We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some tweaks would make this great.”
Review of The Ainscow Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ainscow Hotel
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Certificate of Excellence
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Some tweaks would make this great.”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We just stayed this last weekend, booking two rooms (a double and a twin).

On first impressions, absolutely lovely and clean, and just felt like a good quality hotel. Check in was smooth, staff friendly and accommodating. Swapped the twin room (it had no windows) for another with no issue.

The double was extremely spacious, on two levels. Sofa bed on one level, with TV, desk, wardrobe, sink/coffee facilities and a toilet. The bed was upstairs via a spiral staircase with the ensuite bathroom. No complaints whatsoever about the quality or cleanliness, it was spotless and the bathroom was lovely.

The spiral staircase and the room over two floors was really appealing at first, however there were some impracticalities! Firstly, the wardrobe was downstairs, the bathroom was upstairs. You leave the bathroom after showering to head towards your clothes which are downstairs. A bit perilous without some forward planning - I could see some mishaps if not careful!

Coffee facilities downstairs, which you then carry upstairs via the spiral staircase (who doesn't want their coffee in bed in the mornings?!). Unfortunately, because the TV is downstairs, you can't slob around on the bed drinking your coffee and watching TV! A few changes would be good and might prevent a few accident reports! For instance, perhaps a dresser upstairs, and perhaps a unit for the kettle etc. A TV upstairs would be a good addition, however free wifi was helpful!

We had a drink in the bar before bed, and service very good - a nice place to be.

Breakfast was extremely disappointing. There were 4 of us, and we waited absolutely ages. We were in the restaurant for perhaps an hour, which was frustrating because we wanted to make the most of a few hours before heading home later. What was also frustrating was a mistake on every one of the breakfasts that came out. They were either missing something, or had the wrong something, and the food wasn't even that hot. We didn't get it corrected because we didn't want to waste any more time. Coffee tasted weak. Enjoyed the continental part of it, but I really feel the service needs a lot of work.

I know it's only been open for 3 weeks, so no doubt there are teething problems but these really need addressing.

Room Tip: Try to get a room all on one level! If not, take your clothes upstairs BEFORE showering.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cath w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Ainscow Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Many thanks for your review of The Ainscow. I am pleased that overall you had a enjoyable stay and I am particularly pleased that you have written a very balanced and comprehensive review. With regard to the breakfast I have discussed your issues with our Head Chef as we do endeavor to ensure that every guest experience is a memorable and enjoyable one and rest assured we have taken the necessary steps to avoid similar issues in the future.

Once again many thanks and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Paul Wadsworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    158
    56
    21
    10
See reviews for
33
244
9
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Stayed for 1 night at the end of August, was apprehensive as I could find much information on the hotel but please don't let this put you off. The hotel is brand new, modern and in a great location 2 mins from Spinningfields. We stayed in a deluxe room which defiantly has the WOW factor with spiral stair case and mezzanine. We booked room only but upgrade to breakfast for £10 per person on check in which seems a bit pricey but after having the breakfast it was worth every penny. All the staff we came into contact with couldn't do enough for us. Great hotel will definitely be our choice of hotel when in Manchester

Room Tip: Pay the bit extra for a room upgrade from a standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joloblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Ainscow Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Thank you so much for your comments regarding your stay here at The Ainscow, I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed our hospitality and in particular breakfast in our restaurant. I have passed your comments to all of the team concerned, including the Head Chef.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back on your next visit to Manchester.

Kind regards,
Paul Wadsworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Exceeded our expectations in every way from the moment we arrived to a warm welcome to leaving after a great nights sleep in a simply impeccable hotel.

During a recent trip to Salford Mediacity and Manchester we were very undecided about where to stay.

Using Trip Advisor we struggled to decide between a traditional franchise hotel with a name you can trust, or an independent that has more character.

In the end we chose Ainscow and we are extremely glad we did.

From checking in with a friendly, happy smiling April on reception we had a feeling we were in great hands. The reception area and bar were clean, new, fresh and had that quality feel.

The best was yet to come however as we checked into room 325. We made our way up to the room and walked in to find a terrific room, with sofa, brand new TV, downstairs bathroom, kitchen facilities and a great city view.

We weren't expecting a mezzanine setup and were delighted with a spiral staircase taking us up to what was an inviting and plush looking bed and an exceptionally well presented bathroom.

The facilities in the room were excellent, though be aware that there is no TV in the bedroom area. Something which disappointed at first but in retrospect was the right decision as it led to a more relaxing sleep, however this may not suit some.

One other thing to note is that the bedroom upstairs floor is significantly warmer (very warm indeed in August) meaning those who want it cooler need to open the windows. Being on a busy road this means road noise so be aware.

We dined in the restaurant in the evening (found out the following day during checkout that the head chef was in charge of proceedings during our visit) and have to say the food is again excellent but with a price tag to match.

For starter I had the best cream of tomato soup I've ever tasted, with a main of a perfectly cooked steak of almost giant proportions, and a sweet of a sticky toffee pudding with an excellent ice cream. All of it was faultless.

Waking up to breakfast I was keen to try and find something wrong with this hotel and restaurant as up to now the experience was a 99% score.

Breakfast itself was great, with continental options, fresh fruit juices and a great hot english breakfast with superb sausage. The bacon comes with the fat left on for those who prefer.

I finally found something I didn't like at Ainscow and that is the coffee at breakfast. I'm not sure what it was exactly that I was drinking but it tasted extremely bitter and cheap which wasn't consistent with the rest of the stay.

I really hope that Ainscow change the coffee used at breakfast and quickly as I can see it being an irritation amongst future guests and for the sake of swapping it out for something of better quality it's a no brainer.

So there you have it. A pretty faultless stay in a really excellent, quality hotel with terrific staff and great facilities. The whole place shouts quality, and the staff seem really happy to be working in this relatively new hotel.

If you are undecided I'd say absolutely go for it and stay here. Hopefully you will find it as excellent as we did.

We would stay here again (in fact we're already looking forward to thinking of another reason to visit Manchester and incorporate Ainscow in our trip)

Let's just hope they have changed out the awful breakfast coffee for something much much better.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are definitely worth the small added extra. The facilities and rooms are superb. Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Ainscow Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
I would like to pass on my sincere thanks for your fantastic review in relation to your recent experience here at The Ainscow Hotel. We are very proud of our hotel here, and this is portrayed in the attitude of the staff that work here, I was however disappointed to discover that not everything was to you liking and for this I would like to apologise, rest assured we have taken steps to ensure similar incidents do not reoccur in the future.

Once again many thanks and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards
Paul Wadsworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

Having stayed over Gay Pride Weekend we expected a riotous affair. Very much not, fully staffed with a lovely atmosphere although hotel only just opened they were well settled. Staying two nights we parked up and ambled into the posher area of Manchester which is a short 10 min walk away. Lots of regeneration going on and we could see that the Ainscow would shine above the branded cheaper chains being thrown up. Already booked for next year - hope to visit again by then!! A promise of the gym, treatment rooms and extra car parking will excel - well done :)

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Caramelsquares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Ainscow Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
I would just like to say how delighted I am that you had an enjoyable weekend here at hotel over the bank holiday. The hotel is very much like a hidden secret as we have only been open a few weeks now and it is taking time for people to realize the standard of product we have here at The Ainscow.

Once again I would like to pass on my sincere thanks for taking the time to post your feedback on the site, as it is always nice to read that our guests are being well looked after by the team and we look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Kind Regards,
Paul Wadsworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

I stayed here last week, after visiting the Coronation Street Tour. The hotel was a 5 minute walk away. The hotel is a new property, and even though there are still a few small things to finish, the hotel is done to a very high standard. The rooms are big, and spacious. The bed was VERY comfortable. I had breakfast the following morning, and the food was enjoyable.
I would definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Ainscow Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
I would like to personally take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback following your recent stay here at The Ainscow. I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Paul Wadsworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
130 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We found the hotel by accident on LateRooms.com, there was no review on trip adviser yet as it's a new hotel. We paid £149 for one night - not a lot available as it was Manchester pride.
Beautiful hotel though not quite finished, staff great and very professional. Our room was huge, however the hairdryer in the room didn't work, and of the 3 windows in our room - NONE of them closed (as they had been badly fitted) which was a bit of a problem in the early hours. Also the door to the room only closed if you physically shouldered it. Breakfast was disappointing - dining room on 3rd floor beautiful with nice rooms, however food was tepid, eggs cooked to order but tiny portion - sausage and bacon very fatty, OJ not fresh and coffee bitter - tasting like poor instant. I think you just expect a better standard for the price. One annoying point was that they charge you £10 extra to park in the hotel car park; bit of a cheek when it's not secure parking - they had no gates on and no security cameras as it clearly isn't finished.
All in all, it wasn't "bad" it was just a bit disappointing - we were expecting better. Would I stay again - probably not unless reviews suggested everything had improved dramatically. As they say, it's the little things that count and there were too many 'faults'. Take care finding your way in - there's loads of building work going on in the area and bollard central.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gregnsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Ainscow Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
I am delighted that you were pleased with the hotel overall and have discussed your comments with regards to your experience with the team. Whilst your experience is not reflective of the high standards in which we aim to pride ourselves on at the hotel, we take all our guest comments very seriously in order to ensure an improvement and high standard in the future.

Once again thank you again for your valued comments.

Kind Regards
Paul Wadsworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Firstly, I have to say that this Hotel is brand new and still a work in progress. We entered the unfinished entrance of the hotel underneath the arm of a huge motorised lift which was carrying workmen and materials up to the roof, and every lift journey was accompanied by someone with a dustbin full of building materials going to one of the unfinished floors. Had this been our overriding experience at the Ainscow we would be giving it one star - but it wasn't. The Staff at the Ainscow are just excellent, from the manager and front desk to the restaurant manager at breakfast, every one of them was unfailingly polite, helpful and professional. We had a deluxe room, which was large, clean and well equipped - although plug points for the hairdryer near a mirror would be useful! The bed was enormous and very comfortable, and the bathroom new and also well equipped. If we return to stay in Manchester we will do our best to stay there again, as I believe that once finished, this place will be excellent.

Room Tip: Go for a deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Ainscow Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Thank you for your most kind comments about The Ainscow and our team, all of which I have passed on and commended the staff. It is always wonderful to receive such feedback as positive comments always travel slower than negative ones.

We will continue to try and improve our service standards where we can and I do hope that you will visit us again in the not to distant future.

Kind Regards,
Paul Wadsworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salford
0.3 mi away
The Lowry Hotel
The Lowry Hotel
#3 of 20 in Salford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,422 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Salford Central Hotel
0.8 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 117 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,806 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ainscow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ainscow Hotel

Property: The Ainscow Hotel
Address: Trinity Way, Salford M3 5HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ainscow Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ainscow Hotel & Spa is ideally located just a stone's throw from the heart of the city and just minutes from Manchester's most exclusive shopping areas, restaurants and theatres.This landmark building which has stood empty for two decades is set to open its doors, offering an inspired hotel experience to guests that will help them feel truly connected to the heart and soul of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ainscow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ainscow Hotel Salford, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing