to welcome you again soon!

Kind Regards

Katie McKune
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Holiday Inns are what it states on the tin but some are better than others. You know what you are going to get in the room and this one delivered. Car parking facility is really good and the breakfast great value and good quality. Staff were friendly and very helpful. The area is fine but it is a bit in between everything plus not a simple walk to the tram stops. In summary great for a stop over and good value if you get it at the right price so need to avoid events.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsgWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you so much for posting your thoughts on your recent stay with us. We are very pleased to hear that we provided everything you needed.

We hope to welcome you again soon!

Kind Regards

Katie McKune
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Lovely hotel in a rather dingy industrial area but 20 mins walk into city centre. Room was beautiful with tea & coffee facility, shower gel was provided in the bathroom. Breakfast buffet at £7.95 was very good with a good variety for everyone. The staff were all very helpful especially Jessica on reception who was brilliant for explaining what we could find & where to find them. She is a brilliant asset to the reception.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ninecherry9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your trip and that the team were helpfu - I will ensure that your comments are passed on to them.

Kind Regards

Katie McKune
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Due to various reasons we stay here quite often. The rooms are generally OK, reasonable size and everything works - all rooms have air conditioning.
Breakfast is a buffet with a reasonable range of hot and cold, bar area OK, choice of beers could be a lot better and the seats are a little strange.
Food menu is very limited and quite expensive, which is a real negative given that there is nothing else nearby and you would not want to go out walking in the area.
Wi-Fi is free but is VERY POOR. Often the connection is not available, room dependent, and the signal strength is very weak. The hotel staff do not seem to take any complaints about the Wi-Fi seriously - no one has complained / it is OK down here etc.
That is really the only negative about the staff because otherwise they are all really friendly and helpful.
Free parking on-site is a plus.
Will stay again but I do wish they would improve the food menu both in range and price, and the Wi-Fi connection and strength, these would make a huge difference.

Room Tip: Ask for room not overlooking the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woggsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for your valuable feedback. Please the Duty Manager know if you are experiencing issues with the wifi connection, as we do have access to a help desk from out internet provider that can look into any issues you are experiencing - we will aim to help as much as we possibly can.

Kind Regards

Katie McKune
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergele, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Well, we booked this though laterooms.com and chose one of their 'secret hotels' so we only paid £84 for two double rooms. That made this stay fantastic value- it is well worth more when you compare a travel lodge or Premier Inn. The rooms were clean and comfortable- air conditioning a bit noisy, but effective. Good shower. The breakfast was absolutely excellent and very well managed by the staff. It was regularly replenished to keep the food freshly cooked, and all good quality. The reception staff were great- a real credit to the company. Free parking. This place is situated in a very industrial looking area, but don't let that put you off. No where to eat in walking distance that we could see, but there is a bar and great restaurant on site.

Room Tip: I would say rooms away from the main road- a bit noisy but not a disaster
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester-West, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for your comments. I am so pleased to hear that you found the hotel good value for money, and you were happy with your stay.

We hope to see you again on your next trip to Manchester,

Kind Regards

Katie McKune
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salford hotels
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
0.9 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
0.3 mi away
Campanile Manchester
Campanile Manchester
#18 of 20 in Salford
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Salford Quays
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK
0.5 mi away
The Ainscow Hotel
The Ainscow Hotel
#4 of 20 in Salford
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Manchester-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Manchester-West

Property: Holiday Inn Manchester-West
Address: Liverpool Street | Manchester, Salford M5 4LT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Manchester-West 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Manchester West is located close to many popular attractions in Manchester including; Old Trafford - the home of Manchester United football club, The Imperial War Museum, The Lowry Theatre and bustling Salford Quays and Media City. The hotel is only a 5 minute drive from Manchester City Centre where you can enjoy extensive shopping or take in a concert at the MEN Arena. We are also only a 20minute drive from The Trafford Centre. The Holiday Inn Manchester West offers a relaxing yet stylish bar area and our dining menu is available all day. Wifi and Car Parking is available to all guests on a complimentary basis. The hotel is located close to the M602 and M62 motorways, and is 8 miles from Manchester International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Manchester-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Manchester-West Hotel Salford
Holiday Inn Salford
Salford Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manchester-West Salford, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing