We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place with fantastic view”

Pier Eight Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #7 of 383 Restaurants in Salford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$28
Description: The Lowry’s stunning new restaurant and bar experience. Dine in the stylish and contemporary Pier Eight restaurant overlooking the dramatic skyline of Salford Quays and Media City. For a more casual occasion we also offer a full bar menu in the adjacent Pier Eight Bar. Our ethos throughout both our restaurant and bar is contemporary British flavours using fresh, seasonal ingredients.
Restaurant details
Description: The Lowry’s stunning new restaurant and bar experience. Dine in the stylish and contemporary Pier Eight restaurant overlooking the dramatic skyline of Salford Quays and Media City. For a more casual occasion we also offer a full bar menu in the adjacent Pier Eight Bar. Our ethos throughout both our restaurant and bar is contemporary British flavours using fresh, seasonal ingredients.
Reviewed 1 February 2016

My daughter and I visited here. We sat overlooking the river and had a couple of drinks. Very impressive decor and friendly staff. Well worth a visit.

2  Thank helenhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLowrySalford, Manager at Pier Eight Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2016

Thank you for your review of Pier Eight.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

250 - 254 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2016

Decided to eat here, without going to a show, so we could have a relaxing meal, so I can't comment on how they cope when everyone needs to finish at once. However everyone seemed to make it to the show when we arrived. Having eaten in the bar area per-refurbishment which was superb, initially I was disappointed that more straightforward meals such as burgers are no longer on the menu. It's now a more refined, all be it limited menu. Although that said a simpler menu is very often the sign of higher quality of what they do offer. And that was the case. Everything we had was exquisitely cooked and presented and wonderful flavours. A word of warning to those with big appetites, the emphasis is on taste & presentation rather than quantity, although you can add vegetables as an additional side order. Service couldn't be faulted, but again because we were eating during a show, this may not be typical. My only negative was the price; £75 + automatic 10% service charge for 3 medium priced courses for 2 people with 2 drinks means this is purely for special occasions for this diner.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLowrySalford, Manager at Pier Eight Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Pier Eight, Neil. The bar area of Pier Eight does still offer burgers, salads and sandwiches everyday 12pm – 8pm, so do feel free to join us there for that menu. Our restaurant menu is similar in style and feel to the old Lowry Restaurant, albeit more refined with better quality ingredients. We feel the price matches the quality of the food on offer and is benchmarked against other restaurants in the area as well as those in the City Centre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2016

For several years the Lowry Restaurant was one of my favourites, very convenient for a visit to the theatre. After just one visit to the refurbished venue on January 28th, now re-named Pier 8, sadly that is longer the case. The warm pleasant ambience has been replaced with cold, noise and clatter, with tables crowded in. The food was always reliably good, several of the recent offerings were seriously lacking in taste.
Very few tables now appear to be wheelchair accessible. Even if you can get to your table you may not be able to use it We were shown to a table at the entrance. The position of the legs on the new tables meant that it was impossible to push my chair under the table such that I could reach the table without having to lean forward at an impossibly painful angle. Had I been taller I may have been able to reach but I am 5' 4". The very friendly staff member we mentioned this to had been unaware of this problem and said that she would report it. Fortunately I was able to transfer to their chair. This is a serious oversight at a venue that prides itself on it's disabled facilities. It was not possible to store my (folding) chair anywhere near our table. Was this because of the promotional video being filmed that evening ? Our waitress gave the impression that we should have been made aware that this was happening.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PennyD2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLowrySalford, Manager at Pier Eight Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2016

Penny, thank you for taking the time to review Pier Eight Restaurant, and your recent experience of it. We’re disappointed that you didn’t enjoy your visit – the overwhelming amount of feedback we’ve had has been positive from old and new customers alike. We’re sorry you weren’t able to use your wheelchair with our tables, this is an issue we assure you we are looking into. We stored your folding wheelchair away from your table due to your table being in a the line of a busy thoroughfare. Your chair was brought back to you at the end of the meal as soon as you indicated you were leaving. Everybody that was seated that night was informed of the filming taking place by the member of staff seating tables, as you were some of the first guests in, I can only apologise if this message wasn’t communicated effectively.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2016

Had a pre theatre meal as a treat. Felt special with great ambience and due to the staff's excellent attendance we were not disappointed. The food was very well presented , lot's of flavour and well prepared. The menu was varied At £22 for two courses one wonders how they manage it !. One of the main things that impressed us was the staff, who were polite, attentive , food was served quickly ( and hot), friendly without being intrusive. Yes we would definitely go again and we would highly recommend Pier 8 .

    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank treecat54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLowrySalford, Manager at Pier Eight Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2016

What an excellent review. We’re so thrilled that you enjoyed your visit and we’ll make sure we pass your feedback to both our kitchen and front of house teams. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2016

Myself and a group of friends visited Pier 8 as part of my birthday celebration as we were going to see Girls at the Lowry theatre and it was right next door to it.

We arrived just after 12 to give ourselves plenty of time to relax and enjoy our food. It was a good job we allowed extra time as it was a comedy of errors right from the start,

As we sat we were served a cup of tea by the waiter from a glass pot (not your typical china pot). We were then presented with a variety of sandwiches, all of which had some kind of sauce on them including mustard, horseradish and others. This was no good if you just wanted a plain sandwich. We then tried to get a cup of hot tea to wash our sandwiches down. This took about 15 minutes and 6 attempts at asking staff. We eventually got our little glass pots of tea but the waiter did tell us that this was not how it was normally done.

After about another 15 minutes we got our scones which were really nice and came warm. Again, there was no drink to have with these. After another length of time we had to ask if we were going to get any cakes. Eventually these arrived but again no tea.

At this time we were worried about missing the show as it started at 2pm. We called the Manager over who explained that they had just started doing afternoon teas and that they were still learning things from them. I explained what a normal afternoon tea should consist of and he explained that he had done some research and that this is how they were done in Manchester (we were from Sheffield). After a lengthy conversation I could see he was getting a bit impatient with us so we left it at that. he did offer to provide us with drinks in the interval as we had been frustrated by it all. He said he would send someone over to take our drink orders. However, after another 10 minutes I had to call a waiter over to take the order. During the interval I could see another customer complaining and I recognized her from the next table who had also had an afternoon team.

Overall, this was a very disappointing experience as we were all really looking forward to our girls afternoon out. I think they should have done a bit more research into cream teas before they actually started serving them along with the normal restaurant food. at £18.50 it was not a cheap tea.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LindaSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLowrySalford, Manager at Pier Eight Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2016

Many thanks for your review of The Girls Afternoon Tea at Pier Eight. We are disappointed that you didn’t enjoy the experience and have taken all of your feedback on board – for instance, we have started to offer customers the choice of whether to enjoy the tea all together or to have it stage by stage, we get approximately half and half as a response. During the interval, the customer from the other table wasn’t placing a complaint, but was complimenting the amount of food served – she did comment on the Afternoon Tea being served all together, which is again feedback we’ve taken on board. You group have received a letter from our customer care team outlining this in more detail and offering you a return visit on us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pier Eight Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Salford, Greater Manchester
Salford, Greater Manchester
 
Salford, Greater Manchester
Salford, Greater Manchester
 
Salford, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Pier Eight Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing